topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Tuesday March 19, 2024, 2:28 am
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it  (Read 730499 times)

MartinT

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #325 on: April 13, 2007, 02:49 AM »
Hello,
Great program, just what I have been looking for a long time!

But.. (there's always one, isn't there... ;))
I do not understand much of the help file regarding custom templates.

I run 3 monitors under a Matrox TripleHead 2Go, which WindowsXP sees as 1 big monitor with a resolution of 3840x1024
So as far as GridMove is concerned, It's just one monitor.
Now I want to divide it into 3 equal parts, al of which are 1280 pixels wide (3 monitors of 1280x1024 makes a total of 3840x1024, so area 1 coincides with the screenarea of monitor 1, area 2 is monitor 2,  and 3 is, you guessed it!;D ; monitor 3)

Now then, what do I use as "commands" in the grid file, cause it seems there are only commands like left/ right and not "center"

Any help is greatly appreciated! (not to mention a custom grid made for this purpose... :D)

Thanks in advance!
Martin

Add:
by studying the other grids I cam up with a solution! (by multiplying the screenwidth with thirds)
So for the interested here is the syntax:
(just put in a notepad file and save it as: "whatever name you want to give it".grid  (yes change the extension from .txt to .grid   and put it in the folder called Grids where you saved the Gridmove program)


[Groups]

NumberOfGroups = 3

[1]

  TriggerTop   = [Monitor1Top]
  TriggerLeft  = [Monitor1Left]
  TriggerBottom= [Monitor1Bottom]
  TriggerRight = [Monitor1Left] + [Monitor1Width] /3
 
  GridTop   = [Monitor1Top]
  GridLeft  = [Monitor1Left]
  GridBottom= [Monitor1Bottom]
  GridRight = [Monitor1Left] + [Monitor1Width] /3
 
[2]

  TriggerTop   = [Monitor1Top]
  TriggerLeft  = [Monitor1Left] + [Monitor1Width] * 0.33333
  TriggerBottom= [Monitor1Bottom]
  TriggerRight = [Monitor1Left] + [Monitor1Width] * 0.66666
 
  GridTop   = [Monitor1Top]
  GridLeft  = [Monitor1Left] + [Monitor1Width] * 0.33333
  GridBottom= [Monitor1Bottom]
  GridRight = [Monitor1Left] + [Monitor1Width] * 0.66666 +2
 
[3]

  TriggerTop   = [Monitor1Top]
  TriggerLeft  = [Monitor1Left] + [Monitor1Width] * 0.66666
  TriggerBottom= [Monitor1Bottom]
  TriggerRight = [Monitor1Left] + [Monitor1Width]
 
  GridTop   = [Monitor1Top]
  GridLeft  = [Monitor1Left] + [Monitor1Width] * 0.66666
  GridBottom= [Monitor1Bottom]
  GridRight = [Monitor1Left] + [Monitor1Width] +1
 
« Last Edit: April 13, 2007, 03:45 AM by MartinT »

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #326 on: April 13, 2007, 03:38 AM »
Martin: Something like the following grid should work:

grid here
[Groups]
 
  NumberOfGroups = 3
 
[1]

  TriggerTop    = [Monitor1Top]
  TriggerLeft   = [Monitor1Left]
  TriggerBottom = [Monitor1Bottom]
  TriggerRight  = [Monitor1Left]+ 1280
  GridTop       = [Monitor1Top]
  GridLeft      = [Monitor1Left]
  GridBottom    = [Monitor1Bottom]
  GridRight     = [Monitor1Left]+ 1280

[2]
 
  TriggerTop    = [Monitor1Top]
  TriggerLeft   = [Monitor1Left] + 1280
  TriggerBottom = [Monitor1Bottom]
  TriggerRight  = [Monitor1Left]+ 2560
  GridTop       = [Monitor1Top]
  GridLeft      = [Monitor1Left] + 1280
  GridBottom    = [Monitor1Bottom]
  GridRight     = [Monitor1Left]+ 2560
 
[3]
 
  TriggerTop    = [Monitor1Top]
  TriggerLeft   = [Monitor1Left] + 2560
  TriggerBottom = [Monitor1Bottom]
  TriggerRight  = [Monitor1Left]+ 3840
  GridTop       = [Monitor1Top]
  GridLeft      = [Monitor1Left] + 2560
  GridBottom    = [Monitor1Bottom]
  GridRight     = [Monitor1Left]+ 3840



I hope it does the trick! ;)

MartinT

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #327 on: April 13, 2007, 03:51 AM »
Hi JGPAIVA,

Thanks for your efford! Your reply with my edit of my post just crossed eachother, but your solution is just a tad nicer, since the edges are more exact! ( on my file a had to add few units/pixels to align the right grids to the edge of the screen (hence the +2 and +1)

Thanks a million!

regards,
Martin

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #328 on: April 13, 2007, 04:02 AM »
You're welcome  :D

sandos

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #329 on: April 19, 2007, 07:47 AM »
I don't think GridMove supports maximize to a specific monitor yet? This would be very useful to me.

I use GridMove as a "poor mans Nvidia desktop tools" since the Nvidia tools are 100% unstable for me. This means I have to manually resize windows if I want them to span both my monitors. With GridMove I can easily make a grid item that sizes a window so that it fills both monitors, very nice.

I can make two items in the grid that resizes a window to the respective screensizes but "true" maximize removes a bit of the window edge, which I like.

CWuestefeld

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,009
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #330 on: April 19, 2007, 11:59 AM »
The author just linked me here to solve a related problem I've got with my system. I have 2 monitors that are arranged as a single double-wide monitor (because of a deficiency in VMWare). I wanted a way to size windows so they'd still respect the physical monitor boundaries, even though Windows in the VM isn't aware of them.

It turns out that GridMove does a pretty good job of this. I've tweaked the built-in EdgeGrid a bit to work in my case, and I'm uploading it here for all to benefit from.

Changes:
  • Remove extraneous Monitor2 and Monitor3
  • Dragging to left edge only maximizes width to 1/2 of the screen (i.e., one physical monitor)
  • Add a similar right edge
  • Change the center pseudo-maximize region. There are now 2 regions, one in the middle of each physical display; dropping into it fully maximizes to that half of the display (i.e., within the bounds of that physical monitor)
Caveat: For some reason I'm a couple of pixels off on the width (rounding?), but I think it's plenty good enough.

tempdonationcoder

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #331 on: April 26, 2007, 05:38 PM »
First of all I'd like to thank for the great app. Fantastic work indeed.

I was trying to adding a custom icon for GridMove, however I had difficulties in compiling the source.

I also tried to change it using a AutoHotkey app meant for changing icons in compiled .ahk scripts yet I didn't succeed.

How would you go about with doing this?

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #332 on: April 27, 2007, 04:11 AM »
Well... For that, you don't really need to recompile it.
GridMove already supports custom icons. You only have to put your custom icon on the /images folder, with the name 'gridmove.ico'.

Coeluh

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 273
  • Family Guy ^^
    • View Profile
    • Jeroen Coelen
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #333 on: June 29, 2007, 06:57 AM »
Where are the grid  files stored?

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #334 on: June 29, 2007, 08:26 AM »
Where are the grid  files stored?
Once you run GridMove for the first time, everything is unpacked to the directory where GridMove is launched. Thus, they should be in a folder called "Grids", located where GridMove's executable is.

afm

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #335 on: July 11, 2007, 11:31 AM »
I love the program and use it constantly.

Since I began useing Office 2007 with the Microsoft Ribbon, the Ribbon buttons fall within the left 100 pixels of the title so when I click the save button, I pop into a grid.

Is there some way to make the Title Drag a zone rather than starting it at the left margin of the title?

Thanks

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #336 on: July 11, 2007, 11:58 AM »
@afm:
You're right, microsoft made things harder for GridMove users (not that i think they're worried about it :P).

I had already seen this happen, but haven't figured out a solution yet.
What do you mean with having it be a zone?

afm

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #337 on: July 12, 2007, 10:24 AM »
@afm:
You're right, microsoft made things harder for GridMove users (not that i think they're worried about it :P).

I had already seen this happen, but haven't figured out a solution yet.
What do you mean with having it be a zone?

Currently I can set the width of the area (default 100 pixels) starting at the left of the title. If I could set the width to say 200 pixels, but exclude the first 100 pixels that would give me a 100 pixel area to the right of the Microsoft buttons that would work the same as it currently does. (I am not exactly sure what the numbers should be, but that is easy to determine.)

Does that make more sense?

kamansan

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #338 on: July 13, 2007, 03:17 PM »
Wonderful program that worked fine at work. But on my personal laptop, it crashes, am I the only one it's happening to?

Thank you :)

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #339 on: July 13, 2007, 04:16 PM »
Does that make more sense?
It does, and i think i have the way to do it. I'll get back to you later ;)

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #340 on: July 13, 2007, 04:19 PM »
Wonderful program that worked fine at work. But on my personal laptop, it crashes, am I the only one it's happening to?
Damn... I can't understand why that happens.
Please try what's mentioned in in this post and report back ;)

kamansan

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #341 on: July 13, 2007, 04:26 PM »
Thanks, that fixed it! :D

If you need some info for debugging purposes, I'd be glad to help.

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #342 on: July 13, 2007, 07:19 PM »
Thanks, that fixed it! :D
Yeah, seems to work every time. I wonder why it does work, though :/

bluphenix

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #343 on: July 21, 2007, 09:58 AM »
Hi, great program, one of the most uefull pieces of software i've encountered in years!

(ok now that i have your attention, lets go to the problem  ;) )

The problem. Gridmove works correctly only the first time that is isnstalled. After this i get no help file error (the help file is in the directory of gridmove), second (most annoying), most of the templates vanish. All I have left is: 2 part vertical & horizontal, 3 part, 4 part, edge, and dual screen. No others not even the 3part reversed i downloaded here and used the first time i ran the app.

running on Win XP SP2.

Any clues?

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #344 on: July 21, 2007, 11:22 AM »
What version do you have? The latest one, with the installer?

I've tested it here and can't reproduce it :(
Have you launched it the same way both times? (i mean launching it from a shortcut or by the executable)

bluphenix

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #345 on: July 21, 2007, 11:29 AM »
I have the lastest version.

I launch it from the quicklaunch.

I'll try launching it a couple of times off the executable, will report later.

P.S: geez what a quick response  ;D

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #346 on: July 21, 2007, 11:35 AM »
Found the problem about the help file missing, it has to do with the working folder. If you launch it with farr, for example, you get that error. It also happens when you launch through a shortcut in which the working folder isn't gridmove's folder.

Now (trying to) fixing it.

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #347 on: July 21, 2007, 11:57 AM »
Ok.. This was a serious bug. Thanks a lot.

It involved making a lot of changes, thus, i wouldn't be surprised if i introduced new bugs.. Let's see if anyone can find any.

bluphenix

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #348 on: July 21, 2007, 12:05 PM »
HEy no problem, it's a good feeling when you can help improve something u use and like.

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: drag window to edge automatically resizes it
« Reply #349 on: July 21, 2007, 12:14 PM »
And yet another update.
I added the feature you asked for, afm. (sorry for taking so much time!!)

Just download the latest version and run it once. Your ini will be updated, then, edit it (GridMove.ini), and insert a bigger value for "TitleLeft", under "Program Settings". Then, reload GridMove and you're set to go.

I didn't add this as an option as i think it's more of a tweak.