Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 05, 2016, 06:55:33 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Screenshot Captor 3.28 aka 4.0RC Beta Test - Mar 17, 2013 - Feedback Wanted  (Read 54141 times)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.23 Beta Test - Mar 8, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #175 on: March 10, 2013, 03:51:07 PM »
New version is up.

The big change here is that i've removed the old clipart set, and replaced it with a smaller set of clipart created by DC member App103.  This makes the download a bit smaller, and the old clipart will be downloadable as an Addon pack.  Big thanks to App for her clipart work!

Note that the old clipart directory will be removed by the installer -- if you are using the portable download you can compare and delete your original Clipart\1 directory and some others.

Last call for bug reports!
« Last Edit: March 10, 2013, 04:05:24 PM by mouser »

xcopy

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 76
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.24 Beta Test - Mar 10, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #176 on: March 11, 2013, 03:33:53 AM »
No bug, just a suggestion for the text-at-arrow-feature:

right now the box and the text inherit the color that is set for the line.
As for the box that's ok IMO but to make the text readable on all backgrounds it would be good to have an independent setting for the text color.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.24 Beta Test - Mar 10, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #177 on: March 11, 2013, 03:56:06 AM »
new version up -- in the last version my efforts to allow double-clicking to switch between object+normal mode ended up making it impossible to double-click to edit text boxes :)

xcopy

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 76
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.24 Beta Test - Mar 10, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #178 on: March 11, 2013, 04:07:28 AM »
Just a quick addition: what I wrote of course only makes sense when it would be possible to make the text background transparent. Currently you can just set a better matching background color.

bob99

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 339
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.24 Beta Test - Mar 10, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #179 on: March 11, 2013, 11:47:07 AM »
I'm hoping I'm wrong but it seems I'm seeing problems with captions again.
Testing the latest update today.
What I have placed in the 'Add Caption to Picture' in configuration is displayed. But it is not picking up what is being added from the pop-up prompt.

I've tried just pressing enter after adding something in the short comment line. Also tried by pressing the save and show button.
Same applies using the [...] button.

I'm seeing the info from 'Add Caption to Picture' and that is all in each of the cases.

What additional info can I provide?

bob99

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 339
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.24 Beta Test - Mar 10, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #180 on: March 11, 2013, 12:28:12 PM »
Additional info to my last post.

What I type in the pop-up prompt is being shown in the comment box in the main SC screen. Just isn't showing as a caption with the capture.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.24 Beta Test - Mar 10, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #181 on: March 11, 2013, 01:36:11 PM »
Quote
What I type in the pop-up prompt is being shown in the comment box in the main SC screen. Just isn't showing as a caption with the capture.

There is an option to specify whether what you type in the post-capture popup dialog gets added as a visual caption or just gets added to the comments box at the bottom.  It's on the "Quick Bar and Post Cap" tab of options:

031113_1333_002.png

Can you check that setting?  However if you didn't change it there's no reason it should have stopped working spontaneously.

bob99

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 339
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.24 Beta Test - Mar 10, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #182 on: March 11, 2013, 03:49:23 PM »
It is checkmarked.

SC Test -  009.pngScreenshot Captor 3.28 aka 4.0RC Beta Test - Mar 17, 2013 - Feedback Wanted

It worked fine in 3.23.01. But 3.24.01 is the one that seems to have the problem.
I'm running it on two different laptops. Both Win7. Just tried Ver 3.23.01 again on the one that is running Home Premium (if it makes a difference). It is working fine.
I have Ver 3.24.01 running on a Win7 Pro. It is the one not bringing up the pop-up prompt caption.

Previously on the tests I had been running a portable version in an HD partition I use for portable programs. To see if this might be causing the problem I deleted it and did an install of version 3.24.01. No change.

Here's the other screen relating to captions for the settings I have just in case.
SC Test -  006.pngScreenshot Captor 3.28 aka 4.0RC Beta Test - Mar 17, 2013 - Feedback Wanted

I added something to the default comment line just to see what would show up.


mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.24 Beta Test - Mar 10, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #183 on: March 11, 2013, 03:52:46 PM »
can you should me your "Automatic Captions" tab?

bob99

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 339
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.24 Beta Test - Mar 10, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #184 on: March 11, 2013, 04:28:53 PM »

This is how it was. I had added text.
SC Test -  010.pngScreenshot Captor 3.28 aka 4.0RC Beta Test - Mar 17, 2013 - Feedback Wanted

I went ahead and deleted "%datetime% - 3.24.01 Installed Beta" from the configuration window and then took a shot of the toolbar option.

Here's what I got.
SC Test -  012.pngScreenshot Captor 3.28 aka 4.0RC Beta Test - Mar 17, 2013 - Feedback Wanted

Before selecting save and show I typed in "added caption"
This is how it shows in the main window. Time stamps are the same, "Added caption" not there.
Main capture window 1.PNGScreenshot Captor 3.28 aka 4.0RC Beta Test - Mar 17, 2013 - Feedback Wanted

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.24 Beta Test - Mar 10, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #185 on: March 11, 2013, 05:06:55 PM »
Confusing.  i'm not able to reproduce here.  anyone else?

bubbajunk

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2012
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.24 Beta Test - Mar 10, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #186 on: March 11, 2013, 05:56:28 PM »
I'm getting used to the new feature of autoselecting the last selected object when going from Object Selection back to Normal mode. I'm not sure I like having this always be the default action. I do like the feature to double click to get in/out of Object mode. This seems to be more how I would have expected it to work. Although I seem to be in the habit of trying to always hit the <Esc> key to get out of Object select mode instead of double clicking to get out of the mode.

Not sure if you've answered this before here or not, but when in Object selection mode and you attempt to draw a box around multiple objects to select them, the outline of the box that is drawn on the screen many times looks really funky, not a pure rectangle. As you move the mouse around the objects while holding the left mouse key, the shape even morphs as you go around different objects. It's confusing as I'm not sure if I'm goint to get all the objects selected.

I've captured what I'm talking about in the attached screenshot. See the thin black line that gets drawn on the screen as I try to go from lower left to upper right to select all of the red boxes?

Screenshot - 2013_0311 013.pngScreenshot Captor 3.28 aka 4.0RC Beta Test - Mar 17, 2013 - Feedback Wanted

bob99

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 339
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.24 Beta Test - Mar 10, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #187 on: March 11, 2013, 06:27:49 PM »
Mouser
Up until 3.24.01 all I was downloading to try were portable versions.
Could you provide a link to an install version of 3.23.01?
I'll uninstall 3.24.01 and try it and see if 3.23.01 works. If you think that will help.
And without making any options changes go through step by step and see what happens.
Then uninstall 3.23.01 and re-install 3.24.01 and do the same thing.

Would there be anything different between my portable & install versions that could cause this? One difference from my side is with the install version my captures are being saved to a data files folder I have set-up on a different partition. In my portable tests I've been leaving the captures in the same folder as the portable SC is running from.



mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.24 Beta Test - Mar 10, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #188 on: March 11, 2013, 06:48:44 PM »
portable and installed version, all the same.

bubba, i know exactly what you are talking about regarding the funky black selection when doing object selection.
let me ask though -- it does select the right things when you let go of the mouse right?  it's just the display while dragging is confusing right?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.24 Beta Test - Mar 10, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #189 on: March 11, 2013, 07:17:02 PM »
ps. New version is up with some reorganized menus and a bunch of improved icons from DC member HamRadio.

Defenestration

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
3.25.01 beta
« Reply #190 on: March 11, 2013, 07:26:42 PM »
Couple of comments:

1) I've mentioned it before, but I think the default for "Window Capturing 1->Auto-remove area outside border with alpha less than..." should be 0 rather than 200, so it will capture the shadow when the shadow is present. Otherwise the default is to capture it in a way that is different f4rom what the user can see which seems odd IMO.

2) The thumbnail of the window capture on Prompt after capture, and the image copied to the clipboard (with above setting set to 0) has a black border, whereas the image shown from Save image and show has white border with shadow (which is what's expected)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.24 Beta Test - Mar 10, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #191 on: March 11, 2013, 07:35:46 PM »
I need clarification on #2 -- can you elaborate?

Defenestration

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.24 Beta Test - Mar 10, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #192 on: March 11, 2013, 07:55:42 PM »
I need clarification on #2 -- can you elaborate?
Here are three screengrabs showing what I see on Prompt dialog, clipboard image pasted into Paint, and saved and opened in SC:
Capture1.PNG
Capture2.PNG
Capture3.PNG

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.24 Beta Test - Mar 10, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #193 on: March 11, 2013, 08:06:51 PM »
Right ok, i gotcha -- sometimes a picture really does speak volumes.

I'll make the popup background match main window, IF I CAN.

Actually now that i read you saying the copy-to-clipboard function also has black bars, i'm thinking that i must do the advanced background removal AFTER the post-capture form -- if so then fixing this is more difficult.. and may have to wait for a future version..
« Last Edit: March 11, 2013, 08:14:31 PM by mouser »

Defenestration

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.24 Beta Test - Mar 10, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #194 on: March 11, 2013, 08:09:14 PM »
Indeed. I was just being lazy by not posting them in the first place  ;D

bob99

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 339
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.24 Beta Test - Mar 10, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #195 on: March 11, 2013, 08:46:16 PM »
mouser,

Installed 3.25.01 and all the caption functions are working. I did select clear all the old settings on install. That could have did it. Or could have been operator error in setting (or over setting) options before.
Anyway, thanks again for the hard work and great program.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.24 Beta Test - Mar 10, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #196 on: March 11, 2013, 08:47:11 PM »
I've gotten another report of caption misbehavior in the latest version, so it sounds like i really did break something.. now i just have to figure out how to reproduce the bug..

maybe there is some option that messes things up that is not set on default.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.24 Beta Test - Mar 10, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #197 on: March 11, 2013, 08:51:03 PM »
Right ok, so i think i see part of the problem.  It looks like when you set some text for the caption in the Automatic Captions tab, AND you have SC configure to auto add captions to every capture, it will NOT add your custom typed text to the caption.

By default the text in the Automatic Captions tab includes "%filememo%" which will already include whatever you type in the post capture dialog, so you see it.  But if you change the text there, you will not.

I think i can fix this.

bob99

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 339
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.24 Beta Test - Mar 10, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #198 on: March 11, 2013, 09:14:25 PM »
Right ok, so i think i see part of the problem.  It looks like when you set some text for the caption in the Automatic Captions tab, AND you have SC configure to auto add captions to every capture, it will NOT add your custom typed text to the caption.

By default the text in the Automatic Captions tab includes "%filememo%" which will already include whatever you type in the post capture dialog, so you see it.  But if you change the text there, you will not.

I think i can fix this.

That is what I was doing wrong.
Now I have:
Options >Automatic Captions >Image Caption set to %datetime% \n%filememo%
And when I add something in the pop-up prompt it comes out like this:
SC 3_25_01 Test  - 017.pngScreenshot Captor 3.28 aka 4.0RC Beta Test - Mar 17, 2013 - Feedback Wanted

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.24 Beta Test - Mar 10, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #199 on: March 11, 2013, 09:36:32 PM »
I've uploaded a new version which I hope will fix any caption oddities and handle all cases sensibly.
Let me know if you find any caption stuff not being done properly.