ATTENTION: You are viewing a page formatted for mobile devices; to view the full web page, click HERE.

Other Software > Developer's Corner

Extract text PDF using AHK

(1/2) > >>

weedseed85:
Dear Developer's,

Might i please ask for your help.

(My English writing skills are very... disappointing, bud i think i can make myself clear. If not please ask. Thank you)

I really would like to create a script, with the help of AHK Hotkey. perhaps i will be in need of some external software, so be it.
My primary objective is to create a, "closed" kind, A script that does not need anny more input than i already gave it.

I would like to write or create a script that retries the text from a searchable PDF file and return me the output from the "search".

I was thinking about, the script / program, extracting all the available text from the PDF, putting it in a txt file and with the help of AHK I could
search or retrieve the text i need.

I have limited knowledge of AHK, But I've created some before so I'm not a complete noob. Besides I know where to find the AHK help documentary

Any suggestion is fine, and will help me getting closer to my goal.

Thanks is advance.

Greets,
Michel

4wd:
This might get you started, it's an AutoIt thread with source code provided so shouldn't be too hard to convert to AutoHK or just leave and modify to do what you want:

Search PDF files for specific word and delete them

It uses pdftotext.exe, (part of Xpdf distribution), to convert the PDF before searching, naturally you don't need the delete part of it - you could just change that to output a list of found files.

Code reproduced below, not tested by me, (although I'm thinking this might be something useful....hhmm...off to the Bat Cave  :) ).