Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 04:56:08 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: NANY 2013 Release: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)  (Read 19403 times)

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 677
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
NANY 2013 Release Information

Application Name Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
Version 1.0.150 build 1
Short Description Build a windows command line launcher that can be used to do remote work from your computer as well as having local buttons.
Supported OSes Tested on Windows 7 64 bit. (Let me know which other windows it works on.)
Web Page http://carrolld.dcmembers.com/downloads.php <- Not added to there yet.
Download Link Customizable Remote Administration Panel - (from carrolld.dcmembers.com)
License USE/MISUSE AT YOUR OWN RISK! NO WARRANTY OF ANY KIND! Do not distribute on the web publicly, instead link to this topic.
System Requirements
  • .NET Framework 4.0 Client Profile
  • Obviously a computer...
Version History
  • 1.0.150 build 1 - Current Version
  • 1.0.99 build 1
  • 1.0.89 build 1
  • 1.0.75 build 1
  • 1.0.50 build 1
  • 1.0.25 build 2
  • 1.0.25 build 1
  • 1.0.20 build 1
  • 1.0.0 build 1
Author hamradio


Description
Build a windows command line launcher that can be used to do remote work from your computer as well as having local buttons.   You should be able to use this as well on portable devices as long as the computer you intend to use it on has .NET 4.0 Client Profile.

Features
Portable enabled.
Allows separators.
Variable history.
Add/Delete variable favorites.
Allows some macros to be inserted where a path should go. (Usable in image path, command prefix and suffix.) (e.g. <appdir> for application directory and a few others.)

Screenshots

The main window with some buttons added...(as of 1.0.75 build 1)
screen_11082012_001.png

The button editor.(as of 1.0.75 build 1)
screen_11082012_002.png

The button editor add/edit dialog. (Note: Add button dialog shown and the copy/edit button dialog is the same except a few changes.)(as of 1.0.75 build 1)
screen_11082012_003.png

The quick button add/copy/edit/delete context menu when right clicking a button object...(as of 1.0.75 build 1)
screen_11082012_004.png


The preferences submenu...(Note the new split feature which will take variable and favorites back to two lines if preferred over the single line style) (as of 1.0.75 build 1)
screen_11082012_005.png

Usage

Installation
Extract to a portable folder of its own and run. (Note: Do not put in the program files folder or other system folder and make sure to extract it with folder structure intact.)

Using the Application
Setup your custom buttons and start using em when needed.

Quick Tips
  • You can use \n in the button caption for a new line.
  • You can also use Separator as the button caption to add a separator instead of a button in which case nothing else needs to be entered into the add dialog.
  • You can also use Linebreak as the button caption to add a line break instead of a button in which case nothing else needs to be entered into the add dialog.
    The linebreak feature was made possible by switching to buttons in the flowlayoutpanel version starting with version 1.0.50 build 1.

Help File
Please note that the help file is not done.

Uninstallation
Just delete the CRAP application folder.

Known Issues
Currently do not know of any.
Carroll - HamRadioUSA.net
« Last Edit: June 04, 2013, 02:06:32 PM by hamradio, Reason: Changed version number (program updated)... »

TaoPhoenix

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • Posts: 4,550
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 EARLY BETA: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2012, 03:08:00 PM »
I giggle when developers purposely include silly acronyms.  :up:

I'll leave it to my betters for actual testing : )

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,070
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 EARLY BETA: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2012, 05:39:29 PM »
Can you clarify what kind of remote work you are planning on having this do?  Is it like a remote desktop program?  Thanks.

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,789
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 EARLY BETA: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2012, 05:44:56 PM »
Can you clarify what kind of remote work you are planning on having this do?  Is it like a remote desktop program?  Thanks.
1 of 3 solutions for this Coding Snack Request ;D

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 677
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 EARLY BETA: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2012, 09:58:44 PM »
Thank you Ath. ;D
Carroll - HamRadioUSA.net

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 677
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 EARLY BETA: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #5 on: October 25, 2012, 11:57:44 AM »
 - the tooltip displayed when mouse is over a button seems to have an unnecessary empty line at the beginning : Should be fixed let me know if not.
(Note: You can add your own custom fixed text to the tooltip as well and it will still show the other information as well below your text.)

 - also, the tooltip includes a line saying whether or not variable is ignored : removed as requested.
 - while the "&" character is now properly displayed in the status bar, it appears doubled in the mouse over tooltip : fixed.
 - would it be possible to let the custom and settings files have the xml extension instead of dat, since they appear to be xml ? :] : fixed.
Carroll - HamRadioUSA.net
« Last Edit: October 25, 2012, 12:07:00 PM by hamradio, Reason: Added note... »

ConstanceJill

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 EARLY BETA: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #6 on: October 25, 2012, 01:14:30 PM »
Thanks a lot again :}

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 677
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Carroll - HamRadioUSA.net

ConstanceJill

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 EARLY BETA: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #8 on: October 25, 2012, 01:57:40 PM »
Hmm as I've posted on my last message on the original thread, it looks like this new version is broken :'( : whichever button I click, it just opens a cmd.exe window in the directory where the program's exe is.

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 677
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 EARLY BETA: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #9 on: October 25, 2012, 04:48:28 PM »
Should be fixed sorry about that had to go do a few things away from computer.  Try now should be fixed.  :)
Carroll - HamRadioUSA.net

ConstanceJill

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 EARLY BETA: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #10 on: October 26, 2012, 01:12:17 AM »
Yup, it works just fine now :}

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 677
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 EARLY BETA: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #11 on: October 30, 2012, 02:40:13 PM »
I have switched from a ToolStrip with a flow layout to a FlowLayoutPanel with buttons.  The reason being is I noticed the ToolStrip was not adding a scrollbar if buttons overflowed, the flowlayoutpanel adds a scrollbar if it does.  Please back up the button data before trying it, but it should still look pretty much the same and act the same.  I have also added a copy button context menu item and menu item in the button editor that will allow you to copy the data from a button for adding a new button in case some stuff is just minor changes to the command.  I have also added the option to enable/disable balloon tooltips for the buttons instead of the rectangular style. Also, some of the menu items have moved into a sub menu to keep the items menu cleaner. Finally, I have rewrote some of the code to make it a little leaner and cleaner, so please test to see if it still works as it should for you.

:)
Carroll - HamRadioUSA.net

ConstanceJill

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 EARLY BETA: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #12 on: October 31, 2012, 10:52:33 AM »
Thanks, will do next week as I'm currently on vacation ^_^

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 677
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 EARLY BETA: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #13 on: November 08, 2012, 09:59:47 AM »
Hope you had a good vacation and I did a update to have the variable and favorites on one line by default, but you can take it back to two lines if preferred over the one line style in the preferences. :) As always let me know if you see any glaring bugs that I missed.
Carroll - HamRadioUSA.net

ConstanceJill

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 EARLY BETA: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #14 on: November 09, 2012, 01:22:18 PM »
Well I've been using it this week and it works pretty fine :}
I've been thinking however, that an option to restrict the number of instances of the program to 1 may be a nice addition, if it can be done.

ConstanceJill

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 EARLY BETA: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #15 on: November 13, 2012, 06:17:51 AM »
Hello there .o/

Hmm I think I found a minor interface issue in version 1.0.75 build 1 : if one opens the program window and sets it in any way where there is no vertical scrollbar, then reduces the application to taskbar by clicking its button, and restores the window by clicking the taskbar button again, then a vertical scrollbar appears.

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 677
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 EARLY BETA: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #16 on: November 13, 2012, 01:52:45 PM »
Hello there .o/

Hmm I think I found a minor interface issue in version 1.0.75 build 1 : if one opens the program window and sets it in any way where there is no vertical scrollbar, then reduces the application to taskbar by clicking its button, and restores the window by clicking the taskbar button again, then a vertical scrollbar appears.

Thanks for the report and yep I found that the other day myself and just forgot to update the first post saying it was known and hopefully fixed the next time I upload. :)  I have also implemented resize helper by showing a button border when you are resizing the form and hiding it when resizing is ended so you know where to stop if you want a good looking form. On that note look for a new version sometime between now and Friday.
Carroll - HamRadioUSA.net

ConstanceJill

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 EARLY BETA: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #17 on: November 14, 2012, 01:16:35 AM »
Cool, sounds like good news :}

AbteriX

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,115
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 EARLY BETA: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #18 on: November 14, 2012, 05:52:12 AM »
He cool project!  :Thmbsup:

Can i blame you if my network admin ask me why i download crap?

Sorry, my first response is an bug notification...

Using 1.0.75.1, on W7-64, fresh un-packed,
clicking at the drop-down arrow of the Variable edit, i get

System.ArgumentOutOfRangeException:
InvalidArgument=Value mit dem Wert 0 ist für DropDownWidth ungültig.

************** Geladene Assemblys **************
mscorlib
    Assembly-Version: 4.0.0.0.
    Win32-Version: 4.0.30319.1 (RTMRel.030319-0100).
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v4.0.30319/mscorlib.dll.
----------------------------------------
CRAP
    Assembly-Version: 1.0.75.1.
    Win32-Version: 1.0.75.1.
    CodeBase: file:///H:/1/crap/CRAP/CRAP.exe.
----------------------------------------



Once i have written an variable i can click at that button without an error.


- - -

2.)
I have to the care myself to add an space sign after the Command Prefix.
I think the app should do that for me?

F.ex.
Variable: C:\temp\crap.txt
ComPrefix: notepad

Results in: notepadC:\temp\crap.txt


- - -

3.)
I had expected to have an parameter like <variable> to add this in my command line where i need it.
This had be more intuitive for me on my first test then just "automatically add the variable" to the command line.
And we would have more control where this var is inserted and how often.

- - -

4.)
I assume your tool calls comspec as default if no other executable is specified???
Can you please add an option check box like "[X] don not close command line window" and so call "comspec /K" ?


F.ex. i use
Variable: 127.0.0.1
ComPrefix: ping
Caption: Ping variable

The ping is executed but the DOS-Box is closed after that.
I guess i can add an PAUSE somewhere (don't tested it right now), ... but an option would be niftier.



- - -

5.)
Hmm, seeing now your "custom_testfile.xml" i get the idea: how about an option to save & load different settings.xml?
Perhaps even from command line: "crap.exe /s work.xml"

-
« Last Edit: November 14, 2012, 09:32:28 AM by AbteriX »

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 677
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 EARLY BETA: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #19 on: November 14, 2012, 09:43:50 AM »
He cool project!  :Thmbsup:

Can i blame you if my network admin ask me why i download crap?

Sorry, my first response is an bug notification...

Using 1.0.75.1, on W7-64, fresh un-packed,
clicking at the drop-down arrow of the Variable edit, i get

System.ArgumentOutOfRangeException:
InvalidArgument=Value mit dem Wert 0 ist für DropDownWidth ungültig.

************** Geladene Assemblys **************
mscorlib
    Assembly-Version: 4.0.0.0.
    Win32-Version: 4.0.30319.1 (RTMRel.030319-0100).
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v4.0.30319/mscorlib.dll.
----------------------------------------
CRAP
    Assembly-Version: 1.0.75.1.
    Win32-Version: 1.0.75.1.
    CodeBase: file:///H:/1/crap/CRAP/CRAP.exe.
----------------------------------------



Once i have written an variable i can click at that button without an error.


- - -

2.)
I have to think myself about an space sign after the Command Prefix.

F.ex.
Variable: C:\temp\crap.txt
ComPrefix: notepad

Results in: notepadC:\temp\crap.txt


- - -

3.)
I had expected to have an parameter like <variable> to add this in my command line where i need it.
This had be more intuitive for me on my first test then just "automatically add the variable" to the command line.

- - -

4.)
Your tool calls comspec as default if no other executable is specified???
Can you please add an option check box like "[X] don not close command line window" and so call "comspec /K" ?


F.ex. i use
Variable: 127.0.0.1
ComPrefix: ping
Caption: Ping variable

- - -

5.)
Hmm, seeing now your "custom_testfile.xml" i get the idea: how about an option to save & load different settings.xml?
Perhaps even from command line: "crap.exe /s work.xml"

The name was the idea of ConstanceJill on the forums here who originally requested an app like this. So I just used it as I thought it was a good name for an application. :)

1) Let me know if its still there in the next version as I hope I have fixed that.

2) I don't think I should put a forced space in it therefore the user should.  (e.g. Some commands a user may want to use could be undesirable to have a space after the prefix which if I forced a space would mess it up. Therefore for the notepad example just enter notepad followed by a space for prefix, then you wont have to think about that anymore for that command as it will have the space by default.)

3) Not sure I understand what you mean. Maybe you could clarify or someone else could. But do you mean similar to the other macros? If so I implemented it for prefix and suffix, old way where it places it in the middle of prefix and suffix should still work too in case you don't want to specify it for some buttons.

4) Added to each button.

5) Yes that might show up in a later version.

Update still planned.  New version tomorrow or Friday sometime after noon my time. (Eastern Standard Time)
Carroll - HamRadioUSA.net
« Last Edit: November 14, 2012, 10:47:19 AM by hamradio, Reason: Added more info... »

ConstanceJill

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 EARLY BETA: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #20 on: November 15, 2012, 04:55:07 AM »
Hello there .o/

Indeed, in my idea, the program should not add a space by itself. It would be a big problem when trying to use various commands such as :
mstsc /v:variable
mmc c:\windows\system32\compmgmt.msc /computer:\\variable
explorer \\variable\C$
shutdown -r -t -0 -m \\variable

However, I've been thinking that maybe it would be possible to make the blank spaces somehow visible in the button edition form, like in the old days of DOS apps, where you had a font with fixed width and a repeated background of characters such as "░" in fields, where nothing was written.

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 677
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 EARLY BETA: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #21 on: November 16, 2012, 01:17:53 PM »
MINOR UPDATE

1. Hopefully fixed the vertical scrollbar from appearing after a minimize when it was not showing before minimization.
2. Hopefully fixed the DropDownWidth bug.
3. Added <var> that will allow you to specify it as many times as you want in both prefix and suffix. (If not specified then old method works of putting it in the middle of prefix+suffix.)
4. Added another button parameter to allow you to specify if the command window should stay open once command is done. (Useful for commands that need information reviewed.)
5. Added a resize helper that shows the outline of the buttons when resizing the form.
6. Added Move Left/Right One to the context menu of each button and separator.
7. Hopefully did not break anything, but let me know if I did and I will set about to fix it with a hotfix update.

Note: See first post for download url. :up:

As for showing the whitespaces in the textbox I am not sure it would be possible with a normal textbox.
Carroll - HamRadioUSA.net

ConstanceJill

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 EARLY BETA: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #22 on: November 16, 2012, 03:27:42 PM »
Thanks, looks like a very nice update :}

ConstanceJill

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 EARLY BETA: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #23 on: November 21, 2012, 04:29:00 AM »
Hey there .o/

I've been using version 1.0.89 build 1 this week and I saw the window about being allowed to run only one instance.
However I didn't find an option in the GUI to choose whether or not to allow it.
Also, in my opinion, it would be better if possible, when only one instance is allowed, to make it so that, when trying to run another instance, the window of the existing instance would come up on top of other windows which may be hiding it, instead of displaying this warning window.

I love the resize helper, btw  :-*
And yes, the vertical scrollbar thing definitely seems fixed. Thanks again :Thmbsup:

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 677
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 EARLY BETA: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #24 on: November 24, 2012, 06:39:19 PM »
Hey there .o/

I've been using version 1.0.89 build 1 this week and I saw the window about being allowed to run only one instance.
However I didn't find an option in the GUI to choose whether or not to allow it.
Also, in my opinion, it would be better if possible, when only one instance is allowed, to make it so that, when trying to run another instance, the window of the existing instance would come up on top of other windows which may be hiding it, instead of displaying this warning window.

I love the resize helper, btw  :-*
And yes, the vertical scrollbar thing definitely seems fixed. Thanks again :Thmbsup:

1. Unless it is minimized the existing instance should come to the top of other windows after displaying that window through a windows api call.  I am also still fiddling with a easy way make it only one instance on demand.  I may comment it out till I can figure out the easiest way.

2. Glad you like the resize helper.
3. Good about vertical scrollbar.

:)
Carroll - HamRadioUSA.net