Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 08, 2016, 02:00:05 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Slow  (Read 8109 times)

dcwul62

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 293
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Slow
« on: January 11, 2014, 12:59:22 AM »
I'd like to know if about 9-10 seconds delay is normal, I mean to say, when at CTRL-C
it takes about 9-10 seconds before this -> [attach=#1][/attach] arrow button changes back to the normal taskbar-icon.

When quickly copying stuff one after the other, whilst CHS is still trying to save them, clipboard copies are lost.

For example(!) as a test:
have created a Word-document with numbered lines
selected each line
copied them to clipbard one after the other, not waiting until CHS has finished.

1st example
=
[attach=#2][/attach]
=
2nd example
=
[attach=#3][/attach]
=









mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,416
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Slow
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2014, 01:05:42 AM »
That is absolutely NOT normal.
Can you test if the delay happens in all programs or just MS Office?

dcwul62

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 293
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Slow
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2014, 02:56:55 AM »
That is absolutely NOT normal.
Can you test if the delay happens in all programs or just MS Office?

It is with -anything- I send to clipboard. Temporarily disabled Norton Internet Security (2014), no difference.
Have made a small videoclip. Look at the CPU usage, normally it is 0.02. Have sent it to you by mail.
Uploading .wmv files is not allowed.

You will see it increase to -say- 18-20 or so and then after a about 9-10 sec fall back to normal CPU.
You may see how long this takes.
=

p.s.: meanwhile, how to  DEtach a file from a forum post?
=

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,331
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Slow
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2014, 03:50:37 AM »
I have the problem of clips occassionally not being copied (I think you may have reported that a while back dcwul62) -- sometimes I actually *cut* text and it isn't on the clipboard.... Which makes me wonder if the problem is with the clipboard rather than CHS -  but have yet to disable CHS to check (Win7 x64).


p.s.: meanwhile, how to  DEtach a file from a forum post?

when you modify your post, there's a list of attached files under the edit box - untick :-)
Tom

dcwul62

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 293
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Slow
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2014, 04:24:05 AM »

I think it is CHS, sorry to say.

When I am using ClipMate the clips  -immediately-  show up in ClipMate.
CHS: CPU usage jumps to about 20-23% (idle 0.02-0.04)
Stays with these 20 for a while and then goes back again.

Am also using Windows 7 x64

Note: the delay is the same without ClipMate and Norton IS protected stopped.

Assume it is not the database getting too big?

=


tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,331
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Slow
« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2014, 10:58:53 AM »
Assume it is not the database getting too big?

I never delete anything :-[
Maybe I should test with an alternative/portable install.
Tom

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,331
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Slow
« Reply #6 on: January 11, 2014, 11:14:54 AM »
I can confirm the problem when copying multiple items - with 01 through to 09, it only got half of them.

Screenshot - 2014-01-11 , 18_10_28.png
Tom

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,331
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Slow
« Reply #7 on: January 11, 2014, 11:32:08 AM »
Assume it is not the database getting too big?
I never delete anything :-[
Maybe I should test with an alternative/portable install.

OK my problem CHS is an install version.
-
I setup a portable version - it works flawlessy, much more responsively too.

How big is your database dcwul62?
One here is years old - I guess I could delete it or archive it and start again...
ClipTable.dat is 45mb (not sure if that's the main file mouser?)
Tom

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,416
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Slow
« Reply #8 on: January 11, 2014, 11:37:11 AM »
It should be super fast and you shouldn't be able to copy fast enough (at least not manually) to make it miss stuff.

It's good that a clean install is super fast for you, now the question is whether there is something unusual about your database or just it's size...

Cliptable.* are the main database files.

If you bring up the main window can you check how big your Clipboard -> New group is? maybe try moving items from the New section elsewhere.

Also see if maybe it has to do with your current view? Do you have a filter enabled (top row), or are you in a virtual group?

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,331
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Slow
« Reply #9 on: January 11, 2014, 11:52:29 AM »
If you bring up the main window can you check how big your Clipboard -> New group is? maybe try moving items from the New section elsewhere.

oddly enough the 'New' section is huge, the 'Old' one very small.
What dictates that? Okay, I seem to have disabled 'Automatic Filing' on the 'Backup/Maintenance' tab.
- I reactivated that and this seems to have sorted out the problem here - will report back if there's any related troubles.
(thanks jesse :up:)
Tom

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,416
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Slow
« Reply #10 on: January 11, 2014, 11:56:59 AM »
If it's true that a large New section slows down everything, then i can try to add something that automatically detects it and tries to encourage user to enable auto-filing.

dcwul62, can you check the size of your New group as well and see if you have disabled auto-filing?

dcwul62

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 293
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Slow
« Reply #11 on: January 12, 2014, 12:46:41 AM »

dcwul62, can you check the size of your New group as well and see if you have disabled auto-filing?

Sorry . . ., but how?


=
later:  you mean THIS ??

SnagIt-12012014 074903.png
=
http://imagizer.imag...x600q90/812/ot8i.png


=

==> p.s. Pls allow .wmv and mp4 to be uploaded.
mpg/mov/avi is allowed, but my current screenrecorders either support .wmv (Faststone) or .mp4 (SnagIt), or .swf (Jing)
likely there are other screenrecorders that support mpg/mov/avi, but I donot want to install additional software for just a one-off thing.

« Last Edit: January 12, 2014, 01:00:17 AM by dcwul62 »

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,331
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Slow
« Reply #12 on: January 12, 2014, 01:34:44 AM »
New group can be seen by opening the main window (you may need to open the 'Tree' panel).
By default 'New' gets moved to 'Old' after X hours.

later:  you mean THIS ??

if you activate the first option there under 'Automatic Filing' -- setting the number of hours (I have mine at 72).

I'm not sure does this affect what shows in the quick paste menu (?)
Tom

dcwul62

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 293
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Slow
« Reply #13 on: January 12, 2014, 02:33:19 AM »

I just tried, did not want to cut back to 72 hours or so, but took 7 days (168 hours).
Clicked on [Now][Accept]
Waited, exited CHS, launched it.
CHS did compact database (or something)
Waited, exited CHS again, re-launched it.

Norton reported high CPU usage
=
SnagIt-12012014 091802.png
=

Waited,exited again, relaunched again (3rd time)

Did a clip (ctrl-c) on some text, CPU usage went up to around 30% for 7-8 seconds and down to normal
Saved 1-2 seconds I guess.

====
oh, btw, you wrote
"when you modify your post, there's a list of attached files under the edit box - untick "

eh ... where to 'untick'?
=
SnagIt-12012014 092512.pngSlow
=

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,416
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Slow
« Reply #14 on: January 12, 2014, 02:39:03 AM »
On the "Backup/Maintenance" tab, tick all of those checkboxes under Automatic Filing, then click the Now buttons in that "Automatic Filing" group to the far right of them, in order starting at the top.

Take a screenshot afterwards if you would so we can see.

Then go to the main window and click on the "New" group, and make a guestimate about how many items are in that New group (dozens, 100s? 1000s?).

Then restart CHS and see if the problem is fixed.

dcwul62

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 293
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Slow
« Reply #15 on: January 12, 2014, 03:18:41 AM »
Exited existing CHS (portable)

Extracted/launched latest (nov.) version (portable)
Everything fine, captures all within a second.
Also, nothing 'skipped' when fast capturing one immediately after the other.

Bottomline, I guess, database got too big.
Donot want to loose old clips. Exporting database .csv is no option (sorry)
Exporting clipcontents separate .txt files, I think it still seems to be in the pipeline.

see earlier posts:
- Database size
- Export to single .txt files (adding date-time)


oh, btw:
new 593 clips
old 10570 clips
=
« Last Edit: January 12, 2014, 03:51:32 AM by dcwul62 »

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,331
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Slow
« Reply #16 on: January 12, 2014, 04:17:23 AM »
^ I'm unclear - are you saying it's sorted now? [edit] which options did you tick? [/edit]

In my case I *just* moved clips to 'Old' - I didnt move 'Old' clips to bin after X hours, nor empty-bin-after X
(btw, cant check right now how many clips I have.)

--------------------------
oh, btw, you wrote
"when you modify your post, there's a list of attached files under the edit box - untick "

eh ... where to 'untick'?
Ah okay,
my explanation was for how to remove an image from a post which has already been posted. I then get this:

Screenshot - 2014-01-12 , 11_11_22.pngSlow

I think before posting, you cant remove the image, which is limiting...
Tom
« Last Edit: January 12, 2014, 04:24:25 AM by tomos »

dcwul62

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 293
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Slow
« Reply #17 on: January 12, 2014, 06:04:52 AM »
@tomos
Just for good order's sake: no, I think it is not sorted out.
The thing is, I only launched a completely 'fresh' just unzipped portable CHS and used that to create some clips.
(the CHS I normally used was not running)
With this 'fresh' new version, everything is running fine.
But then again, what about my old database ..

Anyway, likely it has something to do with the database  (?)

=
As for attaching files. Thanks for the screenshot. Seems only possible when modifying a  post that was already sent(?)

I did not test it, but what would happen if:
- I create a post
- attached a few files
- then decide nót to use them
a. how then to remove them?
b. if I doNOT use the 'link inline image' drop down, at the top, but send the post anyway (see attachment)
can these attachments be opened?
again: I  did *not* test it/give it a try  :-)

=
SnagIt-12012014 120425.pngSlow
=


tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,331
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Slow
« Reply #18 on: January 12, 2014, 11:50:40 AM »
Yes, it is a problem, i.e. you can only delete after posting - otherwise it's start again in a fresh page :-(
I was thinking of starting a thread asking for a couple of minor improvments in forum software - I know there was talk about changing the whole thing, so not sure if there's incentive to improve current forum soft.


Back to CHS - I did not understand your previous post. Thanks for clarifying: "not sorted" - more :-(

I have 30,000 items in Old'.
I have about 150 items in 'New'.
As it is now working well here, it seems clear that the problem (again here) was with too many items in the 'New' section.

You have almost 600 items in 'New'.
  • First question is: *why* do you want to keep them in new/ not move them to old? (Related question for mouser below.)
  • Second question is why not try it with less than 200 in 'New' and see if it works?

Query for mouser: is there an advantage to keeping an item longer in the 'New' folder?
Tom

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,416
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Slow
« Reply #19 on: January 12, 2014, 11:58:47 AM »
There is no advantage to keeping them in the New section, but really 600 items in New should not be slowing it down.

Truthfully neither should 6000.

But if we accept that the slowdown in your cases is being caused by so many clips in the New group, what we need to next determine is WHY.

There are a few possibilities.

  • The first is that simply having so many clips in the database is causing the database to update slowly.
  • The second is that CHS is doing some operation each time a new clip is added to the NEW group, like filtering, or invisibly updating some display that is involving sorting or searching, and that this action is being performed each time a new clip is added.  This would be a bug that we might reveal by changing the view on the main window in different ways and trying to see if the bug remains in all cases.
  • The third possibility is that an antivirus program of some sort is being an ass, and is holding up the program while it scans the clip database file as it increases in size or content.

Determining which of these causes is the key.  Any insight you can find would be appreciated.  What I can do is create a test function to create tons of clips in the New group automatically and see what i can see.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,331
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Slow
« Reply #20 on: January 12, 2014, 12:39:32 PM »
There's nothing obvious here - no filters, settings for New & Old seem to be default.
If there's anything else I can test - let me know - I could increase the New folder size again - and e.g. disable AV.
Tom

dcwul62

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 293
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Slow
« Reply #21 on: January 13, 2014, 07:00:16 AM »
Yes, it is a problem, i.e. you can only delete after posting - otherwise it's start again in a fresh page :-(
I was thinking of starting a thread asking for a couple of minor improvments in forum software - I know there was talk about changing the whole thing, so not sure if there's incentive to improve current forum soft.

Maybe another small improvement _could_ be the notification system:
If you reply on a thread that I am following, I will be notified.
Any other additional comments from others: I donot get notified.
Example: I got a notification of this posting.
But no notification of the reply from mouser, nor from your (last) reply.

later, oh .. and add other video formats to be allowed to be upload.

Back to CHS - I did not understand your previous post. Thanks for clarifying: "not sorted" - more :-(

I have 30,000 items in Old'.
I have about 150 items in 'New'.
As it is now working well here, it seems clear that the problem (again here) was with too many items in the 'New' section.

You have almost 600 items in 'New'.
  • First question is: *why* do you want to keep them in new/ not move them to old? (Related question for mouser below.)
  • Second question is why not try it with less than 200 in 'New' and see if it works?

Query for mouser: is there an advantage to keeping an item longer in the 'New' folder?

Frankly, I don't know if this is the cause of the problem. Thing is, if I take captures quickly, then CHS is unable to follow and starts skipping. Maybe it is something between Windows clipboard and CHS and something to do with buffers, I don't know  ;)
Some years ago, I had a tool (written in Visual Basic) and in case of large volumes of renaming files, it sometimes used a lot of CPU sources and crashed in the end.
After some communication with the developer he increased some 'buffers' somewhere and it worked fine ever since.
I don't say it is the same, I don't have any knowledge of programming whatsoever,but as CHS is taking (too) much CPU resources and skipping things, I was thinking of the buffer-thing from the past.

Anyway.. it is upto Mouser  
=
=
« Last Edit: January 13, 2014, 07:13:23 AM by dcwul62 »

dcwul62

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 293
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Slow
« Reply #22 on: January 13, 2014, 07:27:05 AM »

Try this:
1. Select 'All', then select 'Old
any delays?

2. Go back to 'All' then select 'New'
any delays?

3. Go back to 'All' and copy text
how fast ?
4. Go to 'New' and copy text
how fast?

=

SnagIt-13012014 141830.png

=

when I select subfolder 'New' then it is much faster.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,331
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Slow
« Reply #23 on: January 13, 2014, 07:37:27 AM »
^ I tried that:

  • 1. delay is between .5 to 1 second
  • 2. much longer delay - a couple of seconds
  • 3. unclear -- do you mean leave CHS main window open? I did leave it open and copied nine small clips quickly from Notepad2 - only five were actually copied.
  • 4. as 3 -- but nine out of nine clips were copied
Tom

dcwul62

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 293
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Slow
« Reply #24 on: January 14, 2014, 03:26:07 AM »
This proves what I am trying to say.
When selecting 'All' (top level) copying is slow and CHS skips things.
Then go to 'New' (select New in the tree), copying is fast, nothing is skipped.

Maybe a workaround could be: CHS to startup selecting 'New' by default, i.e. startup folder='New'
Currently 'All' is selected.


Of course, that is not an answer as to why CHS skips copying, because too slow, in case 'All' or 'Old' is selected.

=