Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 03, 2016, 10:05:15 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: IDEA: Display Volume Level in TaskBar  (Read 4035 times)

skywalka

  • Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 253
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
IDEA: Display Volume Level in TaskBar
« on: May 08, 2006, 08:00:52 AM »
Hi guys.

Have you ever listened to an mp3 or video that sounded like the volume was turned down.  So you opened the Windows taskbar volume control only to find the volume isn't turned down.

How much easier would it be to just glance at your volume icon & see if the level is at maximum or another level.  If the volume is muted this is reflected in the icon.  Why not for all volumes?

Thanx for looking.

Edit by brotherS: Please don't forget to start subjects in here with "IDEA: ...", thanks.
« Last Edit: May 08, 2006, 08:05:28 AM by brotherS »

brotherS

  • Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 2,136
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Display Volume Level in TaskBar
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2006, 08:10:26 AM »
Have you ever listened to an mp3 or video that sounded like the volume was turned down.  So you opened the Windows taskbar volume control only to find the volume isn't turned down.

How much easier would it be to just glance at your volume icon & see if the level is at maximum or another level.  If the volume is muted this is reflected in the icon.  Why not for all volumes?
You want to use the Winamp Advanced Controls, read http://www.donationc...dex.php?topic=3198.0 for more info.

I never ever change Windows' volume, I only change it in Winamp (music) and Zoom Player (video) - and in both programs by using the keyboard. Zoom Player displays volume changes while they happen, for Winamp there are the Winamp Advanced Controls (see above).

Happy playing!

skywalka

  • Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 253
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Display Volume Level in TaskBar
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2006, 08:56:02 AM »
I never like to change Windows' volume either but when you encounter, for example, a webpage with playing music & you have that page open for a long time you may need to turn down the volume.  I'd say the volume is only down 10% of the times I check.

I'm trying Winamp Advanced Controls now.  Thanx for the tip.

I still think displaying the volume level in the volume icon is reassuring & optimum.

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,070
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Display Volume Level in TaskBar
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2006, 01:21:58 PM »
I like the idea.  And I also use winamp advanced controls with the keyboard.  And I also never change windows volume, unless there's no other way, like in the webpage example.

As a sidenote, it would be nice if there was a way to control the volume of the web browser, because often the flash videos or sounds coming from webpages have no volume control, which is really annoying.  it would be cool if firefox or ie had it's own volume control, like in the status bar area or something.

skywalka

  • Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 253
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Display Volume Level in TaskBar
« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2006, 06:40:27 PM »

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 886
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Display Volume Level in TaskBar
« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2006, 07:15:44 PM »
 :) Try IdleMute v2.1! Just added volume indicator to the tray icon.

Skrommel
Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.

skywalka

  • Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 253
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Display Volume Level in TaskBar
« Reply #6 on: May 09, 2006, 11:12:22 PM »
Thanx Skrommel.

I personally don't need the functionality of IdleMute but I'm sure those who use IdleMute will benefit from being able to see the volume level. :Thmbsup:

fatjoe

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Display Volume Level in TaskBar
« Reply #7 on: May 10, 2006, 03:53:58 AM »
crucial part though bro is the actual slider for volume control in the tray itself. Rather than having to click and then do it~

skywalka

  • Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 253
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Display Volume Level in TaskBar
« Reply #8 on: May 10, 2006, 04:24:28 AM »
Great idea.

skywalka

  • Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 253
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Display Volume Level in TaskBar
« Reply #9 on: May 10, 2006, 04:30:53 AM »