Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 06:24:20 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Screenshot Captor - Blank Capture Problem Solved - Caused by Avast plugin  (Read 8805 times)

rembrant

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
I think I said 'required'. Not sure it is actually part of the T&Cs of UK banks for online accounts (not checked fully with ones I use) but many of them bug you to install it.

Regarding SC and other screenshots not using SC, yes Rapport does indeed block screenshots. I have Firefox opening with four tabs, one being an https page. Rapport operates to warn against capturing sensitive information on that secure site (even when that is not the active tab) when a print screen attempt is made using the PrtScr key, but SC gives a blank SS if Grab Current Screen is pressed with no Rapport warning. So I thought if I close that https tab will SC work! SC works! So that's OK then! Sort of!  :D

So still not a full solution, but it'll do! And I guess Rapport is protecting like it should.

cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Quote
Rapport operates to warn against capturing sensitive information on that secure site (even when that is not the active tab) when a print screen attempt is made using the PrtScr key

Firefox has the ability to split the screen showing two or more web pages at the same time within the browser window, with only one page having focus or active, and the other page or pages visible. So it's a good feature of that banking security software.

rembrant

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
The second tab from left is the secure one, but if I try to us PrtScn to capture the content of this forum in the active tab, I get a Rapport warning when I try to capture what I did below, (or a blank with SC).

rembrant

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor - Blank Capture Problem Solved - Caused by Avast plugin
« Reply #28 on: September 24, 2013, 11:15:11 AM »
I think I said 'required'. Not sure it is actually part of the T&Cs of UK banks for online accounts (not checked fully with ones I use) but many of them bug you to install it.

Regarding SC and other screenshots not using SC, yes Rapport does indeed block screenshots. I have Firefox opening with four tabs, one being an https page. Rapport operates to warn against capturing sensitive information on that secure site (even when that is not the active tab) when a print screen attempt is made using the PrtScr key, but SC gives a blank SS if Grab Current Screen is pressed with no Rapport warning. So I thought if I close that https tab will SC work! SC works! So that's OK then! Sort of!  :D

So still not a full solution, but it'll do! And I guess Rapport is protecting like it should.
As an update - I found a way on Rapport's advanced menu to only prevent Rapport from capturing screenshots by selecting 'partner sites only' such as banks and not sites I have also chosen to have Rapport protect, and that fixed the blank captures.

cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor - Blank Capture Problem Solved - Caused by Avast plugin
« Reply #29 on: September 24, 2013, 03:21:45 PM »
Excellent!  :Thmbsup: This discussion will help many with security products blocking screenshots.