Website Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • August 30, 2015, 09:37:24 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it  (Read 368091 times)

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #700 on: December 09, 2014, 09:25:27 AM »
PS: thanks for the syntax coloring file! (even though I'm more of a Vim fan myself ;) )

KLR71

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2015
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #701 on: January 09, 2015, 03:59:26 PM »
I like this app a lot but for some reason my x64 Win7 won't let me use the F12 key to set a window to be ignored.  I haven't remapped that key or anything.  I was using F11 in another program with it set to be used globally (seek ahead 10 secs on my media player), tried disabling that but Gridmove still won't let me use the F12 - I press it and nothing happens.  Hitting F11 does sucessfully cancel the operation.  Any thoughts?  This is about the only bug of any matter for me, too.  I've tried Window Manager too, man is that thing overkill. 

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #702 on: January 13, 2015, 04:34:07 AM »
Hi KLR71,

I'm not sure why that would happen... Can someone with win7 x64 chime in to tell us if they can reproduce this issue?

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,501
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #703 on: January 13, 2015, 05:03:49 AM »
Hi KLR71,

I'm not sure why that would happen... Can someone with win7 x64 chime in to tell us if they can reproduce this issue?

only to say I cannot reproduce the issue here in Win 7 x64 -
i.e. F12 works as it should, adding window to exceptions:

---------------------------
GridMove.exe
---------------------------
added MozillaWindowClass to exceptions
---------------------------
OK  
---------------------------
Tom

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #704 on: January 13, 2015, 05:06:38 AM »
KLR71, apparently according to this, there's a "Windows Hotkey Explorer" which may help you find if there's another program using F12.

@tomos: thanks a lot for your help!

AxCrusik

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #705 on: July 29, 2015, 12:45:25 PM »
Hey jgpaiva, I've been using Gridmove for years and love it. I just upgraded to Windows 10 and unfortunately, when I use Gridmove, it snaps the windows into different quadrants/sections of the screen as before but now it leaves a large gap between them (like a couple mm).
I was wondering if there was a way to fix this in the settings (so the windows touch each other instead of leaving the gap) or if you would consider creating a Windows 10 optimized version of Gridmove in the future?
Thanks!

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #706 on: August 04, 2015, 12:48:21 AM »
Hi AxCrusik,

I still haven't upgraded my home computer to windows 10, so I'm sorry I cannot reproduce that problem. Still, wouldn't it be a solution to build grids that slightly overlap as a workaround for that problem?

mbroskamp

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2015
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #707 on: August 09, 2015, 04:56:14 PM »
Hi jgpaiva, I just wanted to confirm that I was able to reproduce the issue AxCrusik mention in his post.

Below is a screenshot to illustrate, note the black border between windows:
http://imgur.com/KwxEuvh

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,532
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #708 on: August 10, 2015, 02:31:56 AM »
Windows 10 seems to have a transparant border around all windows, recognizable when hovering the mouse across a border: the size-cursor shows when the mouse is already outside the window! I assume/suspect that this translates into a black border when inside a grid.
Have you tried to add the negative offset/overlap in grid coordinates, as suggested earlier?