Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 07, 2016, 02:25:06 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: chrome (main process) taking an entire core. How to debug?  (Read 1150 times)

urlwolf

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,797
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
chrome (main process) taking an entire core. How to debug?
« on: July 01, 2013, 02:54:34 PM »
I have chrome (main process) taking an entire core.
I removed most of the plugins, still the same problem.
I suspect creating a new user would fix it, because on in cognito mode it stays alive ok.

Or I could switch to FF again :)

Any ideas about how to debug this? It's the latest version...

evamaria

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2013
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: chrome (main process) taking an entire core. How to debug?
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2013, 08:37:44 AM »
Yesterday, I had a similar problem. 100 p.c. system on my 1-core system, terrible, but distributed between Chrome and YTD Downloader (4.3), and after (!) I had downloaded a group of files with YTD Downloader... I had to shut down YTD Downloader, in order to get even Chrome revert to normal state, so I suppose if it's not some "special" site that slows down Chrome in such a way, it's the INTERACTION with something else.

This is weird and should not occur, but I like Chrome too much in order to switch to FF, and in my tries with FF, I also had moments where things didn't went as smoothly as they should have, so there seems to be an "aleatoric factor" in these things.

In my case, that'd be: Switch to another YT downloader, but stay with Chrome; I hope you find a similar cause and solution.

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,285
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: chrome (main process) taking an entire core. How to debug?
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2013, 09:15:52 AM »
What I usually do is try various chromium snap-shots until I find one that's stable and doesn't hog the CPU. I download the win32 zip, not the installer.  Once you set up a snap shot, save it and it's profile to folders with the build number as part of the name. If you try a new stanp shot that's worse, just copy back the saved contents of the prfile and exe folders.

Also it's important to save the profile because if  you try a newer version and try to back it off to the old, if there's a new setting you'll get an error about "some setting" not recognized or what not.

But now FF is comparable in speed.  Unless you load a zillion extensions FF should seem just as quick off the dime too.