Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 07, 2016, 08:07:15 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Is Readyboost for me ?  (Read 1993 times)

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Is Readyboost for me ?
« on: October 17, 2012, 01:37:01 PM »
I just installed 16GB RAm trying windows seven 64 bits premium edition.
I am glad.
But not a friend tells me of this new device.

Is for me ?

 :-[

eleman

  • Spam Killer
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 393
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Is Readyboost for me ?
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2012, 01:44:04 PM »
No it's not.

Readyboost is a marketing gimmick Microsoft came up with to soften the blow of complaints about hardware requirements of Vista. It won't do much good, and it won't do any good at all if your swap file is on an SSD drive.

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Is Readyboost for me ?
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2012, 01:52:57 PM »
No it's not.

Readyboost is a marketing gimmick Microsoft came up with to soften the blow of complaints about hardware requirements of Vista. It won't do much good, and it won't do any good at all if your swap file is on an SSD drive.

Thanks eleman.

Someone recommend me install the operating system in a SSD drive.
I am customed to install several times the operating systems. But microsoft forums call me fool.
Now is not permitted to install windows seven several times in the same pc. One license for each install.
I also think about the possibility to have virtual machines specialized. Downloads and communications, by example.
But I suppose is not possible to do because is against the license.

But SSD drive are too expensive. I was thinking about 300 GB of space for the system, and the data in other disks as usual

I really don't understand why I can't install several times the same system in the same machine.

Even microsoft forums tells me that w7 always install on c:, so if not possible to install in other letters.

 :(

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,328
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Is Readyboost for me ?
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2012, 02:17:10 PM »
Off-topic, but Just in Case:

Are you planning on installing 7 on a machine with more than one harddrive?

  • It will automatically install the boot partition on Drive 0
  • Best to have the install (C:\) on the same harddrive (0)
  • If necessary, remove all other drives for it to install on the drive you want
  • Best to install on a clean unpartitioned drive

discussed here & following posts
http://www.donationc....msg255888#msg255888
Tom

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Is Readyboost for me ?
« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2012, 02:24:08 PM »
Off-topic, but Just in Case:

Are you planning on installing 7 on a machine with more than one harddrive?

  • It will automatically install the boot partition on Drive 0
  • Best to have the install (C:\) on the same harddrive (0)
  • If necessary, remove all other drives for it to install on the drive you want
  • Best to install on a clean unpartitioned drive

discussed here & following posts
http://www.donationc....msg255888#msg255888

http://img101.imageshack.us/img101/7251/besotene2.gif
Is Readyboost for me ?
http://img101.imageshack.us/img101/7251/besotene2.gif
Is Readyboost for me ?
http://img101.imageshack.us/img101/7251/besotene2.gif
Is Readyboost for me ?


just in topic

I will take a deep look

Thank you very much.

 :-*

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Is Readyboost for me ?
« Reply #5 on: October 17, 2012, 02:30:42 PM »
By the way, my initial plan was .

Disconnect my seven disks
Connect the system disk (new of 2 TB)
Partition that disk
Install in the first partition C:

Then install the second system on D: (I don't know the results.... because if the system goes to C: again....

Insert a data disk to occupy the letter E:

Install over the letter F: in the system disk

Insert a new data disk with partitions G: , H:

Install over the letter I: in the system disk

Inserta a new data disk with partitions J: , K: , L:

install over the leter M: in the system disk (This is my main system mmmmm !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)

In my CRM many links point to that system.....

Install over the letter N: in the system disk. (now we have six systems, but this is not correct because we are talking about windows 7)

So we need the seventh system

Inserta a new data disk partitions O: , P:, Q: .

Install over the letter R: the seventh and final system.

It's not possible now, but that was my plan.


Can I install a virtual machine with windows 7 inside windows 7 ?

Will they call me fool again ?

 :-*


tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,328
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Is Readyboost for me ?
« Reply #6 on: October 17, 2012, 02:49:04 PM »
Disconnect my seven disks
Connect the system disk (new of 2 TB)
Partition that disk
Install in the first partition C:

dont forget:
install on non-partitioned HD
let Win 7 to do the hidden partition and the C partition. (The rest you can do later.)


How many 'installs' did you have on your last computer :tellme:
Tom

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Is Readyboost for me ?
« Reply #7 on: October 17, 2012, 03:30:00 PM »
Disconnect my seven disks
Connect the system disk (new of 2 TB)
Partition that disk
Install in the first partition C:

dont forget:
install on non-partitioned HD
let Win 7 to do the hidden partition and the C partition. (The rest you can do later.)


How many 'installs' did you have on your last computer :tellme:

I have to learn in deep tomos.
Six times under xp pro.
So
The logical number now is Seven
Seven times under windows seven.
 ;D

Wait . I take this knowledge to my base. i don't want to forget.
So I will do.

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Is Readyboost for me ?
« Reply #8 on: October 17, 2012, 03:35:54 PM »
By the way . Why a hidden partition.
I used GAG in my portatil with preinstalled windows 7 to do a dual boot with xp pro ?

why a hidden partition ?
 :-*

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Is Readyboost for me ?
« Reply #9 on: October 17, 2012, 03:38:34 PM »
 :tellme:

Perhaps if w7 allways occupies the letter C: is an inconvenient to see another windows 7 system occupying the same letter ?

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Is Readyboost for me ?
« Reply #10 on: October 17, 2012, 04:14:01 PM »
Readyboost is a marketing gimmick Microsoft came up with to soften the blow of complaints about hardware requirements of Vista. It won't do much good, and it won't do any good at all if your swap file is on an SSD drive.
Wrong on several levels.

First, the obvious one: if you've got enough cash to put a SSD in your system, you've got enough cash to put enough RAM in your system that you can disable the pagefile entirely.

Second, readyboost isn't just for your pagefile, it's a generic 2nd-level filesystem cache (where RAM is your 1st level).

While it won't do you any good at all if you've got plenty of RAM, it can be a decent thing when you don't. It makes life a little less painful on my 4GB work laptop when dealing with Adobes shitty software... hoping for an 8GB+SSD upgrade soon, though, since that'd be a lot more pleasant.
- carpe noctem

4wd

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,474
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Is Readyboost for me ?
« Reply #11 on: October 18, 2012, 01:12:27 AM »
why a hidden partition ?

The hidden partition contains the software, (WinPE), necessary for the Startup Repair option and/or BitLocker encryption files, (if you've encrypted your boot partition).

If you don't have the hidden partition you have to use the Windows DVD to repair any startup problem and you cannot use BitLocker drive encryption on the OS drive.

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,286
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Is Readyboost for me ?
« Reply #12 on: October 18, 2012, 11:32:25 AM »
(never mind - please delete)
« Last Edit: October 18, 2012, 11:37:47 AM by MilesAhead »

Renegade

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 13,220
  • Tell me something you don't know...
    • View Profile
    • Renegade Minds
    • Donate to Member
Re: Is Readyboost for me ?
« Reply #13 on: October 18, 2012, 12:28:45 PM »
(never mind - please delete)

Dude, seriously, that's just lame. If you're drunk posting, like I am now, just say so. Don't ask for a mod to delete your post. That's the pussy way out~! ;D :P ;)
Slow Down Music - Where I commit thought crimes...

Freedom is the right to be wrong, not the right to do wrong. - John Diefenbaker