ATTENTION: You are viewing a page formatted for mobile devices; to view the full web page, click HERE.

Main Area and Open Discussion > General Software Discussion

In search of ... folk who've embedded Google Calendar

(1/1)

barney:
Folk,

Did a quick search here, but nothing seemed relevant.  My sailing instructor friend is trying to embed a Google Calendar (GC) app on his Web site.  Problem is that when I try see it, the colours he used to highlight different classes are not the same as he used on the original calendar.  I have no experience with GC at all - never had need for it.  A Google (naturally  :D) search brings up way too many links - pages and pages.  So, anybody here familiar with this problem/project?

Oh, the reason for the color-coding is that all of a particular type of class is shown in a particular colour - makes viewing multiple months in order to pick out a schedule much easier.  So it needs to be consistent and predictable.

Curt:
maybe he didn't chose web safe colors only?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Web_colors
http://www.techbomb.com/websafe/

barney:
Hm-mm ... don't thimk that's much of an issue anymore.  Websafe colors, depending upon the information source, were developed mostly because of monitor differences or because of rendering/pixel differences 'tween MS/Apple.  Kinda like the meaning of RSS ... depending upon which camp you were in, it stood for Rich Site Summary or for Really Simple Syndication.  In both cases, you'd pick a camp and proclaim that particular outlook  :P.  (Didn't matter to me at the time, as I had - for years! - a 13-inch, 16-color monitor  :(.  I'd upgrade PCs, but monitors were just too damned expensive  :mad:!)

Besides, I'm pretty certain Google would have a handle on such things - after all, if the color didn't work, it wouldn't work anywhere, regardless the source.