Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 02, 2016, 11:59:22 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Sorting menu  (Read 5099 times)

hosinsky

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Sorting menu
« on: April 30, 2006, 03:15:42 AM »
Is there a simple way to change the order of the items in the menus?
I am looking forward to a usable help file.
Saludos
Goran
Canary Islands

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Sorting menu
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2006, 03:34:23 AM »
welcome to the site hosinsky! glad to have you here.

you can use drag+drop of course to re-order things...  but maybe a nice sort option would be nice.

launchbar commander is going to get some improvement very soon.

hosinsky

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Sorting menu
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2006, 12:26:29 PM »
I am trying the drag and drop but I don't seem to be able to use it as I should. For example, I have a submeny with two items and I want to change the order between them. I can drag them out to another
sub menu and then drag them back again. The first one I drag back becomes the first one in the list
displayed. This is ok with two items but if I have 10 items and want to change the place of one it makes
for a rather complicated dragging back and forth. Perhaps I am doing something wrong?

So far I am very happy with the commander. It is wonderful for cleaning up my messy desk.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Sorting menu
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2006, 02:08:33 PM »
I'm not sure I fully understand what you are trying to do and what is not working.

The only thing you can't yet do is drag and drop multiple items at the same time, which I will add later.

But other than that lbc should have some of the best drag+drop in a tree of any program - i spent a lot of time on that.
Here's a demo flash movie showing how to do it - note how you have to move your cursor to the right of an item sometimes to get the above+below markers:

http://www.donationc...mander_DragDemo.html

After you have a look at that maybe you can tell me if it was just not clear how to do something, or if it's still not doing what you need.
« Last Edit: April 30, 2006, 02:12:05 PM by mouser »

hosinsky

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Sorting menu
« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2006, 02:09:42 AM »
Thanks for the demonstration video!

When you move "command 5" up there appears a blue line between the commands, and "command 5" stays in the position of the blue line releasing the button. For me that blue line does not appear, "command 4", "command 3" etc become blue instead (command 5 stays blue). When I get above the  "New Dock" set  (command 5 - command 1 set) the blue line appears and I can drop "command 5" where the blue line is.

I note that when you move "command 6" on the video this blue line does not appear.

I am using version 1.50.01 which I go when I downloaded two days ago. Windows 2000 professional in English, all updates done

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Sorting menu
« Reply #5 on: May 01, 2006, 02:16:31 AM »
i thought that might be the problem you are having.

watch the video again you will notices that the blue line appears when your cursor is off to the right.
that is the key!

hosinsky

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Sorting menu
« Reply #6 on: May 01, 2006, 07:39:07 AM »
Thanks!