ATTENTION: You are viewing a page formatted for mobile devices; to view the full web page, click HERE.

Main Area and Open Discussion > Living Room

Prenda Law shall troll no more.

(1/5) > >>

40hz:
Well, it happened. And it's enough to start a new thread for...

Today, a cast of characters employed or involved with Prenda Law (a firm we've been discussing here) faced the full wrath of a federal district judge in California over his suspicions of fradulent behavior in bringing cases alleging copyright infringement before his court.

It was a grim morning in the courtroom, in which all those ordered to appear involved invoked their Fifth Amendment right to refuse to answer questions in order to avoid possible self-incrimination. Our good buddy attorney Ken White over at Popehat made this observation (emphasis added):

I'm a criminal defense attorney. I cherish and support the Fifth Amendment. Its invocation here was completely lawful. But its invocation will have catastrophic consequences for the Prenda Law enterprise, which cannot possibly continue. When they appeared today, John Steele, Paul Hansmeier, and Paul Duffy were not merely individuals facing the overwhelming power of the state. They were also officers of the court and, according to the testimony of Brett Gibbs, the very attorneys who directed nationwide litigation for the Prenda Law enterprise. Judge Wright ordered them to answer for the conduct of that enterprise in his court, as he had the right and power to do. Their invocation of their Fifth Amendment rights in the face of that order is utterly unprecedented in my experience as a lawyer. In effect, the responsible lawyers for a law firm conducting litigation before a court have refused to explain that litigation to the court on the grounds that doing so could expose them to criminal prosecution.
--- End quote ---

There's a lot more of interest in Ken's post - so be sure to read his full article here.