Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • July 26, 2016, 10:45:49 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - v4.16.1 - Dec 12, 2015  (Read 337516 times)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,072
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - v4.15.0 Beta - Nov 3, 2015
« Reply #550 on: November 04, 2015, 11:03:14 AM »
I'd like to release a new official update if no one finds any new bugs with the beta.

tripex

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - v4.15.0 Beta - Nov 3, 2015
« Reply #551 on: November 05, 2015, 01:57:31 AM »
It seems, the scrolling window feature doesn't work with W10. I tried to capture my Steam library or a Firefox window with it, but in both cases, it doesn't work.

Steam: The little red overlay that tells me to CTRL+Click or Right CTRL or use the menu comes up, but it doesn't react to the shortcuts. The menu wprks, but after that there is no scrolling happening. It just makes 1 screenshot and thats it. When I try to autofind the settings for the scrolling nothing happens at all and I have to abort the current operation.

Firefox (newest stable release): The red overlay comes up, after using the shortcut CTRL+Click, the overlay diappears and nothing happens at all. I have to abort the current operation with the red icon in systray like I had to in Steam.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,072
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - v4.15.0 Beta - Nov 3, 2015
« Reply #552 on: November 05, 2015, 02:36:00 AM »
Let me try scrolling capture on my windows 10 machine and report.
Have you tried the MANUAL scrolling capture method?

tripex

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - v4.15.0 Beta - Nov 3, 2015
« Reply #553 on: November 05, 2015, 07:36:01 AM »
Tried it, but doesn't work either. Restarted SC after diasbaled possible problem apps that could cause problems with the PrtScr button for the manual method, but it doesn't do anything, after I manually pressed the button and scrolled down the windows there is no Done button active. Maybe I'm the only one with this problem and something on my machine is the problem.

EDIT: I disabled OneNote now and it seems to work on FireFox now, even the manual mode, but its not a real good result. And it runs 3-4 times through the whole scrolling thing. Send WindowMessage and PgDwn method. Will try other methods, too. Will test Steam and report back.

Never had such problems with W7 and the older SC. But awesome program, I should donate more to this, keep up the awesome work.
« Last Edit: November 05, 2015, 07:46:51 AM by tripex »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,072
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - v4.15.0 Beta - Nov 3, 2015
« Reply #554 on: November 05, 2015, 07:37:34 AM »
if some other app has taken over the PrtScr button, try setting a different capture button from the SC options.

tripex

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - v4.15.0 Beta - Nov 3, 2015
« Reply #555 on: November 05, 2015, 08:01:29 AM »
Hm, tested Steam now, and it seems, some methods that worked under W7 with old SC do not work on W10. Worked around with the settings a bit and got some result. Send Windows Messages seems not to work anymore on some apps, on others it works. Same goes for MouseWheel Messages. Maybe its my setup again that interferes here. Well, loved the feature, but will go back to do it myself like in old days, the rest works fine so far. ;)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,072
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - v4.15.0 Beta - Nov 3, 2015
« Reply #556 on: November 05, 2015, 05:31:59 PM »
Well, loved the feature, but will go back to do it myself like in old days, the rest works fine so far.


I put a lot of work into the MANUAL scrolling capture method in Screenshot Captor, which should work in all cases, with just a little bit of effort. It doesn't require any fancy sending of mouse or keyboard signals to the target app, but will help you stitch together multiple images.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,072
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - v4.15.0 - Nov 3, 2015
« Reply #557 on: November 06, 2015, 06:14:01 AM »
v4.15.0 is now official.

Ficus strangulensis

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2015
  • **
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - v4.15.0 - Nov 3, 2015
« Reply #558 on: November 06, 2015, 04:33:18 PM »
Hi, Mouser.

I just downloaded and installed screencaptor v4.15 [NOT deleting preferences/settings] and I'm getting blank [all black] screencaps from Electricsheep running in a window. It'll capture firefox and my desktop [win-7 home premium 64-bit SP-1 and with updates up-to-date] just fine.

I guess I can fall back to whatever version I was running [4.13?] since it was capturing Electricsheep fine.

Y'r ol' Bud,

Fike
mail artist, retired organic chemist

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,072
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - v4.15.0 - Nov 3, 2015
« Reply #559 on: November 06, 2015, 04:34:58 PM »
Quote
I guess I can fall back to whatever version I was running [4.13?] since it was capturing Electricsheep fine.

i wonder if it isn't your security app blocking the new version?

does that problem happen even when capturing full screen?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,072
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - v4.15.0 - Nov 3, 2015
« Reply #560 on: November 06, 2015, 04:36:02 PM »
If its capturing full screen fine just not windows, then go to "Window Capturing 1" in options and toggle the "try to capture aero glass" option.
Didn't we go through this before?

Ficus strangulensis

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2015
  • **
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - v4.15.0 - Nov 3, 2015
« Reply #561 on: November 06, 2015, 06:14:12 PM »
If its capturing full screen fine just not windows, then go to "Window Capturing 1" in options and toggle the "try to capture aero glass" option.
Didn't we go through this before?

I think we did do something like this.

I just went and checked the 'aero' button and it still fails to capture. In all these cases, the ES running in a window was expanded to full size.

I tried capturing the sreensaver running as a screensaver and it worked with the usual delay that I've been seeing on ES in this mode.

I also tried checking the box above the 'aero' box, the one that says 'if the active window is too large' with the same result. Captured a black image.
mail artist, retired organic chemist

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,072
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - v4.15.0 - Nov 3, 2015
« Reply #562 on: November 06, 2015, 06:27:19 PM »
Quote
I just went and checked the 'aero' button and it still fails to capture.
im fairly certain you want it unchecked.


TechHarmony

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - v4.15.0 - Nov 3, 2015
« Reply #563 on: November 07, 2015, 06:17:10 PM »
HI,
Thanks for the Screenshot Captor.
One thing that would help me, especially when these quick next release updates come out -- can you put the version number in the Installer exe version properties details?

Right now, all of the ScreenshotCaptorSetup.exe are always version "0.0.0.0" -- regardless of what version it really actually contains.
So for me, the only way to know what installer exe is what, is to look at the file date I downloaded it -- which is not always a rock solid thing since sometimes copying changes the dates.
Thanks.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,072
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - v4.15.0 - Nov 3, 2015
« Reply #564 on: November 07, 2015, 06:19:25 PM »
I can do so without difficulty, so I will do so in future releases.
« Last Edit: November 07, 2015, 06:47:36 PM by mouser »

goozak

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2012
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - v4.16.1 - Dec 12, 2015
« Reply #565 on: January 04, 2016, 10:03:13 AM »
Hello,  Just a small glitch I've noticed.

I just downloaded/installed version 4.16.1.  If I "Check for updates", it says as expected "ScreenshotCaptor is up to date (v4.16.1)."

However, the About dialog and the file properties 'Details' tab both still show 4.15.2.

Great software, by the way!

altae

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2014
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - v4.16.1 - Dec 12, 2015
« Reply #566 on: January 04, 2016, 11:55:15 AM »
Yeah, it's the same on my machine. I use the portable version and the "about" screen still shows 4.15.2.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,072
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - v4.16.1 - Dec 12, 2015
« Reply #567 on: January 04, 2016, 01:52:07 PM »
Thanks for the reports guys -- as you may deduce I decided that with the new year I should all of my outstanding beta versions official, and it seems that I missed upgrading a few version numbers.  Fixed now.

TurboJosh

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • PowerTunePlus
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - v4.16.1 - Dec 12, 2015
« Reply #568 on: January 07, 2016, 06:03:52 AM »
Bug: The word "Override" is misspelled as "Overide" in at least 2 places in the program. A code search & replace should solve that.

Usability: When I do a capture and the Post-Capture Dialog pops up, I often enter a filename in the "Overide filename" (sic) textbox, and then decide I want the screenshot saved somewhere besides my default screenshot folder, so I click Save Image As.. But then I'm frustrated because the filename I just painstakingly typed in is gone. Could the program be updated to persist the "Override" filename when clicking Save Image As?

Thanks again for this wonderful, FAST, efficient, 32-bit software! No .NET bloat here!  :Thmbsup:

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,072
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - v4.16.1 - Dec 12, 2015
« Reply #569 on: January 07, 2016, 06:05:46 AM »
Thanks, TurboJosh, will fix those.

joker_ssc

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2015
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - v4.16.1 - Dec 12, 2015
« Reply #570 on: January 10, 2016, 01:22:23 PM »
the best capturing program that I have seen

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,072
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - v4.16.1 - Dec 12, 2015
« Reply #571 on: January 10, 2016, 06:23:28 PM »
thanks for saying so, and welcome to the site!

TucknDar

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,099
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - v4.16.1 - Dec 12, 2015
« Reply #572 on: March 03, 2016, 02:10:00 AM »
I'm having a problem getting PrtScr working with Screenshot Captor. Needed to capture an active window, but Alt+PrtScr didn't do anything except asking if I wanted Dropbox to save the screenshot, which I declined. Alt+PrtScr does work, but Screenshot Captor doesn't interfere with Windows 10's default behaviour. Is this possible? Or do I need to use AutoHotkey or something to catch Windows' hotkey and pass it on to SC? Apparently I haven't used SC for this since installing Win10...

TucknDar

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,099
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - v4.16.1 - Dec 12, 2015
« Reply #573 on: March 04, 2016, 06:58:48 AM »
Ok, so now it works... I rebooted my computer and that fixed it. My guess is that Dropbox probably caught the PrtScr key, and waited for me to use it, and then when I declined, PrtScr was left on it's own (in lack of better words).

Anyway, nothing to see here  :-\

iAmJonny

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
resolution settings? "e"sr addon on win7
« Reply #574 on: March 04, 2016, 10:49:52 AM »
I'm trying to record my external monitor on win7, @ 1920x1080.

I can't see any res. options in the settings?
Also, the auto-integration (of the esr addon) - is this achievable on portable?
Not sure if I broke otherwise-working auto-config (I extracted the ESR portable folder as a sub-dir of portable ScreenCaptor, to relative folder ESR), both work independently of each other.

Wondered if it's a codec thang, tried magicyuv (apparently improved resolution over default, maybe because of video&compressionTYPE setting changes...) seemed to fix aspect ratio, but no options (AFAIK) re resolution...

Do I need to get something like CamTasia or Bandstudio for 1920 capture (also using 16-bit external audio via USB behringer, doesn't seem to like compression options)....

Any guides here on settings to try for (eg) small(er) files VS best quality etc?

Powerful stuff Thanks