Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 09, 2016, 05:07:59 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Need advice on AHK key remap  (Read 2355 times)

Harrie

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 83
    • View Profile
    • Productivity Talk
    • Donate to Member
Need advice on AHK key remap
« on: April 16, 2006, 05:41:00 AM »
Hi.  One of my board members works in a platform that, for some reason, enters twice when they hit the Enter key once.  So I wanted to make an AHK script to correct that.  It seems that hitting Win key + Enter does the same thing as Enter, so I did this:

Enter::Send #{Enter} 

But A) - I'm not sure, since Enter is messed up for this person, that this combo won't do the same.  I can't really test it properly; works for me but then again, I don't have that problem with the Enter key.

B)  I tried doing it another way, like this:
Send {Enter 1}+{Up}+{Delete}  ; Press Enter once, then arrow up and delete

Which is a disaster because, if you run it while on your Desktop, for instance, it wants to select icons and ask if you want to delete them.  Definite no go there!  <grin>  Plus it seems to delete itself - the script!

I was just wondering if there were some other sure-fire way to do this so that it works for the person.  I am not the brightest bulb in the room when it comes to AHK, and that's a huge understatement.

I hope I put this in the right board section.

Thanks.

« Last Edit: April 16, 2006, 05:56:09 AM by brotherS »

brotherS

  • Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 2,136
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Need advice on AHK key remap
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2006, 05:55:54 AM »
Hi.  One of my board members works in a platform that, for some reason, enters twice when they hit the Enter key once.
Not that it would help me fixing it, but which OS is that? Something old and buggy like Windows 95 or 98?

Maybe some other DC member can help with your question.

Harrie

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 83
    • View Profile
    • Productivity Talk
    • Donate to Member
Re: Need advice on AHK key remap
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2006, 06:01:14 AM »
Hi, brotherS, thanks for your comment.  Looking at the person's profile, they use XP.  I get the feeling it's the transcription program they work in that's the problem, and that all is fine when not in that app.

noth(a)nk.you

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
  • More than meets the eye.
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Need advice on AHK key remap
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2006, 10:00:33 AM »
You could try using the IfWinActive command with your transcription program.

I haven't been able to get it work myself (another dim bulb), but that link above should explain it.

Harrie

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 83
    • View Profile
    • Productivity Talk
    • Donate to Member
Re: Need advice on AHK key remap
« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2006, 11:35:24 AM »
Thanks a lot, noth.  I wish I had this program myself to test it on.  I guess I'll let them try my first one, if that doesn't work, we can try IfWinActive.