topbanner_forum

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Tuesday March 19, 2024, 1:03 am
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Need help with FARR appearance tweaks  (Read 5237 times)

ajfudge

• Participant
  • Joined in 2012
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Need help with FARR appearance tweaks
« on: May 28, 2013, 03:45 PM »
First thing:
I learned so much from this board so I hope that whatever I ask has a solution. I think this is my first time posting. I was hesitant to ask here at first because it's kinda intimidating, aside from the fact that mouser (thank you, btw) isn't a big fan of custom skinning. But then again, why not. So here goes.

First thing and a half:
FARR had been living in my hard disk unused for a long time since at the time Launchy is workable.
I like Launchy because: Hello, eye candy. And coming from a launch-via-dock culture (i.e. Rocketdock), appearance is a supplement that's no longer just an option but a reward to users (Yes, that's an emphasis  ;D).
I don't like Launchy anymore because: It's 2013 and the latest release was two Windows OSes ago. And well, it seemed to be not optimized to newer OSes and the fact that indexing i supposed to speed things up, why the heck is Launchy always lagging? Not to mention that the occasional updating of index affects my workflow to the point that I have to spend 10 minutes smoking so my PC wouldn't throw a tantrum if I continue using it (Yes, I'm a multi-tasker who abuse my RAM  ;))
So now I switched to FARR. And with slenderFARR skin, everything is operable. But because my eyes just can't take in too much whiteness, I also tried to create my own skin (see screenshots below), a "skill" I attribute to the resources I found here.