Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 04:26:51 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: WiFi not working - any suggestions, please?  (Read 3374 times)

rjbull

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,927
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
WiFi not working - any suggestions, please?
« on: May 03, 2006, 05:32:44 AM »
I'm in the UK.  I just bought a US Robotics MAXg wireless ADSL gateway plus matching MAXg PC card for my Win98SE laptop, a Thinkpad T22.  The gateway's configuration page says it has an Internet connection, and the right lights are on.  The PC card seems able to see the gateway, and gives a bar graph of link power.  ZoneAlarm Pro knows there's a new network.  Unfortunately, the rest of the computer doesn't believe them.  Browsers don't browse, e-mail clients say they can't connect to the server.  This happens whether I'm using WiFi or a wired connection.

Please, what else do I need to set or change?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: WiFi not working - any suggestions, please?
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2006, 05:45:36 AM »
i cant give specific help but there are several great networking help sites at the middle right of our links page:
http://www.donationc...com/Links/index.html

m_s

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: WiFi not working - any suggestions, please?
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2006, 06:15:57 AM »
I would immediately suspect ZoneAlarm Pro - it has so many options that are there to help, that it can render a machine completely inoperable!  Try turning ZA off temporarily, and see if you can get a connection then.

noth(a)nk.you

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
  • More than meets the eye.
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: WiFi not working - any suggestions, please?
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2006, 07:37:14 AM »
+1 on m_s' comments.

I too run ZA and have had it render my internet useless on several occassions.  If turning it off fixes the problems (as it has for me in the past), you have a good place to look.

PhilKC

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
    • View Profile
    • BlueScreenOfDeath.co.uk
    • Donate to Member
Re: WiFi not working - any suggestions, please?
« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2006, 08:34:35 AM »
Is it *all* of your internet that fails, or just DNS (Which can feel like everything due to almost everything depending on it.)?

PhilKC
It's not a bug, it's an undocumented and unexplainable feature.
Stick it on your site:

rjbull

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,927
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: WiFi not working - any suggestions, please?
« Reply #5 on: May 03, 2006, 08:36:29 AM »
@noth(a)nk.you, m_s: I wondered about ZA and tried turning it off, but no change...

@mouser:  had a quick look at those links a while back, couldn't see anything obvious. 

I hope Google (everyone's friend) may have found me what I needed to know about setting up WiFi networking here Connecting to the Wireless Network in the Regent-Carey Library. (Windows 98, ME)

Now all I have to do is try it...  <sigh>





rjbull

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,927
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: WiFi not working - any suggestions, please?
« Reply #6 on: May 03, 2006, 08:43:22 AM »
Is it *all* of your internet that fails, or just DNS (Which can feel like everything due to almost everything depending on it.)?

I don't know enough to know about the DNS, but, as you'll see from my last post, I hadn't got as far as setting the network up properly.  :-[  I have yet to try it, it's on another PC, but it looks like the right approach.  I really think the manuals should have said something about how to set up networking, and they didn't  >:(

<later>

PhilKC, your extensive Web site is very easy to navigate   8)
« Last Edit: May 03, 2006, 08:47:26 AM by rjbull »