Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site October 22, 2014, 05:32:41 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Read the Practical Guide to DonationCoder.com Forum Search Features
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 ... 20 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - v4.9.1 - Oct 10, 2014  (Read 228279 times)
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,577



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #175 on: April 08, 2010, 09:40:01 AM »

Glad you like it, and welcome to the site Polka!  Thmbsup
Logged
kproth
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 34


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #176 on: April 12, 2010, 12:34:16 PM »

You can now comment on this announcement thread.  Comments will be split off onto a new thread with each new release.  I think this will make it easier for people to discuss releases but still keep the announcements clean.

I am subscribed to this thread (for obvious reasons) and got another email notification of someone congratulating you on a job well done.  Is there any other way to find out about new releases besides this thread? (other than your automatic updater which I'd prefer not to use).  If not, would you please consider disabling comments on this thread again?  To solve the concern with being able to discuss the releases, maybe you could post twice with each new release -- once to this thread, and also start a new thread for each release with comments enabled?
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,577



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #177 on: April 26, 2010, 10:47:24 AM »

new release:

v2.79.01 beta - Apr 24th, 2010
  • [MinorFeature] SaveAs now does higher quality (less compression) saves; useful for occasional jpg saving.
  • [MinorFeature] SaveAs now remembers your last default file extension used.
  • [BugFix] When creating thumbnails, or using saveas or save+ , sometimes pushing the copy filename to clipboard button would copy the PREVIOUS filename to clipboard; this could result in file path to full image copying to clipboard instead of new cropped thumbnail.
  • [MinorFeature] Added option to use transparent background when resizing canvas or adding captions.
  • [MinorFeature] Started showing different icon when in timed capture mode.
  • [Feature] You can now customize the directory pattern for the auto-moving-old-screenshots archive feature.
  • [MinorFeature] Added MoveTo menu item to move all screenshots into archives.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,577



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #178 on: May 04, 2010, 10:47:44 PM »

v2.81.01 - May 4th, 2010
  • [MajorFeature] Completely re-rewritten new method for capturing Aero Glass themed Semi-transparent windows on Vista and Windows 7.  Based on an approach described by Ian Griffiths (http://www.interact-sw.co...g/2007/01/30/recoveralpha), with several tweaks for automatic border detection and improved color handling.  A new options tab ("Windows Capturing") was added to control the various options for it.  Note that by default SC will preserve the entire transparency recovered from the window; this will allow you to composite the screenshot in graphics editing software with it's original semi-transparent regions and effects.  By default SC will attempt to remove the shadow effect imparted by Aero, but you can change this on the Windows Capture option tab.
  • [MinorChange] Changed default hotkey for capturing active window to Ctrl+PrtScr (the previous default of Alt+PrtScr was very stupid decision since the Alt key can activate menus)
  • [BugFix] SC was refusing to capture certain windows like Google Chrome; errors in capturing are now reported better.
  • [BugFix] With the option to remove border shadow, full screen active window captures were being eaten into; SC now ignores this option on maximized apps.
  • [MinorFeature] Removed aero capture delay setting - SC should now capture as fast as it can and lengthen delay when needed.
  • [BugFix] Hopefully eliminated bug where aero capture could be blank if screen refresh did not happen fast enough.
Logged
superboyac
Charter Member
***
Posts: 5,702


Is your software in my list?

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #179 on: May 05, 2010, 08:42:03 AM »

Nice!
Logged

IainB
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,790


Slartibartfarst

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #180 on: May 05, 2010, 10:37:39 AM »

@mouser: Thanks! I use ScreenshotCaptor quite a lot - it is very useful - so all improvements are welcome.   Thmbsup
Logged
hubi
Charter Member
***
Posts: 40

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #181 on: May 10, 2010, 07:34:45 PM »

Installed new release and it seems to have fixed the start-up bug but the following are not fixed

1) Thumbnail refresh (visually extremely irritating and makes it almost impossible to rename a screenshot from the thumbnail pane)

2) Seems to usually not retain settings for many areas between boot up e.g.

- highlight settings (inner colour & border thickness)
- text box settings (background colour, font size)
- arrow settings (arrow head size)

Sigh. Still waiting for these to be fixed ...  Sad
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,577



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #182 on: May 10, 2010, 07:51:50 PM »

Regarding #1, I have completely rewritten a nice new thumbnail panel system but i just have to tweak it a little more before i integrate.. it solves the refreshing and is better in a bunch of ways.  what i have to do is get the normal right click file menu to work on it.

I thought i solved #2; i will look again.
« Last Edit: May 10, 2010, 08:00:16 PM by mouser » Logged
vegas
Charter Member
***
Posts: 352


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #183 on: May 11, 2010, 08:15:57 AM »

Regarding #1, I have completely rewritten a nice new thumbnail panel system but i just have to tweak it a little more before i integrate.. it solves the refreshing and is better in a bunch of ways.  what i have to do is get the normal right click file menu to work on it.

I thought i solved #2; i will look again.

Thanks for the update, very much looking forward to the improved refreshing and the soon to be implemented, improved scroll capturing functionality. Keep up the amazing work!
Logged
hubi
Charter Member
***
Posts: 40

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #184 on: May 16, 2010, 07:04:26 PM »

Regarding #1, I have completely rewritten a nice new thumbnail panel system but i just have to tweak it a little more before i integrate.. it solves the refreshing and is better in a bunch of ways.  what i have to do is get the normal right click file menu to work on it.

I thought i solved #2; i will look again.

Hope the following information helps re "not keeping settings"  smiley

What I have worked out is that when it does not start minimized correctly it has overwritten the ScreenshotCaptor.ini file. Having taken a backup copy of this I can (via a simple batch file) exit the current running version, restore the .ini file and re-start ScreenshotCaptor.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,577



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #185 on: June 01, 2010, 01:31:38 PM »

v2.82.01 - June 1st, 2010
  • [Feature] New "Splice" commands in SpecialFx menu -- allow you to splice out horizontal or vertical regions, like banners.  Good for removing ad regions in screenshots, etc.
Logged
hubi
Charter Member
***
Posts: 40

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #186 on: June 02, 2010, 07:27:33 AM »

Like the new "splice" feature  smiley. Can we have it on the toolbar, please.

Question, re print settings - they don't appear to be saved as they revert to original settings after reboot i.e. when I print I set the margins to 1cm all round and next time I boot there back to 1 inch.



Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,577



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #187 on: June 02, 2010, 10:07:35 AM »

it dosnt save the cm/inch thing, i need to fix that.  i think if you set it in inches it will remember.
Logged
hubi
Charter Member
***
Posts: 40

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #188 on: June 02, 2010, 10:42:32 PM »

it dosnt save the cm/inch thing, i need to fix that.  i think if you set it in inches it will remember.

Unfortunately no, it seems to keep resetting it to 1 regardless of unit selected  Sad. Can we please have this added to the list of fixes.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,577



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #189 on: June 02, 2010, 10:48:17 PM »

yes.
Logged
rjbull
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,776

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #190 on: June 04, 2010, 03:23:08 PM »

mouser,

Can anybody replicate this?

I'm using Screenshot Captor v2.82.01 - June 1st, 2010 on Vista Home Premium with a user account, UAC On.  I've hit what seems to be a weird bug.  SSC locks up when I use Shift-PrtScr = Grab selected Region.  I make a screenshot, SSC makes its capture sound, and the New Screenshot window (at least I think that's its title - the buttons on the title bar obscure it) pops up.  At that point, SSC locks up and I have to forcibly terminate it.  I didn't try scrolling region or repeat last, but all the other methods seem OK.  This behaviour mostly happens if Shift-PrtScr is the FIRST capture.  That is, if I tried other methods first, it usually, but not always, works as expected; sometimes it locks up even if I have tried another capture method first.  I think Red Box mode may have a problem?  Something like this happened with the beta, but I think earlier versions were OK.
« Last Edit: June 04, 2010, 03:28:52 PM by rjbull » Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,577



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #191 on: June 04, 2010, 03:32:00 PM »

it does sound like something is unhappy with red box mode, which uses a keyboard and mouse hook dll..
Logged
rjbull
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,776

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #192 on: June 06, 2010, 11:50:06 AM »

mouser,

What are the mouse and keyboard hooks called?  I'd like to check the Online-Armor HIPS hasn't stifled them.

That's one of the problems of malware defense - names are so enigmatic, it's not immediately obvious whether what's trying to run is kosher or no.
Logged
hamradio
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 588



Amateur Radio Guy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #193 on: June 06, 2010, 11:58:11 AM »

I am not mouser but I believe they are in the ScreenshotCaptor main folder as DcKeyHk.dll and DcMouseHk.dll
Logged

Carroll - HamRadioUSA
rjbull
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,776

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #194 on: June 06, 2010, 12:15:49 PM »

Thanks, hamradio - DcMouseHk.dll was in the Allowed list, but DcKeyHk.dll doesn't appear at all.  Hmmm.
Logged
@thehop
Participant
*
Posts: 17


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #195 on: June 15, 2010, 09:26:12 AM »

Hi, btw - FYI

My NOD32 (Heuristic Scanner Option) interpret both Hooks DcKeyHk.dll + DcMouseHk.dll
as Win32/KeyLogger.BitLogic.AA application  huh

solong
« Last Edit: June 15, 2010, 09:30:41 AM by @thehop » Logged
f0dder
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 8,774



[Well, THAT escalated quickly!]

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #196 on: June 15, 2010, 10:37:51 AM »

Hi, btw - FYI

My NOD32 (Heuristic Scanner Option) interpret both Hooks DcKeyHk.dll + DcMouseHk.dll
as Win32/KeyLogger.BitLogic.AA application  huh
Long live overzealous antivirus heuristics Kiss Kiss Kiss
Logged

- carpe noctem
hgondalf
Participant
*
Posts: 15

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #197 on: June 30, 2010, 08:11:22 AM »

Love this app!  Thmbsup

I don’t know if this is a bug, but. . .  All my screen caps are dithered. The colors on captured image kind of blend into the surrounding color.  I think this is called “anti-aliasing”.  And blended colors are often dithered with random nearby pixels set to another, similar color.  Well, this is OK for onscreen viewing, I suppose (I don’t care for it, though), but it makes for very fuzzy images when they are used for print.

I’m creating a help manual that will be delivered in PDF format which will enable it to be both printed and viewed onscreen.  In any kind of zoomed view, the graphics are not sharp.

How can I turn off the anti-aliasing and dithering features in order to get  a sharp image for print reproduction?

(BTW I have dithering turned OFF in IrfanView.)

Thanks,

HarryG
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,577



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #198 on: June 30, 2010, 09:03:33 AM »

glad you like it  Thmbsup

ok it sounds like what you are describing is the smoothing that is enabled by default when viewing images at non-100% zoom.

this has no effect at all on the true file quality that is saved or printer, it only effects viewing at non-100% zoom level.

however you can turn it off or configure it:
Logged
superboyac
Charter Member
***
Posts: 5,702


Is your software in my list?

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #199 on: June 30, 2010, 09:29:53 AM »

mouser, i love how you put paragraphs of comments right in your interface.  i always say you have a grat knack of balancing powerful features with a nice UI.  You should be the CEO of both Sony and Apple and fix all their issues.
Logged

Pages: Prev 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 ... 20 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.044s | Server load: 0.15 ]