Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 11, 2017, 04:40 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: NANY 2013 Release: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)  (Read 23069 times)

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 3,080
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 EARLY BETA: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #25 on: November 25, 2012, 04:47 AM »
I am also still fiddling with a easy way make it only one instance on demand.
Usual workflow:
ReadConfigParameter();
If (SingleInstance) {
  if (!CreateExclusiveMutex() {
    ActivateExisitingInstance();
  }
}

Arizona Hot

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 2,190
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 EARLY BETA: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #26 on: December 03, 2012, 02:02 AM »
If I step on this program, is it easy to scrape off my shoe?

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 722
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 Release: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #27 on: December 31, 2012, 04:12 PM »
Updated and removed the single instance for now as got sinus crud and never felt like programming much on it.  This will be the last release for NANY unless any other major bugs found.  Will work on it more after I get better and in the new year. :)
Carroll - HamRadioUSA.net

kyrathaba

  • N.A.N.Y. Organizer
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 3,124
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 Release: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #28 on: January 01, 2013, 01:10 PM »
Nice, hamradio!  :up:

ConstanceJill

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 109
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 Release: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #29 on: January 02, 2013, 03:38 AM »
Thanks for the update ^_^
Happy new year, by the way. Take good care of yourself :]

DougalS

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 Release: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #30 on: January 12, 2013, 04:06 AM »
Not sure if I missed it, but is it possible for the commands to run in an existing console window? This would be a great tool to create custom unix commands to run in a Putty console. I am an old DOS user and still have trouble with converting from Windows/DOS to Unix, with this I could save the commands I can never remember and access them with the click of a button!
Cheers

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 722
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 Release: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #31 on: January 12, 2013, 01:23 PM »
Right now it uses cmd.exe to do its launching as was needed for what ConstanceJill was wanting.  I may make a option that can be toggled at some point that redirects it to a specified window as specified in the options as well that will find and send the text to a window instead of through cmd.exe.
Carroll - HamRadioUSA.net

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 3,080
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 Release: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #32 on: January 12, 2013, 01:38 PM »
This would be a great tool to create custom unix commands to run in a Putty console.
Wouldn't a decent clip-board manager be a better solution for that?

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 722
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Program updated...found a few minor bugs no one found/reported. Now for what's new...Added the ability of the add/edit dialog when picking your icon if it is found that the icon is in the application directory or sub directory of the application directory that it will replace the application directory part with "<appdir>", so that you don't have to yourself.

Been trying to work on some of my applications as I get time. :)
Carroll - HamRadioUSA.net

ConstanceJill

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 109
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Hello there and thanks for the update :]

I think I noticed some minor (one could qualify it of "cosmetic") issue with the new version though: it seems that, when launching a GUI driven command (such as mstsc for example), the CMD window stays open until either the user closes it himself, or the program which it launched is closed.

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 722
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
I am not saying it isn't happening, but I can't get it to reproduce here.  So I can't debug since it isn't doing that here.  So me be confused...Does it do it with a web browser as well on your end?  Trying to think of something I can test it with without affecting system settings.
Carroll - HamRadioUSA.net

ConstanceJill

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 109
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Hi again :)

Yes, it also does it when the command/program to be launched is Firefox.
Tried it on 2 computers at my work, one running Windows 7 x64 and the other one running Windows XP.

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 722
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
For firefox it might be a regression of this bug...

https://bugzilla.moz...ow_bug.cgi?id=787313

So perhaps some stuff is now forcing it it to stay open whether or not the button property "Keep Command Window Open" is checked and if thats the case I doubt I can do anything as close the window and it closes the application most likely.
Carroll - HamRadioUSA.net

ConstanceJill

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 109
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 Release: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #38 on: December 05, 2017, 05:40 AM »
Hello there :]

I've kept using this program every day at my workplace since it was made, and it works great, however there's a minor thing that's been bugging me for a while, so I thought I'd finally bring it up to see if that behaviour can be changed. It may just be me "misusing" the tool, but I thought I'd ask anyway :p

The thing is, I often need to copy the hostname of my current "target" computer from the "Variable" field so I can paste it into my browser to create a support ticket. So what I do is I usually double click the contents of the field to select it, and press Ctrl V. However, I often move the cursor away from the field before pressing Ctrl V, and I noticed that, if my cursor hovers any of the buttons (except the one at the bottom right in the status bar), then the text from the Variable field gets deselected (which then prevents from copying it).

Now, the obvious solution to that problem is that I shouldn't move the cursor away before pressing Ctrl V, but still, would it be possible to modify the program in such a way that having the cursor hover buttons doesn't deselect the text?

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 722
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 Release: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #39 on: December 05, 2017, 07:49 AM »
Hello there :]

I've kept using this program every day at my workplace since it was made, and it works great, however there's a minor thing that's been bugging me for a while, so I thought I'd finally bring it up to see if that behaviour can be changed. It may just be me "misusing" the tool, but I thought I'd ask anyway :p

The thing is, I often need to copy the hostname of my current "target" computer from the "Variable" field so I can paste it into my browser to create a support ticket. So what I do is I usually double click the contents of the field to select it, and press Ctrl V. However, I often move the cursor away from the field before pressing Ctrl V, and I noticed that, if my cursor hovers any of the buttons (except the one at the bottom right in the status bar), then the text from the Variable field gets deselected (which then prevents from copying it).

Now, the obvious solution to that problem is that I shouldn't move the cursor away before pressing Ctrl V, but still, would it be possible to modify the program in such a way that having the cursor hover buttons doesn't deselect the text?

Okay, will see if I can work it out to where it will select the previous selected text as I had to do some code to workaround the buttons in that toolbar so that they would show the hover style when hovering all the time which appears to be affecting it.  It might take me a day or two to get time to look at it, but I will. :)
Carroll - HamRadioUSA.net

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 722
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 Release: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #40 on: December 05, 2017, 05:25 PM »
Recommended Update v1.0.151 build 1

1. Fixes issue of losing the selection when hovering over the toolbar buttons.

As I like to say always backup before copying over the new executable file.

See first post of topic for download link. Thanks for finally reporting it ConstanceJill. :)
Carroll - HamRadioUSA.net
« Last Edit: December 05, 2017, 05:40 PM by hamradio »

ConstanceJill

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 109
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 Release: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #41 on: December 06, 2017, 02:28 PM »
That was quick! Thanks a lot \o/

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 722
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 Release: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #42 on: December 06, 2017, 04:53 PM »
That was quick! Thanks a lot \o/

You're very welcome. :) :Thmbsup:
Carroll - HamRadioUSA.net