Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 09, 2016, 11:28:03 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Screenshot Captor 3.28 aka 4.0RC Beta Test - Mar 17, 2013 - Feedback Wanted  (Read 54247 times)

bob99

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 339
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.23 Beta Test - Mar 8, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #150 on: March 08, 2013, 12:08:03 PM »
that may not be correct, now mine is doing what yours is, when using both caption options
backspacing the blank lines fixes it

You beat me to it on my response.  :)
I checked and my blend was already at normal.
Backspacing or clicking on the blank line and "Del" works too.

My reasoning at least behind having the ability to use both caption features is I can have a "boilerplate" added to each capture as well as a note specific to the capture. Helps me remember the reason I may have taken the capture.

cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.23 Beta Test - Mar 8, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #151 on: March 08, 2013, 12:19:06 PM »
Quote
Helps me remember the reason I may have taken the capture.

I didn't think of that. Maybe even have the captions searchable.
Perhaps next Version.
Now, I'm waiting for the new release of SC!

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,426
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.23 Beta Test - Mar 8, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #152 on: March 08, 2013, 02:01:27 PM »
ok i've reproduced the double spaced caption bug, whew!  now that i can reproduce it, a fix can't be far off -- stand by.

bob99

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 339
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.23 Beta Test - Mar 8, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #153 on: March 08, 2013, 03:13:41 PM »
Quote
Helps me remember the reason I may have taken the capture.

I didn't think of that. Maybe even have the captions searchable.

That's something I try to do now on occasion. Only thing is it takes some time and a couple of extra programs to get what I'm looking for.
Maybe down the road.

Glad the double spacing could finally be reproduced.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,426
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.23 Beta Test - Mar 8, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #154 on: March 08, 2013, 03:17:00 PM »
New version uploaded that should fix the double-line caption stuff -- thank you guys for helping me track this one down!

bubbajunk

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2012
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.23 Beta Test - Mar 8, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #155 on: March 08, 2013, 03:29:15 PM »
Pulled the latest version and confirmed that the Thumbnail filenames are no longer getting truncated. The filenames and thumbnails appear to be resizing properly as the panel is resized. I noticed that you corrected the "Unselect" popup text to match that in the Edit menu.

Also noticed the addition of the "Apply" button in the Preferences dialog box. I notice that pressing the Apply button, that the dialog appears to be restarted (closed and opened). I like being able to apply the changes without having to re-open the dialog box like it was previously when there was only the option to "Accept". It seems to be working for me so far.

I had a weird one happen two or three times today. After pressing the Shift-PrtScr to capture a region, I have the main form display as my default, but the Preferences box also showed up in front of the screen capture. I don't know if it's becuase I've been doing testing and may have left the Preferences dialog open and not realized it. I'm not yet able to reproduce it consistently, but will let you know if I can.

Will wait to test any of the other ones if you have time to fix before the release.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,426
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.23 Beta Test - Mar 8, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #156 on: March 08, 2013, 07:34:31 PM »
New minor version up with a couple minor fixes, and also one neat new feature -- a new special fx operation that will remove the contents of a selected region and replace it with surrounding colors.

It's surprisingly useful.

Now it's not going to work perfectly all the time -- but i think much of the time it will allow you to very easily remove unwanted text or regions of an image without it looking as obvious as the blur tool looks.

Let me know what you think -- I may try to add some options for the tool later.



My plan is to release this version as an official non-beta on sunday evening / monday morning, barring the discovery of any significant remaining bugs.
« Last Edit: March 08, 2013, 11:32:59 PM by mouser »

bob99

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 339
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.23 Beta Test - Mar 8, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #157 on: March 09, 2013, 08:59:33 AM »
New version uploaded that should fix the double-line caption stuff -- thank you guys for helping me track this one down!

Working like a charm now.  :)
If I haven't before, Thank You  :Thmbsup: for adding this feature to be able to add the secondary caption in the pop-up prompt. It makes commenting the captures much easier now.

I know you are in the squish bugs mode now for the final release so could I add a request for the future?
When adding a caption with the [...] button in the prompt would it be possible to also be able to add the Ctrl-A function for typed text like you have in the comment section of the main window?
This would allow sending this caption to the clipboard, save & hide the pop-up and move on for another capture without opening the main window 1st. Save a few steps when trying to manually capture and comment screens quickly.

Based on lack of response to some other posts I've made on documenting screen shots I must be one of the few or only one trying to do this. Or there are other ways of doing it I haven't figured out yet.  :huh:
None of the other capture programs I've tested have this feature either or even come close to what you are doing now.  :Thmbsup:

Thanks again for your hard work and I'm sure at times a significant amount of hair pulling to make SSC as good as it is!

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,426
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.23 Beta Test - Mar 8, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #158 on: March 09, 2013, 09:08:46 AM »
Quote
Thank You for adding this feature to be able to add the secondary caption in the pop-up prompt. It makes commenting the captures much easier now.

You can thank DC member Cranioscopical for that -- it was his good idea.

Ctrl+A in in caption box shouldn't be hard to add.

bob99

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 339
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.23 Beta Test - Mar 8, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #159 on: March 09, 2013, 09:18:20 AM »
Quote
Thank You for adding this feature to be able to add the secondary caption in the pop-up prompt. It makes commenting the captures much easier now.

You can thank DC member Cranioscopical for that -- it was his good idea.

Ctrl+A in in caption box shouldn't be hard to add.

And a BIG Thank You Cranioscopical also. :greenclp: :greenclp:

cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.23 Beta Test - Mar 8, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #160 on: March 09, 2013, 09:23:43 AM »
Ctrl+A, hm, maybe link SC up with CH&S.
That could create a searchable database.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,426
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.23 Beta Test - Mar 8, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #161 on: March 09, 2013, 09:47:57 AM »
bob, try the new version i just uploaded.
the expanded text edit memo now should support some keyboard shortcuts like Ctrl+A to select all text, as well as Alt+letters to perform some quick actions via buttons, and ctrl+Enter and Escape to accept or reject edits quickly.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,426
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.23 Beta Test - Mar 8, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #162 on: March 09, 2013, 11:08:13 AM »
Another note about the version I just uploaded -- it includes these new improvements:
  • [Improvement] When switching out of object mode, if an object was selected, it's bounding region becomes selected in normal mode; especially useful for applying effects.
  • [Improvement] If user tries to select a region in Object selection mode containing no objects, SC automatically switches to region selection mode and selects region.
  • [Improvement] Double-clicking an object in region-select mode will now switch to object mode and select the object under cursor.

The middle item is the most important one I think.  I know that new users were becoming confused when they found themselves in "object selection mode" after adding an object, and didn't know how to get out and back into normal region selection mode.  Now if you select a region in object mode that has no objects in it, you'll be popped back out to normal selection mode.  I hope this will save new users from some pain.

bob99

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 339
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.23 Beta Test - Mar 8, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #163 on: March 09, 2013, 11:24:47 AM »
bob, try the new version i just uploaded.
the expanded text edit memo now should support some keyboard shortcuts like Ctrl+A to select all text, as well as Alt+letters to perform some quick actions via buttons, and ctrl+Enter and Escape to accept or reject edits quickly.

That is PERFECT! I really like that Ctrl+A both selects AND copies at the same time. And the "To clipboard" button sends the text without selecting anything first.
Haven't been able to locate the Alt+ options yet but will. I'm sure they will be of help.

Thanks for adding this before the release.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,426
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.23 Beta Test - Mar 8, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #164 on: March 09, 2013, 11:32:54 AM »
Quote
Ctrl+A both selects AND copies at the same time
is this true? it shouldn't be.  Ctrl+A should just select all.

bob99

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 339
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.23 Beta Test - Mar 8, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #165 on: March 09, 2013, 11:34:36 AM »
Question...
If I press 'Keep image and show', whether I add a comment or not, the main screen does pop up, but then goes back behind another window. Firefox in this case.
Is this something in SC or my machine? Seems to me focus used to stay on the main SC window instead?

bob99

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 339
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.23 Beta Test - Mar 8, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #166 on: March 09, 2013, 11:39:36 AM »
Quote
Ctrl+A both selects AND copies at the same time
is this true? it shouldn't be.  Ctrl+A should just select all.

It did for me on my 1st test. Just tried again and it didn't???
Let me try a couple of things and I'll report back.

bob99

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 339
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.23 Beta Test - Mar 8, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #167 on: March 09, 2013, 12:36:30 PM »
Quote
Ctrl+A both selects AND copies at the same time
is this true? it shouldn't be.  Ctrl+A should just select all.

It did for me on my 1st test. Just tried again and it didn't???
Let me try a couple of things and I'll report back.


It's not happening with Ctrl+A now. Only with the to clipboard button which is fine. When I Ctrl+A I do get a "ding" sound like a copy is being made but that's it.
I even exited and restarted SC to see if that made a difference.
I must have pressed the to clipboard button before when the text went to the clipboard and thought I hit Ctrl+A. Sorry for the false alarm.  :redface:

I did notice that when typing in the small comment box (not using the [...] pop-up) that if you type something that is longer than the box the text runs under the [...] button and you do not see it. As you type more it will start to scroll again but the last couple of characters remain hidden.

Regarding my post on SC going behind the Firefox window, it isn't happening repeatably. Sometimes the main screen holds and sometimes it goes back behind.
Any suggestions to try?

I need to head out on errands so if you post back it will be an hour or so before I'm back.
   

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,336
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.23 Beta Test - Mar 8, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #168 on: March 09, 2013, 01:21:06 PM »
Another note about the version I just uploaded -- it includes these new improvements:
  • [Improvement] When switching out of object mode, if an object was selected, it's bounding region becomes selected in normal mode; especially useful for applying effects.
  • [Improvement] If user tries to select a region in Object selection mode containing no objects, SC automatically switches to region selection mode and selects region.
  • [Improvement] Double-clicking an object in region-select mode will now switch to object mode and select the object under cursor.

The middle item is the most important one I think.  I know that new users were becoming confused when they found themselves in "object selection mode" after adding an object, and didn't know how to get out and back into normal region selection mode.  Now if you select a region in object mode that has no objects in it, you'll be popped back out to normal selection mode.  I hope this will save new users from some pain.

this sounds very helpful :up:
Tom

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,426
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.23 Beta Test - Mar 8, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #169 on: March 09, 2013, 02:44:24 PM »
New upload:

Quote
I did notice that when typing in the small comment box (not using the [...] pop-up) that if you type something that is longer than the box the text runs under the [...] button and you do not see it. As you type more it will start to scroll again but the last couple of characters remain hidden.

should be fixed now.

Quote
Regarding my post on SC going behind the Firefox window, it isn't happening repeatably. Sometimes the main screen holds and sometimes it goes back behind.
Any suggestions to try?

should be fixed now.

you can also now ctrl+A from the edit box itself (before clicking ... button).

bob99

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 339
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.23 Beta Test - Mar 8, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #170 on: March 09, 2013, 04:13:17 PM »
Both work fine. Thanks.
Look forward to the release ver.

dpoplin

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2013
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.23 Beta Test - Mar 8, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #171 on: March 09, 2013, 04:23:10 PM »
I have been using ScreenShotCaptor for a while now. Overall, I prefer it to SnagIt, which I used for several years. There is one feature in SnagIt that I would love to see in ScreenShotCaptor. When capturing a rectangular region of the screen, SnagIt allows you to use the up, down, left, right arrow keys to adjust your selection point in addition to using your mouse. The arrow keys move the selection point 1 pixel row/column at a time.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,426
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.23 Beta Test - Mar 8, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #172 on: March 09, 2013, 04:32:37 PM »
Hi dpoplin.

Thats an interesting feature that i will try to add to the "Red Box" region capture mode.

But I'll note that Screenshot Captor supports this kind of "nudging" of regions from within the main interface -- not just allowing you to move the region with cursor keys but also grow or shrink it using alt+shift cursor keys.  The nice thing about getting into the habit of first capturing a large region and then selecting and cropping it precisely from the main window is you can easily zoom and undo.

cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.23 Beta Test - Mar 8, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #173 on: March 09, 2013, 06:49:05 PM »
Doing a search with Agent Ransack works for finding captions.
In the results will be the Screenshot with caption.

http://www.mythicsof...ansack&page=home

bob99

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 339
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.23 Beta Test - Mar 8, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #174 on: March 10, 2013, 10:20:57 AM »
Doing a search with Agent Ransack works for finding captions.
In the results will be the Screenshot with caption.

http://www.mythicsof...ansack&page=home

Thank you for this. I've read about Agent Ransack before but hadn't tried it. Just did and it found every caption search test I threw at it. And with the export to clipboard or file I can generate about any type of listing I want. Very nice.