Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 05, 2015, 05:20:51 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it  (Read 368556 times)

Richard S

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #300 on: February 12, 2007, 10:19:15 AM »
Another question, if you all don't mind.  I tried using RunDemo.grid.  Is there any way to get out of that template what the pixel co-ordinates of the saved former window position were?

I ask because I very regularly use KeyText's mouse-manipulation functionality to copy, in automated, highly-repetetive fashion, various data out of a standardized Adobe Acrobat page (ie the various bits of data are in standardized positions on the page).  For this automated copying (and pasting in another program, which then manipulates the data) of the various data in the Adobe page to work, the Adobe window has to be of the exact same size and in the exact same position on my screen each time I do this.

If I could use RunDemo.grid to move my precisely-positioned Adobe window to any other location and could then somehow extract out of RunDemo.grid what the pixel coordinates of the Adobe window were before it was moved, I could create a custom GridMove template that incorporates those pixel co-ordinates so that I could thereafter always reliably snap my Adobe window to the necessary position.

So, can I somehow get RunDemo.grid to declare the co-ordinates of the pre-move window position?

An odd request, but many thanks if anyone has ideas.

nudone

  • Cody's Creator
  • Columnist
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 4,117
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #301 on: February 12, 2007, 12:43:27 PM »
sorry, i can't answer that one. that's definitely one for jgpaiva.

spyda

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #302 on: February 13, 2007, 06:33:43 AM »
Still using this great app and still loving it!

jgpaiva - as you have confesssed to being on vacation now, may I refer you to an earlier post I made HERE ?

I have tried to have a play but was unsuccessful. Any chance you could help me out with creating this grid?

It does of course mean the 'cancellation window' is lost but I am happy to press Esc. to cancel.

Many thanks, keep it up!

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #303 on: February 14, 2007, 02:21:39 PM »
Richard S: sorry for the late response, but i wasn't at home and didn't have web connection.
You can have access to the value saved by that run grid by opening the "windowpositions.exe.ini" under the \plugins directory. That ini file has all the information stored through that plugin. Here's an example:
Code: [Select]
[Vim]
WindowLeft=0
WindowTop=0
WindowWidth=640
WindowHeight=464
[mIRC]
WindowLeft=853
WindowTop=464
WindowWidth=426
WindowHeight=309
This has the values for VIM and mIRC windows.

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #304 on: February 14, 2007, 02:35:12 PM »
spyda: i think i can do that. Just tell me: you mean having a grid just like AxCrusik's grid, but with the middle square working just like the vertical-2-part?

Richard S

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #305 on: February 14, 2007, 03:13:51 PM »
Sorry for butting in here.

I use a very wide monitor, and use a custom grid: three top-to-bottom windows side-by-side.  Suppose I have windows in the left (grid-number 1) and middle (grid-number 2) positions, but none in the right (grid-number 3) position (so on the right-hand side of the monitor I'm just looking at the Windows desktop).

If I try to snap the window in position 1 all the way across the screen to position 3 by holding down my left mouse button on the left side of the title bar of the window in position 1 and dragging the window all the way across to position 3, the mouse seems to throw the window that was in position 1 back into position 1, and instead pick up the window in position 2 that I'm merely crossing over and drop that latter window into position 3, leaving position 2 now window-less (ie it's now in the middle of the monitor, position 2, that I'm looking at the Windows desktop).

In other words, I'm having a lot of trouble successfully dragging a window across another window to a third grid position.

If anybody understood that--any suggestions?

Thanks.

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #306 on: February 14, 2007, 05:55:39 PM »
Richard S: It appears like you've found a bug! Congratulations! :D
I'll contact you in pm ;)

spyda

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #307 on: February 15, 2007, 03:05:36 AM »
spyda: i think i can do that. Just tell me: you mean having a grid just like AxCrusik's grid, but with the middle square working just like the vertical-2-part?

Not quite, as regions 8 and 6 of the axcrusik grid will achieve the same effect as the 2 part vertical grid.

I am looking for the middle square to be divided up so that dragging to one side puts the main area across three quarters of the screen, in much the same way as the 3 part grid does. Then the same dragging to the others side of the square, but in reverse. So I guess what I am after is a combination of the axcrusik and the 3 part grids.

Does that make any more sense? is it possible to achieve?

Thanks again.

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #308 on: February 15, 2007, 03:21:18 AM »
How about regions 1,2,3,4,5 and 7? Do you want them to move to the same place they do in axcrusik's grid?

spyda

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #309 on: February 15, 2007, 03:59:48 AM »
I think so yes, although it would be nice to have the option to have the horizontal 2-part aspect of it covering three quarters of the screen top and bottom also.

Maybe I am asking too much though ...

Basically, I use only one screen at the moment and these features of the grid would allow me to use it more efficiently.

Have you got any further with the grid designer by the way? Would be great to have a GUI type interface for designing grids!

spyda

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #310 on: February 15, 2007, 04:10:34 AM »
Just to add, squares 8 and 6 should keep the same functionality (2 part vertical) as I use this a lot.

And if you fancy the challenge of making it the grid of all grids, I would like to see some way of snapping windows to the corners but in the area occupied by squares 1,2,4 and 3. Ie. NOT a full quarter of the screen, but to the actual size of the squares as shown on screen. The ability to snap to the existing areas should all be retained as part of the grid though.

This is getting complicated, and I have the grid in mind. Does it make any sense to you?

Feel free to give up!


Richard S

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #311 on: February 15, 2007, 11:52:38 AM »
jgpaiva: (Re the discovered bug--dragging window across another window to a third position) you've got a great program here.  Extremely useful.  I find multiple monitors to be a pain, especially if they're not the same size.  I much prefer having everything on colossal monitor--which makes your utility a godsend.

Another oddity: after I've snapped a window to a grid position, I have difficulty (perhaps impossibility) snapping another window onto the top of the previously snapped window, i.e., onto the same grid position.  In other words, a snapped window doesn't seem to like having another window snapped onto the top of it.  I seem first to have to change the shape of the first-snapped window so that it is no longer contiguous with the underlying grid position, then I can snap onto the same grid position.

I'm running Vista.

Regards.

nudone

  • Cody's Creator
  • Columnist
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 4,117
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #312 on: February 15, 2007, 02:54:30 PM »
this isn't really of much help but i can snap windows on top of each other - i'm not running vista but i wouldn't have thought that to be the problem.

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #313 on: February 15, 2007, 03:30:00 PM »
this isn't really of much help but i can snap windows on top of each other - i'm not running vista but i wouldn't have thought that to be the problem.
Yeah, I'm also not sure why that'd happen, Richard S.
BTW, was that bug solved through the pm i sent you?

Richard S

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #314 on: February 15, 2007, 07:21:17 PM »
jgpaiva: No, the pm you sent me doesn't change either of the two quirks I've described above.

With a little more use under my belt now, maybe I can more precisely describe the quirk in response to which you sent me the pm:

If, when trying to left-button-drag (ie invoking GridMove) a window to an open spot on my monitor (ie where I can theretofore see Windows desktop) in order to snap it to a distant grid position, my dragging mouse crosses a pre-existing window in between, the window I am dragging jumps back to the location from which I moved it, and my GridMoving mouse instead picks up the window I cross and moves that latter window to the empty space on the monitor I'm dragging to.

I seem to encounter this problem whether or not either the window I'm trying to drag or the window I drag my mouse pointer across on the way to my destination, or both, is a previously-snapped-to window or instead a new window that has not yet been snapped to any grid position.

If I can carefully drag the window I'm trying to move so that my mouse pointer itself doesn't cross any other window, I can successfully move the window I'm trying to move to the destination to which I'm trying to move it.  So I either need an open path (ie no windows) to move along, or I need to first either drag intermediate windows out of the way or temporarily Minimize them--ie get them off my screen.

Great product.  Very usable in its current state.


jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #315 on: February 20, 2007, 10:47:25 AM »
Sorry for taking so much time, but here's your grid, spyda!
Just put it on \Grids folder, re-run gridmove and select that grid from the templates list.

[edit] Grid modified, added support for multiple monitor [/edit]
« Last Edit: February 20, 2007, 10:53:48 AM by jgpaiva »

afm

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #316 on: March 08, 2007, 01:07:23 AM »
I love the way GridMove works. I use my laptop with a 22" monitor. Desktop extended onto the large monitor. Laptop as primary.

I haven't figured out how to get GridMove to work on my second monitor. Is there something I am missing?


jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #317 on: March 08, 2007, 03:58:59 AM »
I haven't figured out how to get GridMove to work on my second monitor. Is there something I am missing?
I have the exact same setup and have no problem. I thing what is happening is that you're launching GridMove before having both monitors active. Just relaunch it after both the monitors are on and there should be no problem.

afm

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #318 on: March 09, 2007, 10:02:59 AM »
Thanks ... thought I had done that. but guess I didn't  ... works great now !!! :D

supersocialist

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #319 on: March 17, 2007, 04:37:49 PM »
This program is brilliant! Any chance we can get different templates on different monitors? My secondary is widescreen and my primary is 4:3! I switch manually when positioning windows at the moment, it's a bit kludgy...

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #320 on: March 17, 2007, 08:41:04 PM »
This program is brilliant! Any chance we can get different templates on different monitors? My secondary is widescreen and my primary is 4:3! I switch manually when positioning windows at the moment, it's a bit kludgy...
Well... Templates can be custom-made, so, yes.
I know the help file isn't much of a "help" and is quite confusing, but it (tries to) explains how to do it.
Or you could just post here which 2 grid you'd like to join and (if it wouldn't take much time), i could do the one you want.

tamer1

  • Guest
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #321 on: March 24, 2007, 07:08:09 PM »
Hi,

This app is great!
I work on a lot of different machines and that's why I use http://www.PortableApps.com. All my favorite programs are on my USB stick.

The problem is that GridMove.exe dumps the 'Grids', 'Images', 'Plugin' and some other files in the root of my removable device drive ansd not in the directory where the exe resides.

Is it somehow possible to change the program so that it tries to read the ini file from the application dir?

Keep up the good work,
Cheers!

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #322 on: March 24, 2007, 09:36:25 PM »
tamer1: actually, all those files are supposed to be created at the directory where the .exe is...
The only explanation would be that it behaves differently on a usb stick, but i find that a bit odd.

[edit] just tested it with my usb stick, and i don't get the behaviour you mentioned.. [/edit]
« Last Edit: March 24, 2007, 09:38:07 PM by jgpaiva »

tamer1

  • Guest
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #323 on: March 25, 2007, 05:31:46 AM »
Okay, it looks like the problem is the PortableAppsMenu program that launches GridMove.exe

When i launch GridMove.exe by double clicking it in my Explorer window it acts normally, but when I launch it using the PortableApps Menu, the working directory (or the last used directory) of GridMove.exe is being set to the last used directory of the PortableApps menu executable.

May more luck on their forum.
Thanks for the quick reply!

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #324 on: March 25, 2007, 10:00:18 AM »
Oh, i see the problem...
GridMove creates the files on the working directory.
Actually, this might not make much sense...
I'm not sure how to change it, though