Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 04, 2016, 06:33:29 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Feature Request: Default Zoom Level - Let User Set Preference  (Read 1983 times)

Default300

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Feature Request: Default Zoom Level - Let User Set Preference
« on: October 29, 2012, 08:30:27 AM »
My preferred zoom level is "100%" (even if I cannot view the entire image).

However, Screenshot Captor appears to reset its zoom level to "Fit" each time it is executed.

Could you please consider giving the user control over that setting (ie give an option to set and remember the default zoom level).

Thanks

(If relevant, I'm using v3.03.01, but am about to install v3.08.01)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Feature Request: Default Zoom Level - Let User Set Preference
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2012, 10:57:47 AM »
Hmm, it *should* remember the 100% setting and stay at 100% until you specifically check the "AutoFit" checkbox..

Default300

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Feature Request: Default Zoom Level - Let User Set Preference
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2012, 01:18:17 PM »
Hi Mouser.  Thanks for your reply.

Good news...  It's working now by a happy accident on my part.

The setting is retained if:

  • I make the desired change.
  • I exit the program (not just close the window which minimises it to the system tray in my case).

It is retained when program is manually restarted.
It is retained when program is automatically restarted with Windows, following a reboot.

The setting is not retained if:

  • If I just close the window (ie minimise it to the system tray).

It is retained while the program is still running in the system tray.
It is not retained when program is automatically restarted with Windows, following a reboot.


Unfortunately, this was the first time in 4 years that I changed the setting and exited the program!

Perhaps, an explicit save option could be introduced:
eg a check box to the left of the zoom settings in the main UI
or better might be to include it as a setting in Preferences / Interface Options 1

Thanks for creating and maintaining this very useful program.

If relevant:
My current OS is Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
But I had the same issue with my previous PC (running XP Home SP3)
Since the last post, I also updated to the latest version of Screenshot Captor (v3.08.01)


Default300

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Feature Request: Default Zoom Level - Let User Set Preference
« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2012, 01:24:48 PM »
PS:  [Off Topic]  If you are a cat fan, you may like this youtube video entitled "Cat Alarm Clock:)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Feature Request: Default Zoom Level - Let User Set Preference
« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2012, 01:30:44 PM »
Ha! funny video -- I think I've seen it before but it's still funny.

Ok so it seems like the problem you are experiencing is actually a more general one, that the settings are not being saved when the computer reboots.  That's not good.  Can you check in the options on the first General Settings tab and make sure you dont have the checkbox checked labeled "Skip saving settings on logoff or system shutdown", and uncheck that if so.

If that box isn't checked, let me know so I know I've got a bug to solve.

Default300

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Feature Request: Default Zoom Level - Let User Set Preference
« Reply #5 on: November 03, 2012, 01:47:12 PM »
Hi again.

The setting you mentioned is unchecked.

The other three on the General Tab are checked.

Sorry for the bad news!

Cheers.