Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 05, 2016, 06:36:38 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Homeland Security: Disable UPnP  (Read 7447 times)

app103

  • That scary taskbar girl
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,666
    • View Profile
    • App's Apps
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Homeland Security: Disable UPnP
« Reply #25 on: February 02, 2013, 07:20:18 PM »
Unfortunately, ScanNow requires Java. Kind of ironic to make your system vulnerable one way to find out if you are vulnerable another.  :huh:

Tinman57

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,702
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Homeland Security: Disable UPnP
« Reply #26 on: February 02, 2013, 07:40:47 PM »
(my fiber connection is 40Mb symetrical).

  YOU
Spoiler
DICK!   :P


tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,321
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Homeland Security: Disable UPnP
« Reply #27 on: February 03, 2013, 07:26:08 AM »
Unfortunately, ScanNow requires Java. Kind of ironic to make your system vulnerable one way to find out if you are vulnerable another.  :huh:

is the online router scan enough if you're using a stand-alone machine?
http://upnp-check.rapid7.com/

(I have java uninstalled - a check above gets me "Congratulations! Your router did not respond to a UPnP discovery request.")
Tom

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Homeland Security: Disable UPnP
« Reply #28 on: February 03, 2013, 07:29:42 AM »
is the online router scan enough if you're using a stand-alone machine?
http://upnp-check.rapid7.com/
Seems like they do a server-side check to your WAN IP - so you'll get to see whether your router is exploitable from the intarwebs (which is what really matters), but you won't get notified about other devices on your LAN.
- carpe noctem

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,089
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Homeland Security: Disable UPnP
« Reply #29 on: February 10, 2013, 12:36:33 PM »
How to fix the UPnP security holes Universal Plug and Play has always had security holes. Here's how to plug them. http://www.zdnet.com...ity-holes-7000010584
thanks for that - unfortunately, it sounds like you've got to be pretty much an expert to figure this stuff out :(
-exactly my thought as well. So I wrote Agnitum, because:
Quote from: ZDNet
So what can you do in the meantime? Just keep that firewall up once and for all against UPnP traffic.
We've survived UPnP until now, maybe all this is not extremely urgent... I hope for an answer no later than Monday.

I forgot to post the answer:

Quote from: Agnitum
Your PC is protected by Outpost default rules:
(Settings - Application rules - svchost.exe - Network rules - block UPnP rule (1900 UDP))

Unfortunately,  Outpost  canĀ“t protect routers as it protects only the PC where the product is installed.