Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site November 01, 2014, 07:43:38 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Free DonationCoder.com Member Kit: Submit Request.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: IDEA: Symantec anti-virus auto-updater  (Read 33440 times)
Josh
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 3,338



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: May 22, 2006, 04:54:36 AM »

I use symantec antivirus corporate edition, and while it is (imho) a great anti-virus, its liveupdate definitions are only posted every few days. I do know that symantec posts daily updates (manually downloadable executables). What I would like is an app that will load

http://www.symantec.com/a...nload/pages/US-SAVCE.html

and scan for the executable link, download the file, run it, and delete the file, all automatically. Is this possible? Sounds like a perfect AHK script smiley Perhaps even have an option to configure how often (since symantec posts multiple updates per day).
Logged

Strength in Knowledge
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,711



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2006, 05:24:08 AM »

This can be very easy to do, but i need to know if the filenames don't change.
The one you want to download mantains the file name?

(This program can be constantly checking if the page has been updated, and only download when there's a new version of the program, because there's a "release date" there Wink )
Logged

Josh
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 3,338



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2006, 05:43:19 AM »

The filename changed based on the date and the release number, an example filename is

20060521-018-x86.exe

Where the first portion is the release date, the second is the release number (18) and the third is the platform x86
Logged

Strength in Knowledge
Carol Haynes
Waffles for England (patent pending)
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 7,958



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2006, 05:45:35 AM »

You could use Website-Watcher - there used to be a discount for memebers but I haven't checked to see if it is still valid.

It will tell you if the page is updated. It also has a scripting language built in that can run programs so should be able to detect the filename and execute it.

Useful app in its own right too ...
« Last Edit: May 22, 2006, 05:49:04 AM by Carol Haynes » Logged

Josh
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 3,338



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2006, 05:48:04 AM »

That would work, but I want this to occur transparently (or even shoot up a prompt when the file is downloaded, asking me if I wish to update it, but having an option to silently run the update).
Logged

Strength in Knowledge
f0dder
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 8,774



[Well, THAT escalated quickly!]

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2006, 05:58:13 AM »

This shouldn't be too hard to do, especially not in a decent scripting language or .NET... basically, grab the page, do a regexp search, and grab the file if the date has changed.

What's the full URL to a download file? A quick-and-dirty regexp might look something like
[copy or print]
http://www\.symantec\.com/path/(\d{8})-(\d+)-x86\.exe
...
Logged

- carpe noctem
PhilKC
Charter Member
***
Posts: 117



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: May 22, 2006, 06:06:07 AM »

I'm working on something now... Shouldn't take too long to finish up and GUI-ify...

*cough* Assuming it stops creating 80MB files *cough*

PhilKC
Logged

It's not a bug, it's an undocumented and unexplainable feature.
Stick it on your site:
kimmchii
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 360


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: May 22, 2006, 06:07:18 AM »

you can also use HTTrack to download all exe, and then use task schedule to run and delete.
Logged

If you find a good solution and become attached to it, the solution may become your next problem.
~Robert Anthony
PhilKC
Charter Member
***
Posts: 117



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: May 22, 2006, 07:34:44 AM »

Ok, that took longer than expected, sorry.

http://bluescreenofdeath.co.uk/DC/nUpdate.exe

Usage:
   Normal: Just double click...
   With logging to file: nUpdate "C:\Log.txt"

Minimise to hide in the tray... That's about it...
It doesn't delete after running, but it does overwrite the same one each time, so not much space is lost...

EDIT: I do not own Norton *... Hence I couldn't test this as much as I would have liked to...

Errors/bugs/etc, either post here or email the address in the progam...

PhilKC
« Last Edit: May 22, 2006, 07:53:58 AM by PhilKC » Logged

It's not a bug, it's an undocumented and unexplainable feature.
Stick it on your site:
Josh
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 3,338



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: May 22, 2006, 08:39:37 AM »

See the end of this message for details on invoking
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
System.ArgumentNullException: Value cannot be null.
Parameter name: text
   at System.Windows.Forms.Clipboard.SetText(String text, TextDataFormat format)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Clipboard.SetText(String text)
   at nUpdate.MainForm.log_SelectedIndexChanged(Object sender, EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ListBox.OnSelectedIndexChanged(EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ListBox.WmReflectCommand(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ListBox.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v2.0.50727/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
nUpdate
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///c:/nUpdate.exe
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Configuration
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Xml
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
----------------------------------------

************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:

<configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
</configuration>

When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.



This occurred on the first run after it downloaded the update and said it was executing it. I didnt see the file run, but it said it was going to execute. Also, can you make it so that it puts the URL + filename being downloaded in the log. And one final request (that I can think of right now), is there a way to make it start hidden (only in tray)? Right now, when I launch it, the program maximizes itself and starts in tray. Thanks again man! This is why I love dc.com smiley
Logged

Strength in Knowledge
PhilKC
Charter Member
***
Posts: 117



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: May 22, 2006, 09:17:00 AM »

[copy or print]
nUpdate /silent
Will launch silently

[copy or print]
nUpdate /silent "C:\log.txt"
Will launch silently, and log to C:\log.txt

PhilKC
Logged

It's not a bug, it's an undocumented and unexplainable feature.
Stick it on your site:
Josh
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 3,338



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: May 22, 2006, 11:31:01 AM »

See the end of this message for details on invoking
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
System.ArgumentNullException: Value cannot be null.
Parameter name: text
   at System.Windows.Forms.Clipboard.SetText(String text, TextDataFormat format)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Clipboard.SetText(String text)
   at nUpdate.MainForm.log_SelectedIndexChanged(Object sender, EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ListBox.OnSelectedIndexChanged(EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ListBox.WmReflectCommand(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ListBox.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v2.0.50727/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
nUpdate
    Assembly Version: 1.0.3.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.3.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/nUpdate.exe
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Configuration
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Xml
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
----------------------------------------

************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:

<configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
</configuration>

When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.


This occurs when unchecking the silent update box right after the applications start. It also occurs when clicking around the log portion of the window at random. Also, could you add a button to run the update check manually? Thanks again for your hard work man, it is truely appreciated
« Last Edit: May 22, 2006, 12:07:26 PM by Josh » Logged

Strength in Knowledge
f0dder
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 8,774



[Well, THAT escalated quickly!]

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: May 22, 2006, 11:52:25 AM »

I wonder if the "spoiler button" feature wouldn't be a nice thing to use for long error logs like this? smiley
Logged

- carpe noctem
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,617



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: May 22, 2006, 11:58:28 AM »

Quote
I wonder if the "spoiler button" feature wouldn't be a nice thing to use for long error logs like this?

just my 2 cents:
if you have a lot of content in a very general thread that tons of people will be reading, then encosing it in a spoiler box or putting thumbnails of big images may be warranted.
but if its a very specialized thread like this one, i don't think it's important.
Logged
f0dder
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 8,774



[Well, THAT escalated quickly!]

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: May 22, 2006, 12:05:20 PM »

Quote
I wonder if the "spoiler button" feature wouldn't be a nice thing to use for long error logs like this?

just my 2 cents:
if you have a lot of content in a very general thread that tons of people will be reading, then encosing it in a spoiler box or putting thumbnails of big images may be warranted.
but if its a very specialized thread like this one, i don't think it's important.

You're probably right - it would still make it easier to separate the error log from the "this happens when" part... but I'm just thinking out loud smiley
Logged

- carpe noctem
PhilKC
Charter Member
***
Posts: 117



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: May 22, 2006, 10:20:29 PM »

Ok, as of 1.04 that exception should be fixed, and the manual update button has been added.

EDIT: 1.05 is out, some minor fixes and the ability to abort an update, GUI changes...

EDIT: 1.06 is out, rewrote most of the code, focusing on the threading...

PhilKC
« Last Edit: May 23, 2006, 01:36:47 AM by PhilKC » Logged

It's not a bug, it's an undocumented and unexplainable feature.
Stick it on your site:
Josh
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 3,338



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: May 23, 2006, 02:41:00 PM »

Hey, for 1.09, is there a way to make it so that you can enter the URL of the page to be checked for the update that way it isnt hard coded into the app. Perhaps this can be stored in a registry key, and loaded each time the program starts. That way, if symantec were to change their page, you wouldnt have to update the program.
Logged

Strength in Knowledge
Josh
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 3,338



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #17 on: May 23, 2006, 02:44:46 PM »

Also, the exception is thrown when you click an empty spot in the log window. Also, ntvdm.exe isnt being killed in task manager. I still show it running.
Logged

Strength in Knowledge
Josh
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 3,338



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #18 on: May 24, 2006, 05:09:56 AM »

 One thing I did notice is that when you change the amount of time between updates, its not remembered when you restart the app and its also not updated on the timer. Is there a way to do this via a registry key? You could store whether or not silent updates are enabled, auto update is enabled, the update interval and the default log file to use all in registry. Would this be feasible? One final thing, when you press update to do a manual update, it doesnt reset the timer (at least in the titlebar of the app). Thanks again!
Logged

Strength in Knowledge
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #19 on: May 24, 2006, 06:15:47 PM »

smiley A late entry!

DownloadAndRun - Download a file from the internet, and run it or open it in a program.

Features:
- Open the ini file to change the file to download, to show traytip and what action to take.
- Wildcard * can be used in the filename=
- To just save the download file, use action=
- To run the downloaded file, use action=Run
- To open the downloaded file in, say Notepad, use action=Run Notepad.exe

You'll find the downloads and more info at 1 Hour Software by Skrommel.

This one is a bit rough, like missing a gui for the settings, but I plan to expand it to extract any info from a web page, not just links, and format the output, so just try it out. Also I'd like to add multiple sources, scheduling and multple threads.

Also, RegEx is possible, but I find it somewhat cryptic, maybe wildcards is good enough?

Skrommel
« Last Edit: May 24, 2006, 06:23:05 PM by skrommel » Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
Josh
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 3,338



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #20 on: May 24, 2006, 06:43:32 PM »

Better late than never ;-)

Does this one allow configuration of an interval to check for the file at the specified url? Also, perhaps a way to specify parameters to pass to the downloaded file would be nice, unless that is possible using current conventions. I do like the tooltip idea smiley
Logged

Strength in Knowledge
PhilKC
Charter Member
***
Posts: 117



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #21 on: May 25, 2006, 03:19:46 PM »

Hey, for 1.09, is there a way to make it so that you can enter the URL of the page to be checked for the update that way it isnt hard coded into the app. Perhaps this can be stored in a registry key, and loaded each time the program starts. That way, if symantec were to change their page, you wouldnt have to update the program.

Done.

Also, the exception is thrown when you click an empty spot in the log window. Also, ntvdm.exe isnt being killed in task manager. I still show it running.

Fixed.

One thing I did notice is that when you change the amount of time between updates, its not remembered when you restart the app and its also not updated on the timer. Is there a way to do this via a registry key? You could store whether or not silent updates are enabled, auto update is enabled, the update interval and the default log file to use all in registry. Would this be feasible? One final thing, when you press update to do a manual update, it doesnt reset the timer (at least in the titlebar of the app). Thanks again!

Changed. (Although the title bar wont update instantly)

1.09 ahoy!

PhilKC
Logged

It's not a bug, it's an undocumented and unexplainable feature.
Stick it on your site:
skywalka
Member
**
Posts: 253


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #22 on: May 25, 2006, 03:46:12 PM »

I use Kaspersky AV & is automatically checks for updates every hour.

Symantec doesn't update often enough.  Didn't the Mellisa virus infect millions of computers in less than 24 hours?
Logged
Josh
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 3,338



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #23 on: May 25, 2006, 04:16:51 PM »

Symantec updates several times a day, its just the liveupdate defs arent put out but every 2-3 days. You can always download daily updates
Logged

Strength in Knowledge
skywalka
Member
**
Posts: 253


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #24 on: May 25, 2006, 04:38:51 PM »

I don't think that's good enough.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.072s | Server load: 0.24 ]