Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site September 03, 2014, 02:11:39 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
View the new Member Awards and Badges page.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 ... 20 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - v4.8.5 - May 14, 2014  (Read 218369 times)
darklight_tr
Charter Member
***
Posts: 39



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #200 on: July 15, 2010, 04:23:31 PM »

Can anybody replicate this?

I'm using Screenshot Captor v2.82.01 - June 1st, 2010 on Vista Home Premium with a user account, UAC On.  I've hit what seems to be a weird bug.  SSC locks up when I use Shift-PrtScr = Grab selected Region.  I make a screenshot, SSC makes its capture sound, and the New Screenshot window (at least I think that's its title - the buttons on the title bar obscure it) pops up.  At that point, SSC locks up and I have to forcibly terminate it.  I didn't try scrolling region or repeat last, but all the other methods seem OK.  This behaviour mostly happens if Shift-PrtScr is the FIRST capture.  That is, if I tried other methods first, it usually, but not always, works as expected; sometimes it locks up even if I have tried another capture method first.  I think Red Box mode may have a problem?  Something like this happened with the beta, but I think earlier versions were OK.


I'm experiencing a similar issue with v2.82.01 on Windows XP.  If I try a Ctrl+Shift+Print Screen and then use Ctrl+Click to capture, Screenshot Captor will lock up if I use the Pop Up Choice dialog.  I then have to Alt+Tab to the Pop Up Choice dialog and hit Esc to cancel.  If I use the Minimized mode it works fine.
Logged
octaedro7
Participant
*
Posts: 4


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #201 on: July 29, 2010, 05:36:13 AM »

Are the scrolling windows capture issues fixed on ver 2.82.01?
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,295



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #202 on: July 29, 2010, 06:11:56 AM »

no recent work has been done on scrolling capture yet i'm afraid.  Sad
Logged
octaedro7
Participant
*
Posts: 4


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #203 on: August 02, 2010, 04:00:40 AM »

 Sad
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,295



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #204 on: August 07, 2010, 01:28:14 PM »

Minor Update:

v2.83.02 - August 7th, 2010
  • [BugFix] Fixed exception error that could occur when capturing screens with near-fullscreen active windows (e.g. Windows Media Player), caused by strange active window region coordinates.
  • [Feature] SC Now warns you the first time it sees you are trying the auto-move-old-screenshots feature and tells you where to find the options for it.
  • [BugFix] Some of the copy path to clipboard options and actions were occasionally copying the PREVIOUS filename to the clipboard.
  • [BugFix] Active window capture on Windows 7 could crash occasionally(!)
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,295



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #205 on: August 18, 2010, 08:41:52 PM »

minor update:
v2.84.01 - August 18th, 2010
  • [HelpFile] Updated the information on using Ctrl+Shift trick with the MoveTo menu, and changed behavior slightly -- thanks lanux!
  • [MinorFeature] Browse for new screenshot folder now lets you put in path manually if you want.
  • [BugFix] If you switch or rename image files while editing a text box object on a newly created text box, you lose the text.
  • [MinorFeature} You can now hold the Ctrl key while using the "move to.." menu item
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,088



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #206 on: August 18, 2010, 10:02:00 PM »

minor update:
v2.84.01 - August 18th, 2010

thanks mouser! it works well now.. Thmbsup
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,295



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #207 on: August 18, 2010, 10:10:52 PM »

thanks to lanux for finding all the bugs fixed in this latest release!
Logged
xcopy
Charter Member
***
Posts: 74


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #208 on: August 20, 2010, 03:47:04 AM »

Thanks for the update, mouser.

One thing:
I am a bit confused how to control what SSC copies to the clipboard. I found that the Shortcut CTRL+C works in a different way than using the menu item "Copy image/object to clipboard (CTRL+C)". Shouldn't they do the same?

Using the menu item created two kinds of bitmaps: "Device Independent Bitmap" and just "Bitmap" while CTRL+C creates just a "packet". To paste an image into e.g. an HTML mail I have to always use the menu.

And, additionally, it would be nice if we could set up, what and what not to copy to the clipboard. When both kinds of the above mentioned bitmaps are in the clipboard there's a default action when pasting and that's normally the Device Independent Bitmap, which resizes ugly in HTML mails or RTF pages. So there's always the need to first select which one to copy and choose just "Bitmap".


Logged
xcopy
Charter Member
***
Posts: 74


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #209 on: August 23, 2010, 01:21:12 AM »

Another two additions:
• in the newest version the keyboard-shortcut seems to be completely without function.

• To use screenshots I made with Screenshot Captor I usually copy the screenshot to the clipboard, then paste it into Paint.NET (http://www.getpaint.net/). Then, in Paint.NET I again copy it into the clipboard and now I am able to paste it into every application that supports embedded images (like Office, RTF, HTML-Mails etc). I make the detour with Paint.NET because I found that this app reliably copies a format into the clipboard that seems to be widely compatible and doesn't resize the image in an ugly way when pasted. Maybe you could take a look what this app does and check against SSC.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,295



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #210 on: September 28, 2010, 07:09:10 PM »

How come nobody told me how badly SC handled network screenshot paths?
New beta version -- hopefully i haven't broken anything in the process:

v2.86.04 beta - September 28th, 2010
  • [MinorFeature] The active window filename fields that can be used in file naming or info templates now do not include the file extension (.exe)
  • [BugFix] Adding an image caption was not setting file dirty, and so not prompting you to save changes if you select a new image.
  • [MinorFeature] Trying to get SC to handle network paths (start with //) better for screenshot and moveto directories.
  • [MinorFeature] Tools directory is rescanned and tools refreshed after closing the Edit Tools dialog (saves you from having to exit program and restart).

See link to beta in first post.
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,088



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #211 on: September 28, 2010, 09:01:38 PM »

thanks mouser for the network path fix and the rest! Cool
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,295



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #212 on: September 28, 2010, 09:02:56 PM »

thanks for finding all the bugs!  Grin
Logged
greynite
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #213 on: September 30, 2010, 08:50:53 AM »

+1 for this issue

Thanks for the update, mouser.

One thing:
I am a bit confused how to control what SSC copies to the clipboard. I found that the Shortcut CTRL+C works in a different way than using the menu item "Copy image/object to clipboard (CTRL+C)". Shouldn't they do the same?

Using the menu item created two kinds of bitmaps: "Device Independent Bitmap" and just "Bitmap" while CTRL+C creates just a "packet". To paste an image into e.g. an HTML mail I have to always use the menu.

And, additionally, it would be nice if we could set up, what and what not to copy to the clipboard. When both kinds of the above mentioned bitmaps are in the clipboard there's a default action when pasting and that's normally the Device Independent Bitmap, which resizes ugly in HTML mails or RTF pages. So there's always the need to first select which one to copy and choose just "Bitmap".
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,295



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #214 on: October 08, 2010, 06:40:00 PM »

v2.88.01 - October 8, 2010
  • [MinorFeature] Exe version info will now be synchronized with official program version info; should make it easier to use 3rd party update checkers.
  • [MinorFeature] The active window filename fields that can be used in file naming or info templates now do not include the file extension (.exe)
  • [BugFix] Adding an image caption was not setting file dirty, and so not prompting you to save changes if you select a new image.
  • [MinorFeature] Trying to get SC to handle network paths (start with //) better for screenshot and moveto directories.
  • [BugFix] Copying image with transparency to clipboard left big black areas where semi-transparency should be.
  • [MinorFeature] Tools directory is rescanned and tools refreshed after closing the Edit Tools dialog (saves you from having to exit program and restart).
Logged
daddydave
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 818



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #215 on: October 08, 2010, 10:10:40 PM »

Quote
v2.88.01 - October 8, 2010
.
.
.
[MinorFeature] Trying to get SC to handle network paths (start with //) better for screenshot and moveto directories
I haven't tried this feature, but don't network paths (I am assuming UNC paths) start with \\ rather than //?
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,295



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #216 on: October 09, 2010, 04:29:48 AM »

oops, thanks for pointing that out. it's correct in the code just not in changelog.
Logged
xcopy
Charter Member
***
Posts: 74


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #217 on: October 23, 2010, 07:54:02 AM »

Small addition to the clipboard scaling problem (forgot to mention that):
When I take the route over Paint.NET to avoid unwanted scaling of pasted images, in SSC I choose "Edit" > "Copy Image/Object to clipboard", switch to Paint.NET and paste it there. It is pasted  as a selected object so I can directly choose "Crop" to set the image dimensions to the object dimensions. Then I hit CTRL-A to select the whole image and copy it to the clipboard. Then it is pasted with the right dimensions and without distortion.

So it seems in SSC would be an additional step required to make the object boundaries match the image boundaries to make all copied images paste without distortion. Some target applications seem to do that for themselves (like Photoshop) but when you test with Wordpad you can see what I mean.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,295



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #218 on: November 02, 2010, 08:09:06 PM »

sorry for delay in responding xcopy -- i'm not quite sure i understand the issue, could you try to restate it?
Logged
xcopy
Charter Member
***
Posts: 74


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #219 on: November 03, 2010, 11:09:43 AM »

Hi mouser,

on my first PC I couldn't reproduce this although I saw this for years.
But on my second PC the effect still exists.

I made a video so that you can see what I mean:
1. I am creating a screenshot, SCC copies it to the clipboard automatically
2. Paste it in WordPad --> ugly resized
3. Paste it in Paint.NET, crop it there and copy it to the clipboard
4. Paste it in WordPad --> correctly resized

http://screencast.com/t/SM0j32mF1HE
Logged
greynite
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #220 on: November 03, 2010, 01:05:02 PM »

I did some more testing of my "pasted images are too big" -- at fault were the default zoom of Word / Outlook. Once I reset them all to 100 the images displayed correctly.

FWIW I also munged the DPI settings in SC editor, and the resulting "pasted" images displayed appropriately (e.g. 96 default, 80 DPI was big, 120 DPI smaller), so the DPI settings are migrating through the clipboard correctly also.
Logged
xcopy
Charter Member
***
Posts: 74


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #221 on: November 03, 2010, 04:14:12 PM »

Brilliant find, when I recorded the video that setting was on 72 dpi.
A 96 dpi setting seems to do the trick   thumbs up

Thanks!
Logged
emcemc
Participant
*
Posts: 6

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #222 on: November 07, 2010, 05:03:44 AM »

Hi all, Does the below '' BUG "" also happened to you ?

A normal screen capture I want to make,
I right lick the TV icon, select grab select region. Then PROBLEM START....
the monitor suddenly enlarged itself !!! ( I am now trying to attach the pic here)
the area I supposed to capture of course if way out of the foucus.

Is there anything I should set correctly or it is still a kind of bug behavior against the latest version 2.88 with Window 7 64bit ?

Thanks all.
 


* Screenshot - 11_7_2010 , 7_02_51 PM.jpg (267.43 KB, 1141x670 - viewed 198 times.)
Logged
xcopy
Charter Member
***
Posts: 74


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #223 on: November 07, 2010, 05:38:10 AM »

No idea about that specific problem but I am running SCC 2.88.01 on Win7 x64 without any issues.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,295



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #224 on: November 07, 2010, 09:31:01 AM »

hi emcemc, that is very strange!

Does it happen when you do other types of capture?
Does it happen if you use the shift+PrtScr keyboard shortcut to start a region capture?

ps. i will probably split this thread off into a separate topic, so look for it in Screenshot Captor section.
Logged
Pages: Prev 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 ... 20 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.048s | Server load: 0.06 ]