Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 06, 2016, 09:59:40 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Resolution of Screenshot Captor  (Read 8263 times)

pvalenca

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Resolution of Screenshot Captor
« on: January 09, 2014, 05:42:13 PM »
I have now installed SC on my new ultrabook, a Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro. It has a screen resolution of 3200x1800, but I have set it to 2048x1152. However, esp. many items in SC are now very little and almost impossible to manipulate with the finger. How can I adapt SC?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Resolution of Screenshot Captor
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2014, 01:57:56 PM »
That sounds like a wonderful laptop -- 3200x1800 wow.

I've been meaning to look into some scaling options with the main SC window -- let me see what I can find on the issue..

James Bizzell

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Resolution of Screenshot Captor
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2014, 12:00:11 PM »
I am having the same problem. The program icons are so small that I can hardly make them out. I am running an Asus Desktop PC M51AC Series, Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 Ram, NVIDIA Ge Force 640 Graphics card, Acer H233H(HDMI) @ 1920x1080 Resolution. I have no problem with icon size on any other program.   

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Resolution of Screenshot Captor
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2014, 02:23:52 PM »
those icons look like they are supposed to -- that's normal for them to be that small..

James Bizzell

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Resolution of Screenshot Captor
« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2014, 03:18:17 PM »
My old eyes are really straining to see the icons. On the video tutorials that you make, they are a lot bigger and there are two toolbars. I can not see any way to add toolbars. Am I missing something. Otherwise, I am enjoying the tutorials you have made. They are really good. Keep up the good work.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Resolution of Screenshot Captor
« Reply #5 on: February 06, 2014, 03:49:23 PM »
One important thing to remember is that for most of those icon buttons, there is a menu item.  The only ones that's not true for are the object buttons (arrow, highlight box, text box, etc.).

There is an optional "scanner" toolbar, that you can enable from the scanner tab of the options.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,325
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Resolution of Screenshot Captor
« Reply #6 on: February 06, 2014, 05:45:01 PM »
On the video tutorials that you make, they are a lot bigger and there are two toolbars.

The larger icon size in the video could be to do with mouser having a lower pixel-per-inch resolution on his monitor.

As for myself, I still have to check with the tooltips anyways for the majority of them :-[ :)
Tom

James Bizzell

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Resolution of Screenshot Captor
« Reply #7 on: February 06, 2014, 05:57:56 PM »
I understand all of the above. I have many programs and they all have icons that I can easily see. SC is the only program that I have that has icons, and about everything else, so small that I can hardly make out what I am looking at. Please, take a look at the pic below. It is easy to see that the pic from the tutorial, on the left, is much bigger than the one on the left, which is the way it looks on my monitor. Note that all icons are on one row on the left and there is two rows on the tutorial pic. Otherwise, I am loving this software. What it can do is amazing. I will use it, weather there is a fix for this or not. Thanks.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Resolution of Screenshot Captor
« Reply #8 on: February 06, 2014, 06:54:56 PM »
Thanks James -- I appreciate the good nature of the request.  :up:

And I don't disagree the icons seem exceedingly small on your screenshot.  It looks like you have a high resolution screen set up (maybe with large font setting to make the text bigger)?

There is actually one or two things I can try, to see if it helps -- remind me if i don't post a test version in the next week.

James Bizzell

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Resolution of Screenshot Captor
« Reply #9 on: February 18, 2014, 12:22:07 PM »
mouser, I was wondering if you have had time to check this situation out. Thanks! :)

James Bizzell

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Resolution of Screenshot Captor
« Reply #10 on: February 23, 2014, 09:41:29 AM »
Thanks James -- I appreciate the good nature of the request.  :up:

And I don't disagree the icons seem exceedingly small on your screenshot.  It looks like you have a high resolution screen set up (maybe with large font setting to make the text bigger)?

There is actually one or two things I can try, to see if it helps -- remind me if i don't post a test version in the next week.
Just a reminder......

ralfs

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Resolution of Screenshot Captor
« Reply #11 on: March 02, 2014, 03:52:50 AM »
I also vote for a possibility to switch the icons to a big-icon-set.
Ralf

James Bizzell

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Resolution of Screenshot Captor
« Reply #12 on: March 08, 2014, 05:01:49 PM »
Mouser, have you had time to look into this? Just wondering.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Resolution of Screenshot Captor
« Reply #13 on: March 10, 2014, 08:23:26 PM »
I apologize -- I have been really focusing on my Mewlo project for the last couple of months, and have been slow in responding to other issues; i will be doing some updates for my dc apps soon.

ralfs

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Resolution of Screenshot Captor
« Reply #14 on: May 14, 2014, 11:34:35 PM »
Hi Mouser,

is this topic about bigger icons for high resolution screens still on your roadmap?
Ralf

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Resolution of Screenshot Captor
« Reply #15 on: May 15, 2014, 10:26:59 AM »
I'm afraid it's pretty low down on my list of priorities.

ScreenManiac

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2014
  • **
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Resolution of Screenshot Captor
« Reply #16 on: May 29, 2014, 01:25:12 PM »
Sad to hear that the icon issue is about to drop from your radar.
I suffer the same problems as reported above. Same thing, small monitor with extremely high resolution. It's not so uncommon these days, they sprout up everywhere, even laptops with resolutions way above full HD.

What would help, too - if we had shortcuts to switch between arrow and textbox and cliparts and object selector.
Having to aim at eeny weeny tiny icons - continually - really gets exhausting after a while.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Resolution of Screenshot Captor
« Reply #17 on: May 30, 2014, 06:31:02 AM »
Quote
Sad to hear that the icon issue is about to drop from your radar.
To be honest, i suppose adding an option to use large icons (32x32 instead of the default 16x16) on the TOOLBARS would not be so difficult, so I will put it back on the radar.

Quote
What would help, too - if we had shortcuts to switch between arrow and textbox and cliparts and object selector.

Certainly that I can add.

ScreenManiac

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2014
  • **
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Resolution of Screenshot Captor
« Reply #18 on: May 30, 2014, 11:09:42 AM »
Great news indeed.
Thanks for being open to these wishes.

James Bizzell

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Resolution of Screenshot Captor
« Reply #19 on: June 07, 2014, 11:50:31 AM »
Thanks for the consideration, Mouser. Many others and I wouldn't need to use our magnifier to see the icons!