Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 25, 2016, 12:23:31 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Release: sChecklist  (Read 39466 times)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,247
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #25 on: June 16, 2014, 09:47:28 AM »
FYI:

I have tried using a tab for options on the main dialog of a small utility many times before.. In my case, it never survives more than a few updates.. Eventually the mismatch in appropriate sizes for the windows, or the ever growing number of options, eventually seems to force me to make standalone options.

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,629
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #26 on: June 22, 2014, 11:49:54 PM »
@BGM: I added one of your requests.

Website | Download
v1.0.5 - 2014-06-22
    + Added new option to load last selected checklist on startup.
      (Thanks, BGM)
    * Fixed a checklist loading loop that happened for checklists
      longer than 37 items.  Don't ask...  =]

v1.0.4 - 2014-06-22
    * Deleting a checklist didn't always work properly.

Jarius Elliott

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #27 on: June 28, 2014, 08:04:13 AM »
I love the simplicity. While reluctant to add any hint of complexity to an elegant app - how about the ability to add a short note to an entry?

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,629
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #28 on: June 28, 2014, 09:59:31 AM »
I love the simplicity. While reluctant to add any hint of complexity to an elegant app - how about the ability to add a short note to an entry?

By that, do you mean an extra column?

firace

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2012
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #29 on: July 20, 2014, 10:29:47 AM »
Any chance the checked items can also have strikethrough?

Unfortunately, I'm pretty positive AutoHotkey cannot strikethrough individual lines in its listview handling options.  The best I could do would probably be to offer colouring options for the rows.  However, that involves a separate library and comes with its own set of potential issues.

Assuming Listviews accept Unicode characters, this simple hack should work, hopefully... :)
I've just tested it under AHK 1.1, Win XP, and MS Word.  Unfortunately, I can't remember where I came across this trick.

^#v::
  str := clipboard, out := ""
  loop % strlen(str)
    out .= SubStr(str, A_Index, 1) Chr(0x336)
  SendInput %out%
return

« Last Edit: July 20, 2014, 11:26:24 AM by firace »

firace

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2012
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #30 on: July 20, 2014, 11:14:21 AM »
I've just tested it with a standard listview and it works beautifully for me...  Even with accented characters!
I hope you can actually use this in sCheckList.

EDIT: Cleaned up code.




Gui, Add, ListView, r20 w330 gMyListView, Name|Size (KB)

Loop, C:\*.*
    LV_Add("", A_LoopFileName, A_LoopFileSizeKB)

LV_ModifyCol() 
LV_ModifyCol(2, "Integer") 

Gui, Show
return

MyListView:
if A_GuiEvent = DoubleClick
{
LV_GetText(RowText, A_EventInfo) 

if  checked%A_EventInfo%
out := Unstrike(RowText)
else
out := Strike(RowText)

checked%A_EventInfo% := !checked%A_EventInfo%  
LV_Modify(A_EventInfo,Col1, out)

}

return

Strike(str)   {
    loop % strlen(str)
      result .= SubStr(str, A_Index, 1) Chr(0x336)
return result
}


Unstrike(str)   {
    loop % strlen(str)
      StringReplace, result,str, % Chr(0x336),, All
return result
}
 
GuiClose: 
ExitApp
« Last Edit: July 21, 2014, 01:34:20 PM by firace »

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,238
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #31 on: July 22, 2014, 05:09:39 AM »
I think I broke it :-[

I had created a template list and had duplicated it and renamed it.
Then I (unintentionally!) crashed sChecklist by resizing the list column after having resized the window.
When I restarted, the last created list was not shown, so I tried to recreate it - but wasnt allowed use the same name.
It is there in the Checklist folder but is not shown.
I restarted sChecklist again, and now the duplicated template which I could not rename - that doesnt show either - i.e. new lists are being created and saved, but they are not being remembered by the app.

Screenshot - 2014-07-22 , 11_57_09.png

OK
I think I fixed it again :)
I edited the dat file to include the list I wanted (tiffs in screenshot above) and deleted the other unwanted duplicate.
Now when I add a new list it is saved on close :up:
Tom

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,238
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #32 on: July 22, 2014, 05:12:12 AM »
Minor icing-on-the-cake type request:
F2 to edit list name
Tom

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,629
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #33 on: July 25, 2014, 07:26:49 PM »
Assuming Listviews accept Unicode characters, this simple hack should work, hopefully...

Nice little hack.  I'll see what I can do to incorporate it.

Minor icing-on-the-cake type request:
F2 to edit list name

I'll see what I can do about this, too.

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,629
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #34 on: July 28, 2014, 12:13:46 PM »
Minor icing-on-the-cake type request:
F2 to edit list name

Added in the latest build:

Website | Download
v1.0.6 - 2014-07-28
    + Pressing F2 now works to edit a checklist name.  (Thanks, tomos)


Assuming Listviews accept Unicode characters, this simple hack should work, hopefully...

I played with this hack a bit more and it works fine for shorter strings.  However, for longer strings, it seems to truncate the output when updating the row with the struck-through data.  So, unfortunately, I won't be able to add this.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,238
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #35 on: July 29, 2014, 08:02:50 AM »
Minor icing-on-the-cake type request:
F2 to edit list name

Added in the latest build:

Website | Download
v1.0.6 - 2014-07-28
    + Pressing F2 now works to edit a checklist name.  (Thanks, tomos)
very nice, works a treat :-*

Keyboard navigation works lovely as well I see :up: (hadnt tried it before)
Tom

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,629
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #36 on: September 09, 2014, 07:22:12 AM »
Tom, would you mind giving this a test and see if you can trigger that freeze-whilst-resizing bug?

Website | Download
v1.0.7 - 2014-09-09
    * Made some changes to, hopefully, fix the freeze-while-resizing bug.
    ! Choosing File, Exit from the menu only minimized to the tray.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,238
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #37 on: September 09, 2014, 10:37:58 AM »
Tom, would you mind giving this a test and see if you can trigger that freeze-whilst-resizing bug?

Website | Download
v1.0.7 - 2014-09-09
    * Made some changes to, hopefully, fix the freeze-while-resizing bug.
    ! Choosing File, Exit from the menu only minimized to the tray.


You'll be happy to hear Jody that I'm unable to crash or freeze it :up: :up:
Tom

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,629
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #38 on: September 09, 2014, 10:50:47 AM »
You'll be happy to hear Jody that I'm unable to crash or freeze it :up: :up:

I'm not exhaling just yet but this is a good sign.  Thank you for testing.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,238
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #39 on: September 17, 2014, 06:26:54 AM »
Tom

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,629
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #40 on: September 17, 2014, 07:28:41 AM »
Thanks, Tom and RGdot.   :D

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,247
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #41 on: November 05, 2014, 06:59:48 PM »
Written up on ILoveFreeSoftware today:
http://www.ilovefree...dows-schecklist.html

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,629
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #42 on: November 05, 2014, 08:51:20 PM »
Thanks for the heads up, mouser.  =]

BGM

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #43 on: November 20, 2014, 02:46:23 PM »
Say, Skwire, in the screenshot at the top, you have the sort-checked-to-top and sort-checked-to-bottom buttons in your toolbar.  How can I have that?  My commands are trapped inside a dropdown-menu-button.
-bgmCoder

BGM

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #44 on: November 20, 2014, 02:54:16 PM »
Also, I notice that "sort checked to bottom" also sorts the list alphabetically.
That is not what I expected - I expected it not to rearrange all my carefully organized list but to just moved the checked items to the bottom.  There is "sort alphabetically" if I wanted automatic sorting.
-bgmCoder

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,629
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #45 on: November 20, 2014, 03:41:04 PM »
Say, Skwire, in the screenshot at the top, you have the sort-checked-to-top and sort-checked-to-bottom buttons in your toolbar.  How can I have that?  My commands are trapped inside a dropdown-menu-button.

I moved all the sort options to the drop-down button a few builds ago.

Also, I notice that "sort checked to bottom" also sorts the list alphabetically.
That is not what I expected - I expected it not to rearrange all my carefully organized list but to just moved the checked items to the bottom.  There is "sort alphabetically" if I wanted automatic sorting.

You make a good point.  Let me see what I can do.

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,629
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #46 on: November 21, 2014, 12:11:44 AM »
@BGM, here you go:

Website | Download
v1.0.9 - 2014-11-21
    + Added basic undo/redo functionality.
    ! The "Sort Checked" options should no longer affect the alphabetical order
      of the entries.  (Thanks, BGM)

BGM

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #47 on: November 21, 2014, 03:33:10 PM »
Thank you, Skwire!  Works like a charm.
-bgmCoder

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,629
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #48 on: November 21, 2014, 11:16:18 PM »
Good to hear.  Thanks for reporting back.   :Thmbsup:

BGM

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #49 on: November 26, 2014, 11:44:51 AM »
Skwire,  I can't figure out how to move checklists up and down in the panel.
I thought if I clicked a checklist to select it that I could then use the regular up and down arrows to move it, but that didn't work.  So I guess you can't use the sorting functions on the checklist listview.
I suppose I *could* rearrange it by editing the data file...
-bgmCoder