topbanner_forum

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Monday March 18, 2024, 9:09 pm
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: IDEA: Hide current window / restore any hidden window  (Read 6686 times)

Fedorov

• Participant
  • Joined in 2006
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
IDEA: Hide current window / restore any hidden window
« on: December 21, 2006, 09:05 AM »
Hi all (first post) longtime lurker - too long! ;)

http://tinyurl.com/y9nh4e

Believe it or not WatchCat 2.0 even works under Windows Vista - I have been using this great tool for so many years now, just very unfortunate that the author stopped working on it, his site disappeared but there are still a few freeware sites like the one above still listing his great program.

I have a copy of it should anyone wish me to email to them for cloning these simple features :)

In a nutshell I use the Hide/Show windows functionality of this program like a "Boss key" - I have the key to the left of my "1" key set to HIDE my current window, so in the event of me using my web browser for my online banking I can quickly press this key to HIDE my Firefox window.

I've then got Alt + this same key (to the left of the "1" key, above TAB) will show a popup window down in my tray which lists all my visible windows and also my HIDDEN windows, I can then press the UP arrow key to quickly select my HIDDEN window from a list, press enter and it restores to my screen! :)

WatchCat does a billion other cool things with windows - maybe leave those for future enhancements!