Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 09, 2016, 05:18:06 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - v4.16.1 - Dec 12, 2015  (Read 359661 times)

emcemc

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - 2.88.01 - Oct 8, 2010
« Reply #225 on: November 07, 2010, 08:02:34 PM »
Thanks mousers,

1. Other application capture wihtu"out" this problem.

2. Your suggest using keyboard shift+prtscreen, it works on first several tries, and it wasn't a few times (it's again enlarged the screen when I key board Shift+prt screen, then, it works fine again.

Showing you the pic from works--> not work ---> and work again.

Thanks!!

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,430
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - 2.88.01 - Oct 8, 2010
« Reply #226 on: November 07, 2010, 08:08:46 PM »
and let me guess that it's only the region capture that has this effect, right? the other capture modes probably work fine..
(and in fact if you go into red box mode options and set it to use red box for region capture, region capture probably will work without screen resizing).

region capture actually first captures the entire screen and then lets you draw on it, so something must be confusing it and causing your trouble. do you have multiple monitors (that shouldnt cause it but maybe it does); do you have some unusual desktop skinning tool?

ps. i never understand why everyone loves to region capture -- i much prefer setting SC to show itself after capture (not use popup dialog), and always take a full screen capture and crop it myself the capture.

emcemc

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - 2.88.01 - Oct 8, 2010
« Reply #227 on: November 07, 2010, 08:22:39 PM »
Mouser, Thanks Again !

1. SC entire screen + ALL OKAY. no enlarge problem at all.

2. People keen to use SC region ? It shows this is more appealing to the majority of people using it. It's saving an extra action we "CROP" it after SC entire screen. Plus, we know what we are doing as we DRAG the region ourself so this makes us feel safe at the time we doing it.

3. I am using single monitor. Window 7 64 bit, I believe it is usual configuration since I am not geek and this machine is recently purchase & I no modification (I know nothing when talks about geek modification)

4. Red box mode now works (not 100% I would say, may be 80%) I need to test by restarting SC, even restarting Win 7 couple of times/days to see.

Thanks Mouser !

TurboJosh

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • PowerTunePlus
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - 2.88.01 - Oct 8, 2010
« Reply #228 on: November 08, 2010, 05:05:40 PM »
Renaming a file doesn't seem to maintain the .png.objects file which stores the markup objects (arrows, etc.).

Moving a file with objects using MoveTo Folders should also move the .png.objects file but doesn't seem to?

Is this expected or how can I take action to preserve my .png.objects data so my screenshots remain editable?

PS: Just donated $10 to the site to say thanks for ScreenshotCaptor!

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,430
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - 2.88.01 - Oct 8, 2010
« Reply #229 on: November 08, 2010, 05:13:16 PM »
Quote
Moving a file with objects using MoveTo Folders should also move the .png.objects file but doesn't seem to?

that absolutely should! i will check into that right away.

Quote
Renaming a file doesn't seem to maintain the .png.objects file which stores the markup objects (arrows, etc.).

that should also happen, but depending on how you rename i wouldn't be surprised if one way didn't work.  you can rename using the thumbnail strip (hitting f2 or right clicking on the image and choosing to rename) -- that way i'm not sure will work.

the other way that should definitely work is if you select the image and then click in the file name field at the bottom, change the name, and hit enter.  that should rename the image and the associated object file.  note you can also use this image to change the file TYPE by specifying a new .extension.

i will check into the MoveTo method right away -- if that's not moving the associated object files then for sure that needs to be fixed asap.



Thanks for the donation!

emcemc

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - 2.88.01 - Oct 8, 2010
« Reply #230 on: November 13, 2010, 11:09:14 PM »
Mouser, Thanks Again !

1. SC entire screen + ALL OKAY. no enlarge problem at all.

2. People keen to use SC region ? It shows this is more appealing to the majority of people using it. It's saving an extra action we "CROP" it after SC entire screen. Plus, we know what we are doing as we DRAG the region ourself so this makes us feel safe at the time we doing it.

3. I am using single monitor. Window 7 64 bit, I believe it is usual configuration since I am not geek and this machine is recently purchase & I no modification (I know nothing when talks about geek modification)

4. Red box mode now works (not 100% I would say, may be 80%) I need to test by restarting SC, even restarting Win 7 couple of times/days to see.

Thanks Mouser !

HI Mouser,

It's started again the problem (off focus) when doing select region.
Used to be some work around which works using the Ctrl+Prt scrn.
Today, Ctrl+Prt Scrn not work anymore, it is "off foucs".

Thank you

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,430
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - 2.89.01 - Nov 21, 2010
« Reply #231 on: November 21, 2010, 04:56:02 PM »
new release:

v2.89.01 - November 21, 2010
  • [MinorFeature] Mini-update checking now included even without use of DcUpdater tool.
  • [MinorFeature] Move-to folders are not checked for existence if they are UNC network paths.
  • [BugFix] Attempt to fix bug where deleting multiple images could result in error reloading refreshing thumbnails.
  • [BugFix] Attempt to fix bug where post capture popup form was shown in front of options and sendto form.

hubi

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - 2.89.01 - Nov 21, 2010
« Reply #232 on: December 01, 2010, 05:32:19 AM »
It seems to me that the refresh problem for the thumbnail /Screenshot Panel has been fixed in this release. Have been running this release since it came out and so far, touch wood, it seems to be all good !!! :D :Thmbsup:

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,430
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - 2.89.01 - Nov 21, 2010
« Reply #233 on: December 01, 2010, 07:40:01 AM »
now that is nice to hear  :up:

IainB

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 6,141
  • Slartibartfarst
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - 2.89.01 - Nov 21, 2010
« Reply #234 on: December 08, 2010, 03:32:32 PM »
Could somebody help me with this SSC scrolling window capture problem please? I have SSC v2.89.01.
I have been using SSC for quite a while but have only recently tried using the capture of scrolling windows feature (e.g., a web page that is bigger than 1 screen deep), because I only just now needed a web page image capture.

However, SSC seems only able to perform an incomplete capture with errors in it (see image below), and it's a consistently repeatable error. Before it completes this "bad" capture, there is a lot of flickering of the screen and the browser window goes black, and sort of thin vertical white progress lines appear, disappear and re-appear.
As a workaround, I installed a Firefox add-in called FireShot, which seems to work perfectly, but, because SSC has such a brilliant toolset  :Thmbsup:   , I would like to keep it all in SSC and not have to use another SS utility (like FireShot).
I read the Help in SSC and the caveat about messing with SSC scrolling settings:
Quote
IMPORTANT: Scrolling Window Exception Settings are an advanced feature not for use by normal users.

Even though I am abnormal, I still felt it best to heed the warning and so did not mess with the settings.    ;)

I wondered if it was "user error", but I cannot see that I am doing anything incorrectly.
Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,430
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - 2.89.01 - Nov 21, 2010
« Reply #235 on: December 08, 2010, 04:06:45 PM »
i'm pretty sure this is a case of SC scrolling capture not working and not a user error.. it used to work perfectly in firefox for me but recently i've been having the same problem as you.  more and more evidence points to the need for me to revamp the scrolling capture code.

emcemc

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - 2.89.01 - Nov 21, 2010
« Reply #236 on: December 22, 2010, 09:55:49 PM »
Renaming a file doesn't seem to maintain the .png.objects file which stores the markup objects (arrows, etc.).

Moving a file with objects using MoveTo Folders should also move the .png.objects file but doesn't seem to?

Is this expected or how can I take action to preserve my .png.objects data so my screenshots remain editable?

PS: Just donated $10 to the site to say thanks for ScreenshotCaptor!

Finally Found the permanent fix to the "off-focus during capture select region.

Right click on Screenshot Captor choose property.

Choose compatibily,
Choose from "setting" ,
Check the box saying " Disable display scailing on high DPI setting'.

I ever never again meet the off focus problem when using select region.

"" Above apply for Window 7  O_N_L_Y "

Thanks Edmond.






mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,430
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - 2.89.01 - Nov 21, 2010
« Reply #237 on: December 22, 2010, 09:59:20 PM »
oh wow that's an interesting find.. never even heard about that property!

emcemc

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - 2.89.01 - Nov 21, 2010
« Reply #238 on: December 23, 2010, 12:23:31 AM »
You are just too busy on the core work of the software so did not have chance to look in .....
I now put up the capture of the "solution".

If anyone of you having "off focus" problem during you are making a "select region" capture.
Check the box of "Disable display scailing on high DPI settings"., see enclosed picture.

(The trade-off is, all icons within Screeshot captor interface is relatively small)

Edmond.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,430
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - 2.90.01 - Feb 15, 2011
« Reply #239 on: February 15, 2011, 04:23:29 PM »
Update release:

v2.90.01 - Feb 15, 2011
  • [BugFix] Attempt to fix bug where thumbnail panel was sometimes not updating on new images.
  • [BugFix] Manifest was not being embedded leading to beep sound when selecting items in thumbnail or capturing screenshots (mostly under Windows Vista).

hubi

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - 2.90.01 - Feb 15, 2011
« Reply #240 on: February 15, 2011, 06:51:45 PM »
Seems fine ! However

1) Can we please please please have the SFX -> 'Splice out strip' commands as buttons  :)

2) When you use a Splice command and you have highlighted rectangle they don't move up (even if you have saved the image) and if you then un-do they don't move back to the right place. Not a big deal as you learn to do any Splicing first but would be nice if this was fixed.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,430
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - 2.91.01 - Feb 24, 2011
« Reply #241 on: February 24, 2011, 05:57:31 PM »
Couple of minor updates, and one serious one for people who use a lot of objects -- a fix that makes editing lots of objects on screenshots much faster:

v2.91.01 - Feb 24th, 2011
  • [MajorFeature] New options (interface and objects tabs) that let disable anti-aliasing and smoothing when editing objects, which can dramatically speed up the speed at which multiple objects can be manipulated.
  • [BugFix] SC was overly conservative about allowed filename characters.
  • [Changes] Changed some shortcuts to be more standardized (Ctrl+P for print, Ctrl+D for deselect)
  • [BugFix/Change] Ctrl+C and Edit->Copy was no longer copying individual selected objects in object mode.

hubi

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - 2.91.01 - Feb 24, 2011
« Reply #242 on: February 24, 2011, 06:13:42 PM »
Thanks for the update but can we please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please

have the SFX -> 'Splice out strip' commands as toolbar buttons  :-*

Would be nice if could add any command from the menus to the toolbar but would be a lot more work than just adding the Splice commands.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,430
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - 2.91.01 - Feb 24, 2011
« Reply #243 on: February 24, 2011, 06:18:32 PM »
do you ever use the splice blur mode?
if i gave you a keyboard shortcut would that be almost satisfactory?

hubi

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - 2.91.01 - Feb 24, 2011
« Reply #244 on: February 24, 2011, 06:49:10 PM »
Thanks for the quick response

1) Shortcut key would for fine for now (assuming we will get a toolbar button, or the option for it perhaps at some stage )

2) No, don't use the "blur" as the line is too narrow. If I want to do that I fire up Paint.Net, linked in via the toolbar & Screen, and cut out a strip to indicate a section has been removed. Not as fancy as Snagit but works pretty well for me.

TIA

jinkerz7

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - 2.91.01 - Feb 24, 2011
« Reply #245 on: February 28, 2011, 09:35:47 AM »
I found a very minor UI bug in v2.91.01.  The Ctrl+P keyboard shortcut was recently changed to print the screenshot (which I love!), but the shortcut text still appears on the Edit > Preferences menu item as well.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,430
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - 2.91.01 - Feb 24, 2011
« Reply #246 on: February 28, 2011, 10:36:49 AM »
Thanks for spotting that jinker; options will now be Ctr+Alt+O.

hubi, Ctrl+Alt+P is now splice hotkey.

hubi

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - 2.91.01 - Feb 24, 2011
« Reply #247 on: February 28, 2011, 05:30:28 PM »
Is the hot key in in 2.91.01 as it doesn't work for me.


mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,430
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - 2.91.01 - Feb 24, 2011
« Reply #248 on: February 28, 2011, 05:33:26 PM »
will be in next update (actually i think youll find it unofficially in current version if you redownload).

hubi

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - 2.91.01 - Feb 24, 2011
« Reply #249 on: March 05, 2011, 12:01:13 AM »
Mouser, hot key for splice works fine thank you very much  :Thmbsup: !

Still hoping for a tool bar button in the next release. A little odd for me as I am very much a "keyboard shortcut king" (i.e. I like and use them a lot) but then the graphical nature of the program lends itself to using the mouse so hence in this case my strong wish for a tool bar button.