Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 08, 2016, 03:44:50 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Newbie question on Dbl. Click to paste.  (Read 2314 times)

JeremyWW

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2012
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Newbie question on Dbl. Click to paste.
« on: September 24, 2012, 06:25:30 AM »
Apologies in advance if this has been covered, but I couldn't find a definitive answer:

I have a problem with double clicking a cell to paste to the active window. If I follow this process it doesn't work:

1) Open a new blank Outlook email and ensure it is the current active window
2) Open the main window of CH&S by double clicking on the tray icon
3) Double click on a clip cell which also happens to be a 'Favorite'
4) Nothing happens, even though the CH&S main window confirms Outlook to be the current active window.

Thanks. Otherwise, very nice.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2012, 04:32:59 AM by JeremyWW »

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,329
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Newbie question on Dbl. Click to paste.
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2012, 07:23:32 AM »
If you try a straightforward Ctrl+V afterwards, does it paste the correct clip?

This is my experience with an outliner (InfoQube) that uses Internet Explorer for it's text pane (html) - I'm not sure whose 'fault' that is.

I dont use Outlook myself so cannot confirm, but I'm wondering if it uses the IE engine as well for html text.

_______________
FWIW, I have no problem pasting in a forum I frequent that uses html formatting (not BBCode) - but I always use Firefox. (Just tried it in IE, the forum doesnt work properly there :( )
Tom

JeremyWW

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2012
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Newbie question on Dbl. Click to paste.
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2012, 07:45:47 AM »
If you try a straightforward Ctrl+V afterwards, does it paste the correct clip?


Yes, it does.

Quote

This is my experience with an outliner (InfoQube) that uses Internet Explorer for it's text pane (html) - I'm not sure whose 'fault' that is.

I dont use Outlook myself so cannot confirm, but I'm wondering if it uses the IE engine as well for html text.


Not sure myself. I tried performing the same 'double click paste' to a web form field with same result - no paste. The double click paste also fails after single left clicking the tray icon and selecting 'Show Main Window'. Bizarrely though, if the main CH&S window is already open the double click paste works, and it also works if I bring up the main CH&S window by right clicking on the tray icon and selecting 'Show CH&S main window'.
_______________
FWIW, I have no problem pasting in a forum I frequent that uses html formatting (not BBCode) - but I always use Firefox. (Just tried it in IE, the forum doesnt work properly there :( )
[/quote]

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,412
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Newbie question on Dbl. Click to paste.
« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2012, 08:24:36 AM »
It sounds like the double click of the tray icon may be confusing CHS about what the last active window was..

Does it also work fine and reliably if you bring up the main CHS window by using the hotkey (ctrl+alt+W by default), or via the quick popup hotkey and then hitting w (ctrl+alt+Q followed by W)?

JeremyWW

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2012
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Newbie question on Dbl. Click to paste.
« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2012, 08:28:37 AM »
It sounds like the double click of the tray icon may be confusing CHS about what the last active window was..


That's my theory too.

Quote

Does it also work fine and reliably if you bring up the main CHS window by using the hotkey (ctrl+alt+W by default), or via the quick popup hotkey and then hitting w (ctrl+alt+Q followed by W)?

Yes to both.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,412
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Newbie question on Dbl. Click to paste.
« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2012, 08:33:15 AM »
Ok, I'll look into it and report.

JeremyWW

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2012
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Newbie question on Dbl. Click to paste.
« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2012, 08:41:52 AM »
Ok, I'll look into it and report.

Excellent. Thank you very much.

JeremyWW

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2012
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Newbie question on Dbl. Click to paste.
« Reply #7 on: October 01, 2012, 04:49:57 AM »
Ok, I'll look into it and report.

Excellent. Thank you very much.

Just wondered if you made any progress with this...?

JeremyWW

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2012
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Newbie question on Dbl. Click to paste.
« Reply #8 on: October 02, 2012, 04:16:43 AM »
Ok, I'll look into it and report.

Excellent. Thank you very much.

Just wondered if you made any progress with this...?

Apologies - I can see double click to paste is working in last nights 'Alpha'... (should have checked that before posting!)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,412
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Newbie question on Dbl. Click to paste.
« Reply #9 on: October 02, 2012, 01:22:52 PM »
apologies are not needed.. fixing this may have come as a side effect.. or you may find the problem comes back.  let me know if so.