Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 09, 2016, 03:19:19 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Spider Oak Purge  (Read 5182 times)

CleverCat

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,158
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Spider Oak Purge
« on: January 07, 2013, 02:11:38 AM »
I copied this of Spider Oak Website as a shortcut to purge versions:

Quote
c:\\"Program Files (x86)"\\SpiderOak\\SpiderOak.exe --purge-historical-versions d60

The command box says "cannot find path specified"

Their response:
Quote
It appears that you added some extra backslashes. Please try entering the command exactly as you see it here:

c:\"Program Files (x86)"\SpiderOak\SpiderOak.exe --purge-historical-versions d60

Please let me know if you have any additional questions or concerns.

Neither command works?

Any ideas?  :tellme:

4wd

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,475
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Spider Oak Purge
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2013, 02:48:16 AM »
Should be quotes around the whole path\program:

"c:\Program Files (x86)\SpiderOak\SpiderOak.exe" --purge-historical-versions d60

or

c:\progra~2\SpiderOak\SpiderOak.exe --purge-historical-versions d60

should work if you haven't fiddled with any registry entries :)
« Last Edit: January 07, 2013, 02:54:13 AM by 4wd »

CleverCat

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,158
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Spider Oak Purge
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2013, 03:02:22 AM »
Hi 4wd  :D

Neither of those works either  :(

My data is stored on D drive and I tried that too - no luck... :huh:


4wd

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,475
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Spider Oak Purge
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2013, 03:46:29 AM »
Silly question but the path and program do exist don't they?

Otherwise, open a command prompt and try the commands in italics:

C:\>cd \progra~2\spideroak

C:\PROGRA~2\SpiderOak>spideroak.exe --purge-historical-versions d60

C:\PROGRA~2\SpiderOak>batchmode run complete: shutting down        <---- response after a minute or so


Another silly question: You are running Windows 7 x64, right ?

If you aren't, then it's just:

"C:\Program Files\SpiderOak\SpiderOak.exe" --purge-historical-versions d60

or

c:\progra~1\SpiderOak\SpiderOak.exe --purge-historical-versions d60
« Last Edit: January 07, 2013, 03:59:53 AM by 4wd »

CleverCat

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,158
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Spider Oak Purge
« Reply #4 on: January 07, 2013, 04:30:59 AM »
Running Win7 32bit.....

Here what just happened:

Quote
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

C:\Windows\System32>"C:\Program Files\SpiderOak\SpiderOak.exe" --purge-historica
l-versions d60

C:\Windows\System32>"C:\Program Files\SpiderOak\SpiderOak.exe" --purge-historica
l-versions d60

C:\Windows\System32>c:\progra~1\SpiderOak\SpiderOak.exe --purge-historical-versi
ons d60

C:\Windows\System32>batchmode run complete: shutting down

 :-\

4wd

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,475
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Spider Oak Purge
« Reply #5 on: January 07, 2013, 04:41:23 AM »
Sorted!

 ;)

CleverCat

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,158
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Spider Oak Purge
« Reply #6 on: January 07, 2013, 04:43:03 AM »
Just doing: C:\"Program Files"\SpiderOak\SpiderOak.exe --destroy-shelved-x

I find this works when changing things in Spider Oak then I do 'repair' command - running now then I'll run Spider Oak - hold thumbs... ;D

No di dice - all versions still there! Drat and double drat.... :(

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,092
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Spider Oak Purge
« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2013, 07:28:57 PM »
I know nothing to answer your question, but I have a few for you! It is one of their free 2GB accounts, yes? I think their prices are ridiculous; if I backed up to their system, my price would be at least $600 per year (for 600GB), instead of the $60 I have been paying ($5 per month) for unlimited space!!

What I really wanted to ask is, what is your upload speed? The reason I now have ditched the aforementioned $60 solution was because of an insulting low (lack of) upload speed available, (measured in kilobytes!); it would take me a year to upload 1TB! - thus killing the very meaning of the word "backup" - so I am in the market for a better solution.
« Last Edit: January 10, 2013, 03:58:50 PM by Curt »

CleverCat

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,158
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Spider Oak Purge
« Reply #8 on: January 09, 2013, 02:37:27 AM »
Curt I have the Free Account but have 7GB due to referrals, invites etc.

My upload speed varies from around 40 - 80 kbps and I only backup important files!

I'm liaising with Spider Oak to try and sort the purging issue. 4wd's command worked, but when I open the GUI the versions are still there!  :huh:

4wd

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,475
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Spider Oak Purge
« Reply #9 on: January 09, 2013, 03:54:58 AM »
I'm liaising with Spider Oak to try and sort the purging issue.

What happens if you try the specific example they have ?

--purge-historical-versions d60,m6,y

CleverCat

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,158
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Spider Oak Purge
« Reply #10 on: January 11, 2013, 03:57:19 AM »
Works but still hasn't purged from GUI...

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Spider Oak Purge
« Reply #11 on: February 12, 2014, 06:11:52 AM »
I'm not sure if this related - historical version are stored online, arent they?

Anyways, dont think this worthy of a new thread so I'll chance posting here:

until recently I had the original SpiderOak software installed, from sometime in 2012 I think (sorry I didnt keep the version number).
This older version didnt prompt to update, so I didnt :-[

Short version of events:
I discovered a ~27GB file in Users\Roaming:
C:\Users\*****\AppData\Roaming\SpiderOak\tss_external_blocks_snapshot.db\00000007

Apparently this is resolved in more recent versions of their software, (which also prompt to update!)
I deleted the file manually after upgrading. Everything fine now...
Tom

CleverCat

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,158
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Spider Oak Purge
« Reply #12 on: February 28, 2014, 01:35:36 AM »
Those files are very small on my system... I'm up to date though!  :Thmbsup:

CleverCat

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,158
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Spider Oak Purge
« Reply #13 on: February 28, 2014, 01:38:10 AM »
I now just delete manually as there is no provision and not likely to be for only keeping X amount of versions...

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Spider Oak Purge
« Reply #14 on: February 28, 2014, 03:53:27 AM »
I didnt even realise (or had forgotten) that Spider Oak keeps older versions.

According to this help pdf:

Historical Versions
[...]
3: Documents that have historical versions saved will be followed by a number in paren-
theses which indicates how many historical versions SpiderOak has saved For example:
file.doc (3)
-
now I'm confused:

1) when I look (online) I see the files backed up (and up-to-date) - but none of them have a number in brackets after them - even though I've been working intensively on some of them lately.
2) I cant even see my files locally in the installed software - I can only see folders...

I've looked through preferences and find no reference to historical versions. I will have to have a closer look at their help files.

I'm not relying on SpiderOak for this, but OTOH it's no harm having it.
Tom

CleverCat

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,158
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Spider Oak Purge
« Reply #15 on: March 01, 2014, 04:06:21 AM »
If you open Spider Oak on your Desktop, you then go to the View tab then find the folder you want, you'll see a small arrow and if you click that you'll find the versions (if you have changed the file) in brackets!

Then if you click on the file you'll see them listed as per my 2nd pic...

Hope this helps!

Capture 1.JPG

Capture 2.JPG
« Last Edit: March 01, 2014, 04:15:00 AM by CleverCat »

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Spider Oak Purge
« Reply #16 on: March 01, 2014, 05:02:56 AM »
If you open Spider Oak on your Desktop, you then go to the View tab then find the folder you want, you'll see a small arrow and if you click that you'll find the versions (if you have changed the file) in brackets!

Then if you click on the file you'll see them listed as per my 2nd pic...
[...]
Hope this helps!

thanks CleverCat!
unfortunately it doesnt look like that here (Win7 x64, no files show). But Spider Oak was acting a little funny this session - I'll see if it's working after a reboot later today.
If not I'll contact SpiderOak about it,
thanks again :up:
Tom

CleverCat

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,158
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Spider Oak Purge
« Reply #17 on: March 03, 2014, 04:07:43 AM »
Funny? I have Win 7 x86 or 32bit...

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Spider Oak Purge
« Reply #18 on: March 03, 2014, 08:41:08 AM »
^same problem after rebooting - no files at all showing, only folders. I get the little arrow to indicate content but nothing shows when I click it. So, looks like I got me a bug to report :-)
Tom

CleverCat

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,158
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Spider Oak Purge
« Reply #19 on: March 08, 2014, 04:16:20 AM »
I've always had a quick response from SpiderOak - hope you do...