Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 08:37:44 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: calculator  (Read 2212 times)

honwahp

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
calculator
« on: December 20, 2012, 06:04:40 AM »
What should I type in FARR to launch the built-in Windows calculator? Thanks.

ewemoa

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 2,845
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: calculator
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2012, 06:10:27 AM »
For Windows 7, I typed:

  calc

The first results was:

  Calculator.lnk

Launching that brought up (what I think is) the built-in Windows calculator.

Don't know about other versions of Windows.

honwahp

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: calculator
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2012, 06:12:59 AM »
I am using XP and "calc" doesn't bring up the Windows calculator in the list of results.. >:(

ewemoa

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 2,845
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: calculator
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2012, 06:16:28 AM »
Hmm...I just tried via a VirtualBox installation of XP and it worked here.

Don't know if this will help, but in:

  FARR Options ->
    Lists ->
      Search Folders

If I don't have %COMMONSTARTMENU% in the list and enabled, it doesn't work for me either.

honwahp

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: calculator
« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2012, 06:22:47 AM »
Thanks for the response but I have %COMMONSTARTMENU% checked and unchecked.  In both cases "calc" doesn't give me access to the Windows calculator. :(

ewemoa

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 2,845
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: calculator
« Reply #5 on: December 20, 2012, 06:27:16 AM »
Hmm...

As an alternative, I tried the following:

  • Add %windir%\system32 to Search Folders
  • Enable it

Does that work for you?



With %COMMONSTARTMENU% enabled here as well, I need to type:

  calc.exe

for it to work.

honwahp

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: calculator
« Reply #6 on: December 20, 2012, 06:32:04 AM »
Thanks for the suggestion but I have found a solution.  I need to create a shortcut to the Windows calculator on the Desktop first.  (http://windowstipoft...dows-calculator.html ) Then when I type "calc" it is the first in the list of results.  :D

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,434
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: calculator
« Reply #7 on: December 20, 2012, 06:39:28 AM »
The first question you need to ask is, is the calculator in your start menu somewhere?

i guess you just answered my question with your latest post -- seems the calculator is not in your start menu at all.. Microsoft hiding it?

honwahp

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: calculator
« Reply #8 on: December 20, 2012, 08:55:42 AM »
@ewemoa : Your method also works!  (I just deleted the desktop shortcut and tried your method) Calc.exe comes up second in the list of results.   :Thmbsup:

honwahp

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: calculator
« Reply #9 on: December 20, 2012, 09:02:42 AM »
@mouser :  I don't know... ;)  I am running Chinese Windows XP Home sp3

honwahp

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: calculator
« Reply #10 on: December 20, 2012, 09:27:46 AM »
I just discovered that I can type the Chinese name for calculator in FARR (actually the first Chinese character is enough) and the link for calculator shows up :-*