ATTENTION: You are viewing a page formatted for mobile devices; to view the full web page, click HERE.

Other Software > Developer's Corner

DVD Burning

(1/3) > >>

SQUIDMAN:
looking for some suggestions for software, free or pay for that is user freindly and that can take MP4s or avi files and make a DISK that will play on DVD player?
Any ideas, or help would be great, I am not a techie so user friendly is a must! I have already tried a few free one like infraRecorder that doesn't work.  :tellme:

Renegade:
A lot of DVD players are capable of playing video files that aren't actual "DVD" formatted videos. Does that count? Or are you looking for DVD authoring software to do the video with menus and all that stuff? If that's what you're looking for, Mediachance has some good DVD authoring tools - payware, but relatively easy to use.

This is the relevant menu from ashampoo:

As you can see, you need the DVD actually finished as the proper files there. However, there's (S)VCD support there too.

I've never really had any luck with free tools.

nudone:
Something free I've used a few times to create DVD's (with menus, etc.) is DVDStyler: http://www.dvdstyler.org/en/

I own Adobe's Encore but can't be bothered to look at it as DVDStyler just seems to work better and easier - although it looks a bit ugly.

Can't say what formats it is compatible with, I just drag and drop the source video (mp4, avi, whatever) and away it goes.

Only "problem" I've noticed comes from trying to convert source to something it shouldn't be, i.e. trying to change 23. frames to 29. and then the audio went out of sync (well, that's what I think the problem was - converting 23.976 to 25 worked perfectly instead as it simply speeds everything up rather than doing all the pulldown stuff).

edit:
I've just checked the source video mentioned above and the audio goes out of sync with the original too, though, not as much as on the related DVD. So, something odd about the file in general.

tomos: