Website Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • August 30, 2015, 09:37:35 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it  (Read 368092 times)

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #600 on: January 12, 2010, 06:32:19 PM »
Ok, I have just uploaded a new version which fixes the issues on the previous posts, everything should be ok now.

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #601 on: January 12, 2010, 07:34:10 PM »
Hmm, I just tried GridMove under windows 7, and found that unfortunatelly it must be ran with compatibility with windows XP, in order to be able to move some windows (one example being Windows Live Messenger) :(

SweVictor

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #602 on: January 13, 2010, 02:05:06 PM »
I just want to say that I second that it does not move Windows Live Messenger for example (Win 7). Compatibility mode did not solve the problem for me though (tried XP SP3 and 2000).

/Victor

TheSunbird

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #603 on: January 13, 2010, 04:32:52 PM »
TheSunbird: are you running on a guest account?
No, I run GridMove as an administrator.

Creating the two folders helped me out, cause GridMove now created the ini file. :)
Now, it's possible to run GridMove without the described problems.

[edit]
Just installed the new version!
Problems disappeared!  :Thmbsup:
[/edit]

Greetz and thanks for the fast help!
I keep on watching this thread to help if necessary. :)
« Last Edit: January 13, 2010, 04:39:23 PM by TheSunbird »

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #604 on: January 14, 2010, 04:42:25 AM »
Victor: You need to run gridmove as administrator in win7 for it to work with those windows :(

SweVictor

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #605 on: January 14, 2010, 06:28:30 AM »
Hmm... Does not work for me as admin either... Nor with compatibility mode nor any combination i have found  :huh:

/Victor

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #606 on: January 14, 2010, 09:57:48 AM »
That's really strange, Victor. Unfortunately from my testing, it works under my friend's win7, thus there's not much more I can do... Can you provide more details?

SweVictor

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #607 on: January 14, 2010, 10:51:40 AM »
I sure understand that... I have the same behaviour on both my Win 7 computers (one 32bit and one 64bit). I am though going to install a new computer later this week so i can check everything again with the newest version of all programs. I'll get back on this.

And deatails, well... Nothing really happens (apart from normal drag action) when grabbing close to the top left corner and the edge method does not work either. Other windows (like firefox) work well though... Apart from msn things like the calculator and the "run" dialog does not work. Control panel and most other windows work though AND Msn Live Messenger in fullscreen mode!!!

/Victor

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #608 on: January 14, 2010, 04:54:56 PM »
What you are describing is similar to what I have observed on my friend's windows 7, however, after I enabled admin mode, it went away. In order not to clutter the thread with this, maybe we should solve it through PM and then post the result here, ok?

rachelm920

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #609 on: March 10, 2010, 01:30:52 PM »
Hi. I downloaded GridMove V1.19.62 today to my Windows XP Pro PC (since I love the snap feature on my Win7 PC). I cannot get it to work!! I see it in the taskbar but I do not see any grids on my desktop and when I drag a window it does nothing!! I've rebooted, tried different grids, turned options off and on.. nothing  :(

I was thinking maybe there's a conflict with a cpl other customization softwares I use...
Stardock WindowBlinds and Stardock Fences (free version)

Any ideas??

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #610 on: March 11, 2010, 02:07:04 AM »
Hi Rachel,

Sorry that's happening. There should be no problem in windows XP, I think. Could you try pressing windows key and 'g' at the same time to see if the grid comes up?

rachelm920

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #611 on: March 11, 2010, 01:13:45 PM »
Hi Rachel,

Sorry that's happening. There should be no problem in windows XP, I think. Could you try pressing windows key and 'g' at the same time to see if the grid comes up?

I do see the grid when I hit the Windows key and G, but when I drag a window into it, it doesn't do anything. Then the grid goes away after about 30 seconds. Isn't it supposed to automatically make it the size of the grid? I'm trying the 2 part vertical template.

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #612 on: March 13, 2010, 11:45:14 AM »
If the grid comes up when you press win+g, then it should be working. When you press win+g, you can move a window by typing the number of the grid you want the window to move to.
As for the grid not appearing then you drag... Could you try dragging the window close to the left icon, or trying dragging it with the middle mouse button?

helloall

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #613 on: March 25, 2010, 09:21:31 PM »
Hello all :)

today i found out about GridMove. Such an awesome tool! Far better than all other similar tools i´ve tested. I´ll definitly give it a try in my all day use starting tomorrow...

I ran into a small "bug" (Using Windows 7):

When you grab the TitleBar a bit lower, the edge detection does not get fired? I noticed that this happens quite often for me. It´s definitly not an random issue, it´s fully reproducible. (see video)
(I even disabled the automatic built-in Windows-Snapping of Windows 7 (Aero Snap) to be sure that it´s not a conflict between both functions. So the video was taken with Aero Snap disabled)

I made a Screencast of the problem (.mov H264):
http://www.file-uplo...dow_too_low.mov.html

Thanks for any reply. If you need the video in some other format to play it, just tell me.

Greetings and many thanks again! :)
« Last Edit: March 25, 2010, 11:58:37 PM by helloall »

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #614 on: March 26, 2010, 06:33:28 AM »
Hi!

I can see what you mean.
GridMove was originally designed for win XP, and apparently windows 7 behaves a bit differently from xp with the title bar height.
When I have some time, I'll look into it.

helloall

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #615 on: March 26, 2010, 10:10:53 AM »
Hi,

thanks for your reply :) Good news...

helloall

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #616 on: April 11, 2010, 02:25:06 PM »
I´m using GridMove for some Weeks now and i´m really happy with it while using 2 LCD displays.

No major problems beside the already mentioned "TitleBar height problem" which happens in about 40% of my usage. (It´s not that annoying, but i would love too see it fixed some time.)

Donated you some Bucks! :)

Greetings

gockel

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #617 on: April 28, 2010, 12:51:27 PM »
Hi jgpaiva,

First of all many thanks for this nifty app, it really helps me to do some cross-reading and when comparing some content on the large screen with exactly equal-sized windows.

Since I quite like the functions and the possibility to create-your-own-template, I was wondering if I could also use it at work, but the license type obviously does not allow that. So is there any way to get an approval to use it in an office environment? The purpose (at least in my case) would be restricted to using it on the desktop PC, not to implement parts or all of the app in a commercial software or the like.

I am not sure this is the proper place to ask this question, but then again I could not find any suitable way of contacting the author. Apologies if I misbehave here with my first post ever.

Cheers
-gockel

helloall

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #618 on: May 12, 2010, 08:19:19 PM »
It´s very quiet in here? :D

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,300
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #619 on: May 12, 2010, 08:24:45 PM »
Quote
It´s very quiet in here?
Well, Hello! It's nice to see you posting, at least.

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #620 on: May 13, 2010, 04:12:09 AM »
Hi.

I'm sorry, but I have absolutely no time to keep GridMove up to date.
I've looked into the problem you mentioned, but apparently it's related to windows 7 protecting GridMove from accessing other windows. If you're interested in looking into it, I can tell you what you can try.

You may install autohotkey (http://www.autohotkey.com/), download the source code for gridmove (http://jgpaiva.donat...ridMove/GridMove.zip) and edit the "GridMoveP1.ahk" file by right-clicking it.

At the beginning of the file, there's this line:
Code: [Select]
  CaptionSize += BorderSizeThis sets that height to '24' (at least in my computer). You can set it to a larger value this way:
Code: [Select]
  CaptionSize := 50
Unfortunately, in my computer this still doesn't fix it, gridmove doesn't grab the mouse. Maybe if you compile the script and run it as administrator it might get fixed, but I'm not really sure and I don't understand enough of windows 7 to be able to fix it.

Sorry

(I have returned your DC credits since I couldn't really fix the problem)

helloall

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #621 on: May 13, 2010, 09:29:37 AM »
Hey man,

thanks for your reply. I hope there is no serious trouble going on in your life.


I looked in the source some weeks ago and i speculated that this line has to do with the problem, but i was afraid of not understanding the autohotkey stuff. : D

Thanks for telling me that it´s very easy to edit it.
I set it to "35" now and compiled it by rightclicking "GridMoveP1.ahk"

Guess what:
It SEEMS the problem is fixed. Will try in allday use and post here. :)

I´m irritated a little bit that the new .exe file is only 216kb since your .exe was 450kb?
Why? Is that something to be worried about?


The donation wasn´t ment to be money for fixing the problem. It was for GridMove itself, since i use it every day.
Redonated it, please keep it!

Hope to see you back on your nice project one day.
Private things come first.


Best wishes and thank you

helloall
« Last Edit: May 13, 2010, 09:33:21 AM by helloall »

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #622 on: May 13, 2010, 09:33:50 AM »
thanks for your reply. I hope there is no serious trouble going on in your life.
No, no problem. I'm just getting my PhD and it's been crazy with work lately.

It SEEMS the problem is fixed. Will try in allday use and post here. :)
If it solved for a few windows, then it probably got solved for all windows, great!

I´m irritated a little bit that the new .exe file is only 216kb since your .exe was 450kb?
Why? Is that something to be worried about?
No worries, that's because I compile it without compressing the executable so it's less provable that it'll get flagged by antiviruses.

The donation wasn´t ment to be money for fixing the problem. It was for GridMove itself, since i used it every day.
Redonated it, please keep it!
Thanks  :D

helloall

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #623 on: May 13, 2010, 09:37:03 AM »
Well, good to hear.

Good luck for you PhD!  :)

helloall

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #624 on: May 14, 2010, 04:43:31 AM »
You can now find "GridMove 7 Lite Portable"  (Windows 7 custom version) here:

http://www.donationc...ndex.php?topic=22739

 :)
« Last Edit: May 14, 2010, 04:49:23 AM by helloall »