Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site October 01, 2014, 09:18:57 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2010! Download 24 custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: IDEA: mouse wall - would you like to code this?  (Read 15211 times)
sopan123
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: May 21, 2006, 06:33:12 PM »

I would love to donate for a small bit of coding.  Could you build a mouse wall similar to the mouse fence, which would leave any drop down box in windows open on just one side?  i'd love to be able to "hit the side" of a tool drop down, with a right sweep, and just slide down the right side without being able to overshoot the box.  It really would help with start-programs-, etc., but actually with anything.  Just wall off the drop downs, except for one side.  They all are connected to their parent toolbars, at the top or from the left, so you could "get in" right?   Couldn't it be done easily?
« Last Edit: May 25, 2006, 09:01:55 AM by brotherS » Logged
kimmchii
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 360


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2006, 08:27:14 PM »

i cannot understand the request at all.
Logged

If you find a good solution and become attached to it, the solution may become your next problem.
~Robert Anthony
AndyM
Charter Member
***
Posts: 616


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2006, 09:43:33 PM »

I think I get it, and it would be pretty cool.  The idea is that once the mouse cursor is in a drop down box, or a fly-out menu, you can't slide the cursor out of the box by accident.  There is a "mouse fence" on three sides of the box.  If someone could actually get something like this to work, I'd contribute some Donation Credits too.
Logged
sopan123
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2006, 06:13:40 PM »

I think I get it, and it would be pretty cool.  The idea is that once the mouse cursor is in a drop down box, or a fly-out menu, you can't slide the cursor out of the box by accident.  There is a "mouse fence" on three sides of the box.  If someone could actually get something like this to work, I'd contribute some Donation Credits too.

thanks Andy...yes you totally get it, and thanks for the second, [vote],  smiley
Logged
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2006, 06:42:00 PM »

 smiley Try this one!

ControlFence - Prevent the mouse from sliding off certain controls once inside.



You'll find the downloads and more info at 1 Hour Software by Skrommel.

Skrommel
Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,422



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2006, 07:06:00 PM »

i was just about to post that this doesn't seem possible.
good thing i waited  Grin

having tried this, i have to say - this has to be one of the coolest effects i have ever seen - it's actually fun to watch the mouse bounce around inside a combobox.

amazing.  Thmbsup

and i love the new about box.  thumbs up thumbs up thumbs up

ps. don't forget to give skrommel some DonationCredits!!!
Logged
AndyM
Charter Member
***
Posts: 616


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: May 25, 2006, 08:58:20 AM »

I won't be able to spend any real time playing with this for a day or two, but so far I haven't been able to figure out how to identify the names of the Controls I want to fence in.

One set of menus I am interested in is the All Programs fly-out menus.  I'm constantly mousing too far to the right and losing my selection, instead ending up in the second column of All Programs when I wanted to stay in a sub-group of the first column.
Logged
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: May 25, 2006, 09:53:01 AM »

 tellme It's called ToolbarWindow32, but so does every other windows on the system, so I think I need to extent ControlFence to check for parent or something before it gets useful.

Instead, I think you should try to increase the time it takes before a menu automatically slides out. Download TweakUI from http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/downloads/powertoys/xppowertoys.mspx, install and run it, and click on the line called Mouse. Now move the slider in the Menu Speed all to the right to Slow, and I think you're troubles are over.

Skrommel
« Last Edit: May 25, 2006, 09:56:38 AM by skrommel » Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
DesertEagle
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 16

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: August 15, 2006, 03:57:10 PM »

You might want also to try JetStart http://www.codesector.com/jetstart.asp to find a faster way of launching Start Menu programs.
Logged
AndyM
Charter Member
***
Posts: 616


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: August 15, 2006, 09:32:50 PM »

The little I use the Start Menu, it's not worth me looking for an alternative.

My problem is with any kind of "fly out" menu, that when I'm moving quickly, the mouse can excape the menu and then I have to start all over.  I have several toolbar menus and the Quickstart menu that I do use often.

So if skrommel figures out a way to fence the mouse in, it would be slick.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.032s | Server load: 0.07 ]