Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 08, 2016, 11:50:42 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Screenshot Captor 3.28 aka 4.0RC Beta Test - Mar 17, 2013 - Feedback Wanted  (Read 54231 times)

cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.20 Beta Test - Mar 3, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #100 on: March 04, 2013, 10:08:22 PM »
Have the latest version.
Double checked to make sure that section of the .ini was deleted.
Here's the shot-

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,421
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.20 Beta Test - Mar 3, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #101 on: March 04, 2013, 10:14:59 PM »
ok i can confirm the problem when using enlarged font setting  :mad:  god i wish i could kill whoever at microsoft came up with that setting.. causes no end to problems..  ok at least i can reproduce and investigate.  i will report.

cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.20 Beta Test - Mar 3, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #102 on: March 04, 2013, 10:15:23 PM »
to be sure I downloaded and installed again
checked reset all settings to default

edit-but didn't delete that part of the .ini, but i see you can reproduce it...

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,421
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.20 Beta Test - Mar 3, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #103 on: March 04, 2013, 10:46:42 PM »
Ok, thanks for your patience.
I've uploaded a new version -- can you give that a try and give me another screenshot?
And also let me know what Operating System you are using.
« Last Edit: March 04, 2013, 11:01:24 PM by mouser »

cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.20 Beta Test - Mar 3, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #104 on: March 04, 2013, 11:20:23 PM »
I'm just glad I can help, thanks for SC!
Ok, this looks better, Thanks.

edit-o yeah, windows 7 32bit

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,421
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.20 Beta Test - Mar 3, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #105 on: March 04, 2013, 11:29:00 PM »
Ok the width is fixed, thats good and the important thing.
I haven't the slightest idea why your form is so tall -- on my windows 7 test i reproduced your width problem when i set the text size larger, but i can't for the life of me get the height problem to reproduce -- the form is normal height on my windows 7 test machine with large text settings..


mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,421
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.20 Beta Test - Mar 3, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #106 on: March 04, 2013, 11:33:41 PM »
Actually, can you re-download yet again and see if the height is fixed now?

cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.20 Beta Test - Mar 3, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #107 on: March 04, 2013, 11:34:14 PM »
You mean the difference between the mini buttons and the others, like settings and capture?
Post a shot of yours if you want to. I've been using greenshot for some of these, like the QCB.

"Actually, can you re-download yet again and see if the height is fixed now?" Yes
« Last Edit: March 05, 2013, 11:53:41 AM by cmpm »

cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.20 Beta Test - Mar 3, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #108 on: March 04, 2013, 11:38:12 PM »
Man, that one is perfect! I like it.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,421
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.20 Beta Test - Mar 3, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #109 on: March 04, 2013, 11:40:28 PM »
That's more like it :)

Thanks for the patience and the testing, I appreciate it.  Now we can get to tracking down the *real* bugs  :P

cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.20 Beta Test - Mar 3, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #110 on: March 04, 2013, 11:40:47 PM »
It actually looks smaller on my screen then that shot....
and that is good!

bubbajunk

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2012
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.20 Beta Test - Mar 3, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #111 on: March 05, 2013, 11:34:48 AM »
Downloaded portable (*.zip) version of v3.21.01. I have been using v3.08.01 for quite some time. Noticed a couple of issues:

1) Settings for Highlighting Rectangle and Text Object not saved between reboots. This was an issue for me in v3.08.01, so I don't think it's related to any recent changes. Settings are saved within a given session, and also saved if I exit and restart SCC, just not saved between reboots of Windows.

2) Filename Template %quickfield% Screenshot - %customdate% %num%, where %customdate% is set to: %Y_%m%d. The first capture does not contain the %num% value in the filename, shows blank (e.g. Screenshot - 2013_0305 .png). Subsequent captures numbered 002, 003, 004, etc. (e.g. Screenshot - 2013_0305 002.png). I expected the first capture to have filename Screenshot - 2013_0305 001.png.

3) Navigating hierarchy in Preferences dialog using arrow keys - Pressing down arrow moves down the list and jumps across sections, as expected. Using the up arrow key moves up, but will not jump across sections. I expected to be able to arrow up between sections. Also, left arrow jumps to the top of list within the section, but does not collapse a section. Expected that using left arrow would highlight the section header and second left arrow would collapse the section. Then arrow up would move cursor to bottom of the prior section. I expected the navigation to work like Windows Explorer.

Other than these, I don't notice any other issues or regressions.
« Last Edit: March 05, 2013, 03:25:41 PM by bubbajunk »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,421
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.20 Beta Test - Mar 3, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #112 on: March 05, 2013, 07:18:04 PM »
I noticed that some recent changes i made to the options form in the way it displayed when main form was not visible were causing some problems with some options editing, so i've uploaded a new version with an attempt to fix that.

bubba:
1. i hope this is just a fluke - SC should be remembering all settings now even across reboots.  Might be on reboot it ran your old install of screenshot captor?

2. %num% tries to replace to a blank string unless it NEEDS to use a number; you can force use of starting value of 001 by using %num0%

3. i'll have a look.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,421
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.20 Beta Test - Mar 3, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #113 on: March 06, 2013, 03:58:07 AM »
bubba, regarding #1 not saving between reboots -- i stand corrected!  i just found and corrected a long-standing bug preventing settings saving on reboot.  thank you for your comment about this.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,421
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.20 Beta Test - Mar 3, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #114 on: March 06, 2013, 04:39:49 AM »
So close to being ready to release.. Just need a few more testers to put it through it's paces and discover any new bugs i've missed!

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,783
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.20 Beta Test - Mar 3, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #115 on: March 06, 2013, 05:19:23 AM »
The Window-title doesn't show the actual directory selected in the browser on the left, as would be expected (by me at least :))

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 677
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.20 Beta Test - Mar 3, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #116 on: March 06, 2013, 09:41:40 AM »
The Window-title doesn't show the actual directory selected in the browser on the left, as would be expected (by me at least :))

1. Cant change folder in the file browser and load a file from it as well.
Carroll - HamRadioUSA.net
« Last Edit: March 06, 2013, 12:28:05 PM by hamradio »

cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.20 Beta Test - Mar 3, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #117 on: March 06, 2013, 10:35:00 AM »

The previous bug of adding a caption and then performing a vertical splice still leaves the caption full sized.
Undoing the changes leaves the image a bit messed up


Same thing is happening with cropping the shot after adding a caption, either in the post capture dialog or using SC's editor.
It seems to open in other editors correctly, sometimes, with the different saves-save, save as new version, and save as. It will work consistently by flattening the shot.
It is still easy to work with as is though.

But I think mouser is going to try to fix it. (sorry mouser)
As you may know by reading this thread.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,421
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.20 Beta Test - Mar 3, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #118 on: March 06, 2013, 10:42:06 AM »
The solution to the caption object being too wide after performing a vertical splice is to not perform a vertical splice after adding a caption. That's a first world problem in the Screenshot Captor universe.  :P




cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.20 Beta Test - Mar 3, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #119 on: March 06, 2013, 10:43:05 AM »
It seems to be working now without clicking any save buttons, I don't know why.
Inside of SC it still shows the full caption bar, opening the shot in any other editor shows the correct cropped shot.

cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.20 Beta Test - Mar 3, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #120 on: March 06, 2013, 10:43:46 AM »
The solution to the caption object being too wide after performing a vertical splice is to not perform a vertical splice after adding a caption. That's a first world problem in the Screenshot Captor universe.  :P





I agree, it will work like that.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,421
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.20 Beta Test - Mar 3, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #121 on: March 06, 2013, 11:12:26 AM »
Quote
The Window-title doesn't show the actual directory selected in the browser on the left

I'm confused as to what you are saying -- the SC window title shows the directory you are currently in or the full path to the current file.  Doesn't it? Shouldn't it?

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 677
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.20 Beta Test - Mar 3, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #122 on: March 06, 2013, 11:55:51 AM »
Quote
The Window-title doesn't show the actual directory selected in the browser on the left

I'm confused as to what you are saying -- the SC window title shows the directory you are currently in or the full path to the current file.  Doesn't it? Shouldn't it?

It does not for me. I switch to say OLDER and it still says the screenshot path and I click on a file and it doesn't load either.  I switch back to the main one and it loads as well.
Carroll - HamRadioUSA.net

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,421
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.20 Beta Test - Mar 3, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #123 on: March 06, 2013, 12:18:41 PM »
ok i see what you mean, changing directories by double clicking folders in the thumbnail panel is no longer actually changing the directory that SC thinks it is in.

cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 3.20 Beta Test - Mar 3, 2013 - Feedback Wanted
« Reply #124 on: March 06, 2013, 12:39:14 PM »
It changes the directory Window Title using the 'GoTo' menu.
if that helps