Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 07, 2016, 10:28:57 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Access Violation  (Read 4535 times)

dluby

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 220
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Access Violation
« on: June 01, 2006, 09:52:57 AM »
Hi, when invoking a shortcut (Ctrl Printscreen) to do a screen print, I regularly get
Access Violation errors and I end up having to close ScreenCaptor (2.15.01) and all is well for while.  I am running this in Windows XP Professional SP2.

Has anyone any ideas?

Thanks

Damian

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,408
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Access Violation
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2006, 10:40:27 AM »
any more clues about when it happens?
what do you have ctrl+prtscr set to capture in your options configuration?
do you mean that you have screenshot captor set to print the image to the printer, or were you just using the printscreen term to mean capturing an image..

dluby

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 220
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Access Violation
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2006, 02:45:08 AM »
The next time it happens, I'll take note of the what I beforehand, what happened afterwards, my configuration...

russell.williams

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Access Violation
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2006, 10:07:49 AM »
I get the Access Violation regularly on my laptop.
HP dv8000 with XP SP2.
I use dual monitors on the system.
When I leave SC running overnight then the next morning it will get the problem on the first capture attempt (always capturing a selected region not the whole screen, printscreen key defined for this).
If I restart the SC it works.
Using the second to latest beta, but it has always done this.



mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,408
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Access Violation
« Reply #4 on: September 21, 2006, 10:10:07 AM »
hmm how strange.. ok at least that's a clue..

dluby

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 220
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Access Violation
« Reply #5 on: September 21, 2006, 10:12:57 AM »
Most nights I put my PC into hibernate and I know it screws up some programs (those that seem to reply on a network connection).  I'm use version 2.21.01 and it doesn't seem to happen as frequent as before.

russell.williams

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Access Violation
« Reply #6 on: September 22, 2006, 02:15:12 PM »
No hibernation here. The laptop just stays on all the time and is logged into a domain.

I do notice that if I am on a certain monitor and hit PrintScreen, then the SC crosshairs will only show on that one monitor. If I cross over to the other monitor it is the normal pointer.
The monitors are setup using the Windows Extend My Desktop option, one is the LCD panel and the other is a CRT.