Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 08:47:17 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it  (Read 416350 times)

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #550 on: March 09, 2009, 02:58:27 PM »
Tomos and cmpm: I suppose there was some other application using win+#, and gridmove was not able to capture the hotkeys..

Gordhan

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2005
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #551 on: June 07, 2009, 03:58:28 PM »
Hi,

I've been using GridMove for a few days and like it a lot! Thanks for making such a useful program free  :)
I have one observation...I'd like to see a mode whereby I drag a window into a grid space already occupied by another window, and the window below automatically occupies the grid space left by the moved window. In effect, swapping windows with one move. Would that be possible? Sorry if it already is--I can't seem to find it.

Best
Gordhan

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #552 on: June 07, 2009, 04:56:56 PM »
Hi Gordhan!

If I recall correctly, there's a GridMove plugin to do just that. Even though it doesn't work exactly as you are asking, I think it might serve you well.
I thought this was included in the default GridMove package, but apparently it is not.
Unfortunatelly, my laptop's hdd has died recently, and I have only the backups of GridMove's stuff at my parents'. I'll see if I can find that plugin ;)

Gordhan

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2005
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #553 on: June 09, 2009, 11:06:27 AM »
Thanks and I look forward to trying that out jgpaiva!  :Thmbsup:

Korbi

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #554 on: June 18, 2009, 02:29:49 AM »
Hi!
I am new to the forum but not new to gridmove. I ve been using it for more than 1 year now. Thanks for this great app!!!
But now I got a tablet-pc and there seem to be some problems with gridmove. I simple cant get gridmove to work, when i am using the pen as an input device. Since I am running windows 7, there is allready aerosnap implemented, so "dragging to the edge" doesnt work. But when I click a window in the title area to resize it, nothing happens. (using a mouse it works, but the grid "flickers".)

There are basically 3 possible error-sources:
a) I am running windows 7
b) My screen is rotateable, so the resolution changes, while gridmove runs
c) The pen

I hope someone can help me solving the problem. (Actually if AeroSnap would be a little more configurable that would work too)

Greetz

Korbi

EDIT: I just figured out how to disable the snap feature on win7, but it didnt amke much of a change: pen still isnt working (even with the move to edge methode. so i figure gridmove doesnt recognise the pen as a mouse or something like that...)
« Last Edit: June 18, 2009, 02:55:47 AM by Korbi »

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #555 on: June 18, 2009, 04:48:08 AM »
Hi Korbi!

I don't have windows 7 to test this, but I've used it under Vista Tablet and noticed the same problem.
I think the pen isn't identified as a mouse and thus GridMove can't work :(
Unfortunatelly, I have no idea how to sort this problem..

(the resolution problem can be sorted by clicking "reload" or "restart" on gridmove's menu each time you change resolution)

Korbi

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #556 on: June 18, 2009, 04:57:42 AM »
Hi Korbi!

I don't have windows 7 to test this, but I've used it under Vista Tablet and noticed the same problem.
I think the pen isn't identified as a mouse and thus GridMove can't work :(
Unfortunatelly, I have no idea how to sort this problem..

(the resolution problem can be sorted by clicking "reload" or "restart" on gridmove's menu each time you change resolution)
OK, thanks for the quick answer. Thats sad. I really loved this app, but without pen support its not useable on my tablet. Hopefully a solution for this problem will be found...
(or the build in feature in win7 gets configurable)
Greetings
Korbi

Korbi

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #557 on: June 23, 2009, 01:42:12 PM »
Hi Korbi!

I don't have windows 7 to test this, but I've used it under Vista Tablet and noticed the same problem.
I think the pen isn't identified as a mouse and thus GridMove can't work :(
Unfortunatelly, I have no idea how to sort this problem..

(the resolution problem can be sorted by clicking "reload" or "restart" on gridmove's menu each time you change resolution)
OK, thanks for the quick answer. Thats sad. I really loved this app, but without pen support its not useable on my tablet. Hopefully a solution for this problem will be found...
(or the build in feature in win7 gets configurable)
Greetings
Korbi
lts just been few days, but I miss gridmove already very much...

Gordhan

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2005
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #558 on: July 06, 2009, 03:38:13 AM »
Hi jpgpaiva
GridMove is now one of my must-have programs! Just wondering if you could locate that plugin you mentioned?  :)
Best
Gordhan

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #559 on: July 07, 2009, 10:04:31 AM »
Hi Gordhan!

Actually, I'm not the author of the plugin, thus, I don't have its source code.
Still, It works pretty well, I've attached the executable to this post ;)

João

tmuka

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #560 on: July 07, 2009, 10:26:27 AM »
I don't think GridMove supports maximize to a specific monitor yet? This would be very useful to me.

I use GridMove as a "poor mans Nvidia desktop tools" since the Nvidia tools are 100% unstable for me. This means I have to manually resize windows if I want them to span both my monitors. With GridMove I can easily make a grid item that sizes a window so that it fills both monitors, very nice.

I can make two items in the grid that resizes a window to the respective screensizes but "true" maximize removes a bit of the window edge, which I like.

I didn't see this in the documentation, but anyone know of a way to "Maximize" to a specific monitor yet?  I'm currently using screen edges coordinates, but it'd be nice to have a true maximize.

thanks!

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #561 on: July 07, 2009, 10:53:54 AM »
tmuka:
There's only a way to maximize to the screen where the mouse is.
See the EdgeGrid.grid file for an example of how to use it. You can find it in grid element 26.

tmuka

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #562 on: July 07, 2009, 11:06:31 AM »
tmuka:
There's only a way to maximize to the screen where the mouse is.
See the EdgeGrid.grid file for an example of how to use it. You can find it in grid element 26.

thanks for the info, jgpaiva!

cavie

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #563 on: July 16, 2009, 10:20:01 AM »
Hi,

I used to use Gridmove on a lcd monitor (1280x1024 resolution) and it works fine.  However, after switching to another monitor (1600x900 resolution), it does not work anymore.  The icon does not respond to right click anymore.  Any idea whether gridmove only work on some standard resolution? I dun run gridmove frequently, hence not sure if gridmove also depends on some dll etc, which might be affected by some software installation recently.  Thanks in advance.

Problem solved :) , due to advanced text services in Compatibility
« Last Edit: July 17, 2009, 08:04:37 AM by cavie »

Gordhan

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2005
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #564 on: July 17, 2009, 12:00:11 PM »
Hey João
Sorry for the late reply and, thanks for the plugin. It does work, but the implementation is rather awkward--I would have to navigate to the plugin and activate it each time I want to be able to exchange windows  :(. Would it be possible to build this function into GridMove itself, so that we have an "Exchange Active Window Mode"? That would be great  :). I realise you may not think it worth doing, of course!
Thanks
Gordhan

Gordhan

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2005
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #565 on: July 17, 2009, 12:06:19 PM »
Ah okay--simple workaround--just placed a shortcut to the plugin in the Quick Launch Toolbar. So now, I can exchange windows in 2 clicks  :Thmbsup: This will do till you make that new version of GridMove  :D

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #566 on: July 17, 2009, 04:58:22 PM »
Oh, I didn't understand your problem the first time..
Actually, GridMove already had that 'reload on resolution change' mode, but unfortunately, it kept reloading without changes in the resolution, it became more annoying than useful!

Good solution, Gordhan ;)

Sorry, got confused!
« Last Edit: July 18, 2009, 11:34:23 AM by jgpaiva »

Gordhan

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2005
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #567 on: July 18, 2009, 11:23:06 AM »
Hi Joao,
I don't know what 'reload on resolution change' means  :huh:. What I want is actually very simple. Imagine that my desktop is set up for a Gridmove template of 2-part vertical. I have one window occupying left part A and one window occupying the right part, B. Now when I drag, say, the window from part A to the space occupied by part B, by dragging on its title bar and dropping, I would like the window in part B--instead of being covered up by the incoming window-- to automatically switch to and occupy Part A. It's basically just exchanging window positions in one move. Is it possible to create this option? The plugin isn't really a good solution I'm afraid :-(
Gordhan

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #568 on: July 18, 2009, 11:45:43 AM »
Oh Gordhan.. I misread what you said, got confused with cavie's post!

Yes, I understand what you mean, but unfortunately I don't have time to implement it..
The way I meant for you to use the plugin was to call it from a grid element..

Try placing the executable in the plugins folder, then using the grid I attached to this post.
(just place it in the grids/ folder and select it from the menu ;) ).

This grid will allow you to place windows vertically, and using the 2 grid elements on the top, you can swap windows. It still needs one extra click, but I guess it should be a bit better :)

Gordhan

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2005
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #569 on: July 19, 2009, 12:15:10 PM »
João

That's better for sure!! Thanks a ton for your time and trouble!!  :Thmbsup: :)

Gordhan

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #570 on: July 19, 2009, 12:56:20 PM »
João

That's better for sure!! Thanks a ton for your time and trouble!!  :Thmbsup: :)

Gordhan
Glad to know that! ;)

ZippyDan

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #571 on: September 23, 2009, 05:27:32 PM »
hi!  i joined this forum just to ask you to please please please make gridmove compatible with Windows 7!

with gridmove running, i don't actually see anything on the desktop :-(

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #572 on: September 23, 2009, 09:01:22 PM »
Hi ZippyDan.

I haven't tried gridmove under windows 7, but it should work as it does with Vista..
I'll give it a go to see how it behaves with me.

ZippyDan

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #573 on: September 24, 2009, 08:50:23 AM »
muito obrigado

edit: btw i did try to run it in Windows XP compatibility mode and as Administrator with no success

edit2: ok, actually it does work, at least somewhat.  i'm not sure how it is supposed to work.  if i hold a window at the edge of the screen for about 4 seconds, a yellow grid will appear with yellow numbers everywhere.  i can then move the window around the grid, but i can't figure out any relationship between the grid lines, numbers, and the resulting position of the window.  perhaps i should rtfm :-)
« Last Edit: September 29, 2009, 01:06:24 PM by ZippyDan »

andonevris

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #574 on: November 16, 2009, 01:53:24 PM »
Hi

I have just started using gridmove on windows 7, I actually started using it so I could keep the right side of my 2nd monitor free for my gadgets ala vista sidebar style, which it works well for.  On using it more I actually much prefer it to the built in windows 7 aero snap, namely because it has proper multimonitor support and I can arrange windows side by side on a single monitor without using the keyboard.

The only thing missing from this program IMO is the undocking functionality windows 7 has in its own aero snap. Namely if I dock a window to the side with aero snap as soon as I undock it returns to its former size. With gridmove it stays the same size so I have to manually resize.

Is there any chance this functionality could be added? It would make this a really perfect little app if it could be done

Here's Hoping  :)