Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 04, 2016, 10:28:25 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Screenshot Captor - Error allocating handle: #1 - Network Path Error?  (Read 5419 times)

AlexCrezoff

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2013
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
After I set screenshots storage folder to a network path (or just even to a network disk; path is writable) I get an error
---------------------------
Screenshot Captor
---------------------------
Error allocating handle: #1.
---------------------------
Ok  
---------------------------
when I open main window (with screenshots list)

Error is observed on v3.8.1 portable and v3.24.1 portable
« Last Edit: February 13, 2015, 09:26:53 AM by mouser »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor - Error allocating handle: #1 - Network Path Error?
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2013, 06:23:12 AM »
Hi Alex.

Can you or anyone else shed any more clues on this, like:
  • Is this a problem that has always existed in Screenshot Captor, or only recently?
  • Has anyone else used network paths successfully with Screenshot Captor?


AlexCrezoff

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2013
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor - Error allocating handle: #1 - Network Path Error?
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2013, 06:33:12 AM »
Addition to the error description:
The error is also was observed on v3.0.0
OS is Windows 7

>>Is this a problem that has always existed in Screenshot Captor, or only recently?
I cannot say exactly, I've found this error today when I tried to use a network path on version 3.0.0. Then I upgraded to a stable 3.8.1. After the error observation I've tried beta v3.25.1. With no success. After that I've posted this topic

>>Has anyone else used network paths successfully with Screenshot Captor?
I have no such mates, who are using ScreenshotCaptor )))
I can try to reproduce the error later on my home computer on a virtual machine with WinXP.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor - Error allocating handle: #1 - Network Path Error?
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2013, 06:42:58 AM »
It's sort of strange that this hasn't been reported before, but then I wouldn't be too surprised if no one is trying to save to a network path -- or is using a drive letter mapping to do so.

I may have to send you a debug version if you're willing to test, to see if we can't identify where exactly in the program things might be going wrong..

But it would be nice to first get some confirmation that this error/problem is something that happens for any attempt to use a network path, and not just something about your setup that is causing the problem.

I expect that it's some part of my code that is assuming a path should be to a real drive letter, or else some function call checking for the existence of a file, etc.  BUT I believe that the program should be able to handle network paths for the screenshot directory if i can identify the culprit code causing it to choke.

Anyone else tried to use a network path as their screenshot directory?

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,778
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor - Error allocating handle: #1 - Network Path Error?
« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2013, 07:00:35 AM »
Anyone else tried to use a network path as their screenshot directory?
I'm saving screenshots in my home directory mapped on the network, here at work, and it has worked ever since 2.x, and upto the the latest beta, installed this morning :-[

BGM

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 189
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Hello, all!

I am running Screenshot Captor (version 4.05.00) on an Oracle VM.
But I can't get it to run at all.  
I even deleted my ScreenshotCaptor.ini file.

On startup of the VM, I get the error:
Error allocating handle: #1

Then I get a "Screenshot Captor has stopped working" (with no choice to continue), and I have to push "close program".
- but I get it twice.

Sometimes I get:  
Access violation at address 00000000. Read of address 00000000.

I even uninstalled the program and reinstalled it on the VM.  I just can't get it to work.
-bgmCoder

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
BGM, can you email me (mouser@donationcoder.com) -- I'd like to get you a debug version so we can try to track down why you might be getting such an error.

mmcevil

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor - Error allocating handle: #1 - Network Path Error?
« Reply #7 on: March 10, 2014, 05:03:45 PM »
Hi, same problem here. Uninstalling and reinstalling (and deleting my previous settings) helped though. Local drive works ok. Network drive gives me the error and exits.

mmcevil

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor - Error allocating handle: #1 - Network Path Error?
« Reply #8 on: March 10, 2014, 05:04:48 PM »
Oh, win 7 and your latest 4.8.  Thanks!

nacesprin

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Is there any solution to setup network drives as screenshot directory?

shearerka

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2012
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor - Error allocating handle: #1 - Network Path Error?
« Reply #10 on: February 13, 2015, 08:31:29 AM »
I have gotten this error ever since I have used this program - it has bee four years. It drives me crazy. I also have a network path set up. In the past I got the error if I used the X to close the screen at any point. Now I get it all the time (I just started using a different computer). I can barely use the program. Uninstalling and reinstalling is a definite pain (with the key etc.) but I don't know what else to do.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor - Error allocating handle: #1 - Network Path Error?
« Reply #11 on: February 13, 2015, 08:39:17 AM »
Let's see if we can't fix this.

Can anyone who is experiencing this help me narrow down when exactly the problem happens -- is it just when the program starts if the network drive is not yet mapped? Or are we saying it happens in other cases?  It seems certain that the problem is related to the network path not being "available" -- but the question is under what circumstances does the program get confused.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor - Error allocating handle: #1 - Network Path Error?
« Reply #12 on: February 13, 2015, 09:00:32 AM »
And anyone willing to test a debug version and send me bug reports, email me (mouser@donationcoder.com).

nacesprin

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor - Error allocating handle: #1 - Network Path Error?
« Reply #13 on: February 13, 2015, 09:31:07 AM »
My network drive is mounted before the program starts

Mattes57

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor - Error allocating handle: #1 - Network Path Error?
« Reply #14 on: April 11, 2016, 05:54:35 AM »
For some days now, I get that error. SSC worked fine before. I already re-installed SSC, but I still get that error.
Win7-pro 32bit
I'm NOT using a network path in config. After deleting the INI File, it's working again.
I've attached the Windows Problem Report that was automatically generated, and the old ini file
(Why can't I see the attachments?)
« Last Edit: April 11, 2016, 09:05:01 AM by mouser, Reason: to show attachments »