Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 07, 2016, 10:13:43 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: trying to print with Screen Captor to no avail  (Read 1971 times)

rcb13

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
trying to print with Screen Captor to no avail
« on: January 06, 2013, 08:49:31 AM »
Hello,
  I am back with same general problem. Printer will work on all applications except Screen Captor. If I pick the printer icon, I get this message, "Printer selected not valid". If I choose "file, print screenshot", I get this message, "Operation not supported on selected printer". Can I not print directly from Screen Captor screen or must I save to clipboard or notepad first? I hope not.
How do I "select printer"?
I am running windows 8 and using a Lexmark X6575 AIO. Printer works fine for all other applications.
Please advise.
Thanks
rcb13

x16wda

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 679
  • what am I doing in this handbasket?
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: trying to print with Screen Captor to no avail
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2013, 12:06:35 PM »
Works fine on my Win 8 machine with a Lexmark x7675 AOI.  After you click File, Print Screenshot, click the Print Setup... button in the middle and you can select a printer and settings in the normal dialog.
vi vi vi - editor of the beast

rcb13

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: trying to print with Screen Captor to no avail
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2013, 12:58:13 PM »
I am not given that screen to pick a printer. After picking 'print screenshot" it goes right to the error message. It is as though something did not get loaded at setup.
rcb13

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,411
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: trying to print with Screen Captor to no avail
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2013, 01:15:30 PM »
Hi rcb, it definitely sounds like a bug in screenshot captor -- give me a day or two and i will have a new build and try to fix the problem.

From what x16wda says, it's clear that it's not a general windows 8 problem, so it should be simple -- it sounds like it's something as simple as Screenshot Captor having an issue with a default printer or previous printer set..

One thing you might try if you feel like it, is to exit Screenshot Captor, then find and delete the screenshot captor settings file which will be under your documents folder, under DonationCoder\ScreenshotCaptor\ScreenshotCaptor.ini

And lastly, if you go to your windows control panel for Printers, can you check if you have your printer set as the Default printer?

rcb13

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: trying to print with Screen Captor to no avail
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2013, 01:43:00 PM »
Printer is set as default printer. I do not see a .ini file where you said to look.
rcb13

x16wda

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 679
  • what am I doing in this handbasket?
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: trying to print with Screen Captor to no avail
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2013, 03:17:52 PM »
Right click on the Screenshot Captor icon in the tray and choose Explore at Screenshot Directory, then go up one level and you should see the .ini file.
vi vi vi - editor of the beast

rcb13

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: trying to print with Screen Captor to no avail
« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2013, 03:30:05 PM »
Sorry, no .ini file going this route either. I have one file labeled "Screenshot captor notepad". No file labeled .ini .
rcb13