Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • August 31, 2015, 10:58:37 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it  (Read 368173 times)

ppass

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2005
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 84
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #475 on: May 28, 2008, 01:58:13 PM »
Right, I had forgotten about that thread. I follow-up this topic there.

tgmayfield

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #476 on: July 28, 2008, 01:38:17 PM »
jschwarz you're now my hero!!!

I've fixed the putty thing, i'll be updating gridmove in a bit ;)

I updated (http://tgmayfield.co...Move.git-email.patch) my local GridMove to give the same behavior to pietty.  It's a putty derivative that allows for clickable URLs, and signs up as the handler for ssh:// URLs (the main reason I use it).  It also has transparency, better multilingual support, and fancier window options, for those that are into that kind of thing.

The patch centralizes the logic a bit and would make it easy to add other applications that need resized the same way in the future.

--Thomas

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #477 on: July 28, 2008, 06:08:42 PM »
Hey tgmayfield!
Thanks for the diff, and specially thanks for the pietty link, that looks neat :)

tgmayfield

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #478 on: July 30, 2008, 07:51:07 AM »
A note on pietty: make sure to set your character set. It defaults to being impossible to read (at least on my system, where I don't have the code page).

pietty uses the putty defaults when you open ssh:// URLs, so best bet is to open Putty, hit Window > Translation, change character set to UTF-8, then save over the defaults.

Chessnia

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
    • CHESSNIA
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #479 on: August 04, 2008, 10:16:41 PM »
Hi Jp and the rest.

Congratulations on what seems like a really cool program. :Thmbsup:

Suggestion: Send all open programs (the ones that appear in the task bar) to grid.

The reason why I came accross your program is that lately I'm using lots of programs on my computer simultaneously (as most of us do) and was shocked to learn that windows doesn't have a hotkey to actually present all program windows in mosaic mode (or cascade). Well, apparently, it can be done if you go to your taskbar management, blah blah blah, and half an hour later, you can do it, which is absurd if you ask me!

By the way, does anybody know if such a program exists already? press control + whatever and your windows appear in mossaic or cascade mode... like MIRC used to do (if you've ever used IRC).

It's really quite shocking that "Windows" can do just about anything ... except manage windows in a smart way! :D
« Last Edit: August 04, 2008, 10:18:29 PM by Chessnia »

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,708
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #480 on: August 07, 2008, 11:20:12 AM »
I am not able to get GridMove to work! The first time I run it, the program freezes after I click "OK" on the info box about tooltips. The .ini file is created and so is an empty plugins directory. When I run the script after windows kills it, I get the GridMove tray icon. However it is not clickable and none of the functions of GridMove work. Same thing happens after deleting the newly created files.

I am running the latest version of GridMove on Windows XP. I also have the
I was having the same problem before I check the "Turn off advanced text services for this program"[right click the GridMove.exe and goto Compatibility tab]
Now I am using GridMove and like it a lot.  :-*

Thank you jgpaiva.  :Thmbsup:
HIH! bugmenot  ;D


Arrrrrrrrggggggghhhh!!!!!!  :tellme:
I was having the same problem. Ate an hour of my time.  Fortunately, we have some great resources here. :)

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #481 on: August 13, 2008, 05:03:07 PM »
Yeah, Armando.. I still haven't figured out what causes that, I wish I could solve it :(

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,708
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #482 on: August 23, 2008, 05:56:33 PM »
No worries jgpaiva... It's certainly not your fault!  :)
I was just... quite puzzled -- took me a while to find out what the problem was.  :-[

arber

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #483 on: August 26, 2008, 09:50:05 PM »
Fantastic utility, it's done wonders for workflow with my 30" monitor.

It would be great if there was some way of optionally adding text, a name, or a caption to the displayed grid number.  For example, I have some grids with 1024x768 and 1280x1024 window sizes (ideal for testing how web pages look on older/common resolutions).  It would be great if I could have GridMove display "1024x768 (XGA)", etc. next to the grid numbers, when dragging.

I'm new to AHK, but a quick glance at the source suggests this might be easy enough to implement, and I might even have a go myself, but just wanted to check if this has been done already (I searched and couldn't find anything).

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #484 on: August 27, 2008, 05:34:41 AM »
Hi arber!
The reason this isn't implemented is because it'd make the grid configuration files unnecessarily more complex, as few people would use this feature.
Some time ago, one member of DC did modify gridmove to include this feature, I'll PM you the download link ;)

spyda

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #485 on: September 05, 2008, 04:32:38 AM »
Sorry for taking so much time, but here's your grid, spyda!
Just put it on \Grids folder, re-run gridmove and select that grid from the templates list.

[edit] Grid modified, added support for multiple monitor [/edit]

Hey, I know this is like more than a year late but thanks so much for this grid!

In truth, I got mixed up with other things and forgot all about gridmove. However, now I have a Vista lappy and a wide screen I have re-visited and found this solution that you knocked up for me over a year ago! Really appreciate it and sorry it's taken so long!

Now, a brief question ...

I now have a wide screen and like to keep my main window about 3/4 the width of the screen with a few bits running down the right side. Actually I would like to make it a little more than 3/4 but to keep things simple I will leave it at that.

So, a nice simple one for you (if you are still talking to me) ...

I would love a grid (separate but to run alongside this one) that gives me the ability to instantly snap a window to 3/4 the width of the screen. I have looked at the tutorial and although this is a really simple one I cannot figure it!

Any chance of a few pointers - or making the grid for me if you were feeling especially generous?

Thanks again mate, much appreciated, and again ... apologies for the delay!

Edit: Actually, thinking about it ... in order to make this proposed grid even more useful it would be great to have the ability to split the left section down the middle also, so that I can list windows side by side while still maintaining my quarter of the screen to the right for my gadgets

.... or am I pushing my luck now !? :).

« Last Edit: September 05, 2008, 04:43:26 AM by spyda »

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #486 on: September 05, 2008, 04:46:57 AM »
Hi Spyda!

Well, if you just want to snap to 3/4, that's really simple.
Here's a simple grid to do that:

Code: [Select]
[Groups]
  NumberOfGroups = 2

[1]
  TriggerTop    = [Monitor1Top]
  TriggerRight  = [Monitor1Left] + [Monitor1Width]  * 3/4
  TriggerBottom = [Monitor1Bottom]
  TriggerLeft   = [Monitor1Left]
  GridTop       = [Monitor1Top]
  GridRight     = [Monitor1Left] + [Monitor1Width]  * 3/4
  GridBottom    = [Monitor1Bottom]
  GridLeft      = [Monitor1Left]

[2]

  TriggerTop    = [Monitor1Top]
  TriggerRight  = [Monitor1Right]
  TriggerBottom = [Monitor1Bottom]
  TriggerLeft   = [Monitor1Left] + [Monitor1Width]  * 1/4
  GridTop       = [Monitor1Top]
  GridRight     = [Monitor1Right]
  GridBottom    = [Monitor1Bottom]
  GridLeft      = [Monitor1Left] + [Monitor1Width]  * 1/4

spyda

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #487 on: September 05, 2008, 05:23:11 AM »
Great, thanks for that and for the speedy response!

Now, I have tried to adjust that to make it snap to other proportions (to make the right side narrower) the way I tried was:

[Groups]
  NumberOfGroups = 2

[1]
  TriggerTop    = [Monitor1Top]
  TriggerRight  = [Monitor1Left] + [Monitor1Width]  * 9/10
  TriggerBottom = [Monitor1Bottom]
  TriggerLeft   = [Monitor1Left]
  GridTop       = [Monitor1Top]
  GridRight     = [Monitor1Left] + [Monitor1Width]  * 9/10
  GridBottom    = [Monitor1Bottom]
  GridLeft      = [Monitor1Left]

[2]

  TriggerTop    = [Monitor1Top]
  TriggerRight  = [Monitor1Right]
  TriggerBottom = [Monitor1Bottom]
  TriggerLeft   = [Monitor1Left] + [Monitor1Width]  * 1/10
  GridTop       = [Monitor1Top]
  GridRight     = [Monitor1Right]
  GridBottom    = [Monitor1Bottom]
  GridLeft      = [Monitor1Left] + [Monitor1Width]  * 1/10

Obviously this is not how it's done ... as it made NO difference!

I would love to get a grid working along these lines:

------------------------------
|                                     |  |
|                                     |  |
|                    1                |2|
|                                     |  |
|                                     |  |
|                                     |  |
------------------------------

but I would also like to be able to divide section 1 into 2 (50/50 split), leaving section 2 as it is.

Just to note, I have no need to snap anything into section 2, that's just an area of my desktop I would like to be visible when using other windows. Also, I have no need to reverse the above configuration (so the narrow part is to the left).

My main working area will be section 1 and normally this will be filled with whatever application I am using at the time. However, I would like to be able to split that into 2 (50/50).

Does this make sense? Is it something you could easily knock up?

Again, many thanks!

« Last Edit: September 05, 2008, 05:27:16 AM by spyda »

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #488 on: September 05, 2008, 06:12:30 AM »
Well, you weren't that far. ;)
Here you go:
grid inside
Code: [Select]
[Groups]
  NumberOfGroups = 4

[1]
  TriggerTop    = [Monitor1Top]
  TriggerRight  = [Monitor1Left] + [Monitor1Width]  * 9/10
  TriggerBottom = [Monitor1Bottom] -30
  TriggerLeft   = [Monitor1Left]
  GridTop       = [Monitor1Top]
  GridRight     = [Monitor1Left] + [Monitor1Width]  * 9/10
  GridBottom    = [Monitor1Bottom]
  GridLeft      = [Monitor1Left]

[2]
  TriggerTop    = [Monitor1Top]
  TriggerRight  = [Monitor1Right]
  TriggerBottom = [Monitor1Bottom]
  TriggerLeft   = [Monitor1Left] + [Monitor1Width]  * 9/10
  GridTop       = [Monitor1Top]
  GridRight     = [Monitor1Right]
  GridBottom    = [Monitor1Bottom]
  GridLeft      = [Monitor1Left] + [Monitor1Width]  * 9/10

[3]
  TriggerTop    = [Monitor1Bottom] -30
  TriggerRight  = [Monitor1Left] + [Monitor1Width]  * 9/10 * 1/2
  TriggerBottom = [Monitor1Bottom]
  TriggerLeft   = [Monitor1Left]
  GridTop       = [Monitor1Top]
  GridRight     = [Monitor1Left] + [Monitor1Width]  * 9/10 * 1/2
  GridBottom    = [Monitor1Bottom]
  GridLeft      = [Monitor1Left]

[4]
  TriggerTop    = [Monitor1Bottom] -30
  TriggerRight  = [Monitor1Left] + [Monitor1Width]  * 9/10
  TriggerBottom = [Monitor1Bottom]
  TriggerLeft   = [Monitor1Left] + [Monitor1Width]  * 9/10 * 1/2
  GridTop       = [Monitor1Top]
  GridRight     = [Monitor1Left] + [Monitor1Width]  * 9/10
  GridBottom    = [Monitor1Bottom]
  GridLeft      = [Monitor1Left] + [Monitor1Width]  * 9/10 * 1/2


spyda

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #489 on: September 05, 2008, 06:31:11 AM »
At least I tried eh?

Well, that's BRILLIANT and works just as I need it to!

Thanks jg, excellent work!

Any news on that grid maker you mentioned? Would love to be able to design grids in a gui for this excellent application ... I can't get my head round the text version as you see! lol

laoqiang

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #490 on: September 11, 2008, 02:02:59 AM »

Is that possible to add an "exclude" feature in your next version?

Some windows shouldn't be resized or repositioned; some windows can't be resized. It will be nice if they can be excluded from the resizing/moving.

The exclude criteria could be the title of the window, or the name of the process. I'm fine with inputing them manually.

Thanks.

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #491 on: September 11, 2008, 07:24:58 AM »
There already is an option for that, laoqiang.. It's one of the first options in the tray menu! :)

spyda

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #492 on: September 11, 2008, 07:49:48 AM »
I seem to be having trouble making the program default to the grid I want to use every time the program starts.

Instead of using the last operational grid it defaults to the 'browse' option - meaning that I have to select the appropriate grid each time.

For info I am using Vista. Any help appreciated.

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #493 on: September 11, 2008, 09:08:56 AM »
That's strange spyda..
Try downloading the most recent version, it doesn't even have the "browse" option anymore, it just loads the .grid files from the /grids folder.

spyda

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #494 on: September 11, 2008, 09:13:37 AM »
That's sorted it ... must have been running an old version. I really should have checked!

Thanks for the quick response :)

jrg_kmch

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #495 on: October 31, 2008, 03:07:47 AM »
hello, I really love Grid-Move, many thanks to the author!

But I'm having a problem, Avast keeps telling me there is a Trojan on it, it used to happen only to an older version, and after updating Grid-move, it stopped, but it just started again, and I tried downloading a new version, and avast will not even let me download, it just keeps saying there is a Trojan, what's happening?

Thanks

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #496 on: October 31, 2008, 05:00:08 AM »
jrg: That is a frequent problem, see here and here for more info.
The problem is that antivirus programs constantly flag programs created with AutoHotkey. Unfortunatelly, there isn't much I can do :(

stamps

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #497 on: November 11, 2008, 03:53:41 AM »
hello all!

Pretty useful program, nice work.  I have one problem with it: it doesn't work with steam.  I guess Steam uses some funky custom skinned UI that doesn't agree with GridMove (the usual "middle click on title bar" etc has no effect.)

I generally have the "Friends" window open all of the time so I was planning on using it with GridMove.  Any ideas on a patch or some sort of workaround?

Cheers!

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #498 on: November 11, 2008, 05:01:54 AM »
Unfortunatelly, gridmove doesn't work with steam, even with "safe mode" off. So, at this time there is no solution for that problem, since steam uses a special kind of window that isn't controllable by the language I use to build GridMove.

DrIce926

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #499 on: November 11, 2008, 03:12:06 PM »
I just downloaded GridMove today, and boy is it incredible!  It's working flawlessly for me, and I'm using two 1600x1200 monitors and UltraMon, too.  I was a little worried that it might bug out at first, but no such thing has happened.  Thank you so much for implementing it, jgpaiva!  Honestly, the Steam issue is absolutely negligible.  I have no complaints.  Thanks for sharing such a wonderful piece of work with the community.

I'd love to donate, but I'm currently extremely poor and jobless (but looking), and so unfortunately I'm in no position to do so.  I'll remember you for when I actually have a bit of money, though, and I'll show GridMove off to some of my more "rich" friends.  =)