Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 02, 2016, 06:26:46 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Firefox CPU usage  (Read 6852 times)

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Firefox CPU usage
« on: April 17, 2006, 09:08:27 PM »
Can people post here and give me some idea of the CPU usage they are getting with Firefox 1.5.0.2

I have had some problems with my system over the last 12 hours and FF now seems to be using up to 95% CPU when loading pages. It reverts to 0-2% when I am typing (like now) or idling as I read a page but clicking on a single web link sends the CPU rocketing upwards.

To give a fair comparison I am loading 9 tabs as my 'home page group' when I open Firefox and I have disabled all extensions.

Thanks.

kimmchii

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 360
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Firefox CPU usage
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2006, 10:33:20 PM »
try a new profile see if it goes away:
http://www.mozilla.o.../firefox/profile#new

95%cpu is not normal.
If you find a good solution and become attached to it, the solution may become your next problem.
~Robert Anthony

Deozaan

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Points: 1
  • Posts: 7,713
    • View Profile
    • The Blog of Deozaan
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Firefox CPU usage
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2006, 10:55:00 PM »
Sorry I can't help with the CPU usage problem, but Mark sent me this link the other day from LifeHacker showing you how you can reduce the RAM that Firefox uses up. It's pretty neat to see it go from 150MB down to 6-8MB just by minimizing it:

http://tech.cybernet...firefox-memory-leak/


noth(a)nk.you

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
  • More than meets the eye.
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Firefox CPU usage
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2006, 12:09:17 AM »
I haven't seen memory shrinkage on the scale Deozaan mentions, but trim_on_minimize routinely cuts my Firefox's usage in half.

On the CPU usage, I've noticed that embedded objects often skyrocket the CPU (e.g. flash animation banner ads).  Consider installing one (or all) of the following extensions to hide such objects:

Adblock Plus (blocks ads based on rules, see here for good rule list)
FlashBlock (blocks all Flash objects until you click on them)
NoScript (blocks anything embedded until you click, can be annoying)

These are common extensions among Firefox users--very worthwhile.

Hirudin

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 543
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Firefox CPU usage
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2006, 12:42:34 AM »
OK, I've been using FF 1.5.0.2 for the last 12 minutes. Process explorer's resource history shows the ram usage went up from 16mb to 30mb, the CPU usage never went much higher than 12%.

For the most part, I was browsing DC, using ~5 tabs at a time max.

brotherS

  • Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 2,136
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Firefox CPU usage
« Reply #5 on: April 18, 2006, 02:34:01 AM »
Sorry I can't help with the CPU usage problem, but Mark sent me this link the other day from LifeHacker showing you how you can reduce the RAM that Firefox uses up. It's pretty neat to see it go from 150MB down to 6-8MB just by minimizing it:

http://tech.cybernet...firefox-memory-leak/
Sounds great, I will try that too!

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Firefox CPU usage
« Reply #6 on: April 18, 2006, 07:50:07 AM »
Sorry I can't help with the CPU usage problem, but Mark sent me this link the other day from LifeHacker showing you how you can reduce the RAM that Firefox uses up. It's pretty neat to see it go from 150MB down to 6-8MB just by minimizing it:

http://tech.cybernet...firefox-memory-leak/
If you do that, watch Process Explorer closely. If it's a hack that pages out memory to disk, it's NOT worth it ("unused RAM is wasted RAM" + swap is slow). FFox does have insane memory usage compared to IE tho.
- carpe noctem

brotherS

  • Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 2,136
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Firefox CPU usage
« Reply #7 on: April 18, 2006, 07:59:59 AM »
FFox does have insane memory usage compared to IE tho.
"A lot more" is true regarding the possibilites of FF vs. IE though too! :D

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Firefox CPU usage
« Reply #8 on: April 18, 2006, 08:03:53 AM »
FFox does have insane memory usage compared to IE tho.
"A lot more" is true regarding the possibilites of FF vs. IE though too! :D

True... but you can get sorta all that functionality by using some other IE-based browser like Avant or Maxthon :P - I'm on the fox, though, because it's still not as targetted as IE (and no, I don't have any illusions that FF's code is much better than IE's). I'd be on Opera if it didn't have misc. rendering bugs and it had better adblocking + a few more things, it's faster and leaner and meaner than FF.
- carpe noctem

noth(a)nk.you

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
  • More than meets the eye.
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Firefox CPU usage
« Reply #9 on: April 18, 2006, 11:01:58 AM »
If it's a hack that pages out memory to disk....

It seems not to:

Quote from: MozillaZine
This preference determines whether to allow Windows to reclaim memory from a minimized Mozilla application.  (Source)

Deozaan

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Points: 1
  • Posts: 7,713
    • View Profile
    • The Blog of Deozaan
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Firefox CPU usage
« Reply #10 on: April 18, 2006, 06:15:29 PM »
I think it does send it to the hard drive but I haven't noticed any slowdown when restoring the window and I often have 7+ tabs going.

I also like to multitask, so I use up a lot of RAM by having lots of processes open. Anything that can reduce the RAM usage (especially while I'm not using it) is good in my book.


Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: Firefox CPU usage
« Reply #11 on: April 18, 2006, 06:47:19 PM »
I seem to generally have problems with browsers (both Firefox and Internet Explorer seem to be using large CPU counts).

I have jumped in and updated to Internet Explorer 7 beta as I thought this might sort out any IE installation issues. It works fine but it hasn't sorted the heavy CPU usage.

This is just when the apps are loading initally and displaying the home pages. Once they are working they are not SO bad but still higher than expected.

I have tried removing and reinstalling my network connections but that has made no difference.

I also tried creating a new Firefox profile. It was marginally better (but then I wasn't running with a lot of tabs and extensions) but not a huge improvement.

Anyone got any ideas on how to troubleshoot this?

kimmchii

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 360
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Firefox CPU usage
« Reply #12 on: April 18, 2006, 07:13:37 PM »
you dont wanna hear this:

reinstall xp.  :'(

If you find a good solution and become attached to it, the solution may become your next problem.
~Robert Anthony

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: Firefox CPU usage
« Reply #13 on: April 19, 2006, 05:12:58 AM »
You're right on both counts ...

anyone got a spare week

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Firefox CPU usage
« Reply #14 on: April 19, 2006, 06:11:15 AM »
Btw, a thing that means high CPU usage in any web browser: flash. Flash is soooo badly programmed.
- carpe noctem

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: Firefox CPU usage
« Reply #15 on: April 19, 2006, 06:28:37 AM »
There is definitely something wrong at the core of my Windows installation ...

I stopped every running service it was possible/sensible to stop - including everything that allowed access to networking/internet etc. so there was an absolute minimum of services running, and exited all processes it was possible to kill off.

My system at idle still used about 4% of CPU which is not normal, and as soon as I do anything the CPU count jumps up quite high.

I think the only practical solution is to revert to a backup - trouble is I haven't done a full backup in a while (ahem ...)

brotherS

  • Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 2,136
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Firefox CPU usage
« Reply #16 on: April 20, 2006, 08:28:51 AM »
FFox does have insane memory usage compared to IE tho.
"A lot more" is true regarding the possibilites of FF vs. IE though too! :D
True... but you can get sorta all that functionality by using some other IE-based browser like Avant or Maxthon :P
No way. I used Avant Browser myself and had a look at Maxthon too, but Firefox is by FAR more customizable!