Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 07, 2016, 08:29:36 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: My experiences with Screenshot Captor  (Read 7842 times)

robbero

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
My experiences with Screenshot Captor
« on: September 11, 2012, 09:22:22 AM »
Hi,

I once used Screenshot Captor a lot but I uninstalled it because after many months of use I still couldn't find things in the menu and didn't find the things where I expected it. Too much stuff everywhere.

This year I've read on various sites that Screenshot Captor has been becoming better and better but the most important reason why I installed it again is the great new scrolling capture option. It does his job wonderful. Beautiful.

But I noted that still the same preferences menu was there with too much stuff and not enough clear (for me).

After 30 minutes searching I still could not find out how to do this:

- after capturing only go to a "save as" dialog (not the popup window)
- after giving a name to the captured file NOT going to the folder where the file has been saved
- how to capture a freehand region (as in faststone capture)

Help is appreciated. :)

(It would be nice to see in the system tray menu: output --> to editor / clipboard / file / file (auto-save) /printer / email  (as in fast stone))

Thanks.


Renegade

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 13,220
  • Tell me something you don't know...
    • View Profile
    • Renegade Minds
    • Donate to Member
Re: My experiences with Screenshot Captor
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2012, 11:03:00 AM »
I don't really know what you mean by the first 2 (could be the whiskey and tiredness...)

But for the third:

Screenshot - 2012-09-12 , 1_59_07 AM.png

And the menu there if it matters:

Screenshot - 2012-09-12 , 1_56_55 AM.png

The shortcut keys work for that.

mouser can chime in on the rest. I need to get back to my whiskey and general well-deserved goofing off. ;)
Slow Down Music - Where I commit thought crimes...

Freedom is the right to be wrong, not the right to do wrong. - John Diefenbaker

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,326
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: My experiences with Screenshot Captor
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2012, 11:34:54 AM »
1, 2 & 3

1) I dont *think* that this is possible

2) see mouse pointer on screenshot below

3) Shift+PrtScr (or right-click the tray icon)


Screenshot - 2012-09-11 , 18_31_02.png

Tom

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,408
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: My experiences with Screenshot Captor
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2012, 11:40:19 AM »
Fair points robbero..

Screenshot Captor exists in a slightly different niche than many other tools.. It is designed to operate in two main modes:

  • The first is a mode where it stays out of your way completely and let's you take lots of screenshots without any intervention.  And it's designed to try to make it really easy to work with your screenshot files after you are done capturing them (by providing a thumbnail panel with drag and drop and right-click functionality), and to let you configure multiple operations that are automatically applied after each screenshot is taken (email, print, clipboard, etc.)
  • The second mode is where it pops up the "post-capture" dialog with a preview and quick buttons to save as, print, email, etc. buttons.  This would be the natural mode when just getting used to the program.

I think that most people find those two modes are good at capturing their workflow.

However, I have come to accept recently that there is probably another kind of workflow that Screenshot Captor should support, and that is an (optional) floating toolbar which lets you choose the kind of capture, and what to do after the capture, and a button to perform it.  Personally I would never use such a feature and would encourage anyone who takes lots of screenshots to learn the capture hotkeys instead, but I do accept that such a Quick Capture floating toolbar would server a need, so I am going to be adding it.



Quote
- after capturing only go to a "save as" dialog (not the popup window)
not possible currently; closest option is to have it show post capture dialog and just hit S when it shows.

Quote
- after giving a name to the captured file NOT going to the folder where the file has been saved
Tomo's post in answer to the automatic opening of folder after save as is correct, but the dialog has changed slightly since his version.  New dialog showing the option:
Screenshot - 9_11_2012 , 10_57_34 AM.png

Quote
- how to capture a freehand region (as in faststone capture)
As indicated above, you can capture rectangular selections as instructed above.
If you want to do a real freehand grab of non-rectangular options, you have to do that from WITHIN the screenshot captor interface after doing a normal capture.  You'll find freehand and magic want selection modes from the Edit->SelectionMode menu.

I have a strong feeling that this kind of thing (free-hand cropping) of a capture region, is best performed AFTER a normal capture, where such selections can be more easily manipulated and operations can be undone, etc.
« Last Edit: September 11, 2012, 12:50:06 PM by mouser »

robbero

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: My experiences with Screenshot Captor
« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2012, 12:59:25 PM »
Thank you Mouser for your (as always) great support!
Thank you Renegade and Tomos as well.

1) I wish I could avoid the popup box for every screenshot and go immediate to the "save as" dialogue (as in fastst.capt. or picpick or snagit). Would it be possible to add this feature in screenshot capture as well?
2) Thank you. That resolved my question.
3) I prefer to do direct a freehand capture without going in the edit menu. However it is not disturbing me as much as the "pop-up" menu before the "save-as" dialog.
I rarely make freehand screenshot captures but find the pop-up dialogue before every save-as dialogue. :)

BTW I almost never used the editor in any capture software.
Only when I need to manipulate some image file.
What could be done in 1 step, I prefer to do it in 1 step. :)

I have never used a Quick Capture floating toolbar (and will never do it). :)

I suppose there is a 3rd mode to work.
- Let it do by the software as most as possible and only change a setting once in a while for an optional different need (p.e. using a quick-menu in the system tray).

You know Mouser, you wrote that Screenshot Capt. is designed to make it work quick and easy. My idea is just that it does a lot of things but not always easy to do or (as p.e. in the examples in my questions above) with one or two clicks too much. Strange how perception is different between different users :)



mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,408
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: My experiences with Screenshot Captor
« Reply #5 on: September 11, 2012, 01:05:59 PM »
There is a little bit of a learning curve for Screenshot Captor.. The hope is that it will lead to a more pleasant experience and a more efficient workflow than the alternatives.

Quote
1) I wish I could avoid the popup box for every screenshot and go immediate to the "save as" dialogue (as in fastst.capt. or picpick or snagit). Would it be possible to add this feature in screenshot capture as well?

Yes, that does not seem unreasonable -- I will try to add it.

Quote
3) I prefer to do direct a freehand capture without going in the edit menu.

Let me consider it.

robbero

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: My experiences with Screenshot Captor
« Reply #6 on: September 11, 2012, 02:59:00 PM »
Yes, that does not seem unreasonable -- I will try to add it.

Thank you very much. :)

rjbull

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,927
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: My experiences with Screenshot Captor
« Reply #7 on: September 11, 2012, 03:08:17 PM »
I have come to accept recently that there is probably another kind of workflow that Screenshot Captor should support, and that is an (optional) floating toolbar which lets you choose the kind of capture, and what to do after the capture, and a button to perform it.  Personally I would never use such a feature and would encourage anyone who takes lots of screenshots to learn the capture hotkeys instead, but I do accept that such a Quick Capture floating toolbar would server a need, so I am going to be adding it.
I suspect the need most likely to be served is where you have hotkey conflicts with other programs, especially ones you use more often.  In that special case, an alternative method would be welcome.

robbero

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: My experiences with Screenshot Captor
« Reply #8 on: September 12, 2012, 01:55:51 AM »
Sorry that I write you a few more things.

I always save the screenshot images in my d:\ directory (the root).
I have there over 100 images.
When I double click on the SC icon it takes a few minutes before I see the SC editor.
I suppose it is because of the thumbnail directory
Is there a way to disable the thumbnail directory (without changing the default directory)?

I would like to ask you also if it is possible to disable the preview block when I save a file with a name. (not to disable the preview link but the preview block. I've never used it. It shows up always as in my attachment (see attachment). I find it a bit disturbing this empty block at the side of the window.






 

robbero

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: My experiences with Screenshot Captor
« Reply #9 on: September 12, 2012, 02:11:22 AM »
found it: screenshot panel check box :)

---------

I tried to drag and drop an image file in the SC editor (without the screenshot panel)
That doesn't work??

how do I open an image in the editor without the screenshot panel?

---------

Tried with the screenshot panel to see all files (only the file names).
How do I avoid all the PDF and ZIP files in the list?
Can I filter what I want to see and not want to see?

---------

I tried to adapt the files in the screenshot panel to:
- arrange items in the window by date
- views: details

I restarted SC and above setting where gone again to the
default: views: list / arrange items in the window by name.

 (btw when I change the arrange items in the window by date nothing happens)
 (clicking on the date modified (or size or type) column doesn't do anything as well)


« Last Edit: September 12, 2012, 02:53:06 AM by robbero »

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,326
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: My experiences with Screenshot Captor
« Reply #10 on: September 12, 2012, 02:35:15 AM »
I tried to drag and drop an image file in the SC editor
That doesn't work?

drag to the thumbnail panel (that works like windows explorer)


Oeps.. how do I open an image in the editor without the screenshot panel?

I wasn't sure what exactly was meant by "screenshot panel" but happened to see this:

Screenshot - 2012-09-12 , 09_31_18.png

(dont know if it's remembered on reopening)
Tom

robbero

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: My experiences with Screenshot Captor
« Reply #11 on: September 12, 2012, 02:46:37 AM »
tomos,

I would like to open a file without the thumbnail panel.
btw I can't make it work as well with the thumbnail panel dragging to the panel as you told me to do.


tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,326
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: My experiences with Screenshot Captor
« Reply #12 on: September 12, 2012, 03:45:07 AM »
tomos,

I would like to open a file without the thumbnail panel.
btw I can't make it work as well with the thumbnail panel dragging to the panel as you told me to do.
sorry -
I thought you want to drag a file from a filemanager to SC (I was reading too quick).
Drag-drop to editor doesnt work AFAIK.

Here's another possibility:
The "thumbnail panel" doesnt have to be a thumbnail panel - as I said above, it works like an explorer window (may even be using explorer?). Right-click (not on a thumbnail) and change view to details. That is remembered. That solves your problem with thumbnails loading too slowly.
Tom

robbero

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: My experiences with Screenshot Captor
« Reply #13 on: September 13, 2012, 03:16:27 AM »
Mouser, have you seen my last 3 comments? I would like to hear your opinion.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,408
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: My experiences with Screenshot Captor
« Reply #14 on: September 13, 2012, 03:34:40 AM »
Quote
I tried to drag and drop an image file in the SC editor (without the screenshot panel)
That doesn't work??

no because that will add an image as an object to the current image.
however it's a good idea, i will add support of dropping an image file to the bottom file info panel to open it.

Quote
how do I open an image in the editor without the screenshot panel?

you don't.. SC is made to let you browse a screenshot directory using the thumbnail panel and select from that list, not open arbitrary files for editing.  however as noted above i will add an option for this, both by dropping any image in the file info panel, and add a File -> Open screenshot menu item.


Quote
How do I avoid all the PDF and ZIP files in the list?
Can I filter what I want to see and not want to see?

I will be adding an option for this.

Quote
I tried to adapt the files in the screenshot panel to:
- arrange items in the window by date
- views: details

I restarted SC and above setting where gone again to the
default: views: list / arrange items in the window by name.

that sounds like a bug, i will check into it.

Quote
(btw when I change the arrange items in the window by date nothing happens)
 (clicking on the date modified (or size or type) column doesn't do anything as well)

you need to select the sort method from the View->SortBy menu.

robbero

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: My experiences with Screenshot Captor
« Reply #15 on: September 13, 2012, 04:39:36 AM »
Great answers. Thank you very much.
Would you please consider also to drag and drop to the image display window in the editor?
That's where I intuitively
dragged the images from my file manager (total commander).
Most other software let you drag in the central window.

Thank you for your the rest of your answers.





cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: My experiences with Screenshot Captor
« Reply #16 on: September 13, 2012, 09:42:48 AM »
I keep a shortcut to my Screenshots Folder on the desktop, for quick access,
or you can put in your taskbar.
Drag and drop will work, but will move the pic.
Ctrl-c on the pic with focus, and Ctrl-v in the folder, will copy the pic.
For Windows 7.

ralfs

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: My experiences with Screenshot Captor
« Reply #17 on: September 13, 2012, 11:26:14 PM »
Drag and drop will work, but will move the pic.

And like allways in windows: CTRL & drag and drop will copy the pic.
Ralf

robbero

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: My experiences with Screenshot Captor
« Reply #18 on: October 03, 2012, 02:51:58 AM »
I'm using SC now for 3 weeks almost every day.

I noted that when I did a lot of capturing at the same time, the way of working with the editor and moving the screenshots all together afterwards to the right directory is a nice way of working. (the only little thing I found a bit disturbing is that the name is not selected after making a screenshot. After making a screenshot, the mouse is in the name field but the name is not selected. It was also impossible to delete more then one screenshot. I could select them all but when I clicked on the Red X only 1 screenshot was deleted)
However these are just little things.

When I had to do only one screenshot I found the editor disturbing.
I wanted to go immediate to the "save as" window, (where I can give the right name and extension to it). no popups.

What I wished also is that I could use my images directory as screenshot folder and that I could use a filter to see only certain files in SC explorer.
P.e. view only the screenshots I've taken with Screenshot Captor.
or view only the jpg files starting with "s". etc
I have too much images in my image directory (it slows down SC) and I don't want to see them all in the SC explorer. I don't want to see PDF and ZIP files as well.
That's why I used the temporary screenshot folder and had to move all screenshots afterwards to the final image folder.
Its one step more as needed.

I made also a few more scrolling captures.
It works fantastic. I like it every time I use it, more and more :)

Hope you appraise my comments and I hope you can do something with it.
I wish you and all other readers a happy day!
R.
« Last Edit: October 03, 2012, 06:03:17 AM by robbero »

app103

  • That scary taskbar girl
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,666
    • View Profile
    • App's Apps
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: My experiences with Screenshot Captor
« Reply #19 on: October 03, 2012, 03:45:25 PM »
It was also impossible to delete more then one screenshot. I could select them all but when I clicked on the Red X only 1 screenshot was deleted)

Select them and right click for an Explorer menu and then select Delete.

Screenshot - 10_3_2012 , 4_41_52 PM.png

Or, if you don't feel like dealing with menus, select the images you want to delete and just hit the Delete key on your keyboard.

ewemoa

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 2,845
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: My experiences with Screenshot Captor
« Reply #20 on: October 03, 2012, 05:51:31 PM »
This technique works here too :up:



The poster's point about the red x does seem worth considering though -- I think it's at least confusing.  FWIW, verified that it happens here.

robbero

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: My experiences with Screenshot Captor
« Reply #21 on: October 04, 2012, 01:38:04 AM »
Yes I find it confusing also. Why not putting the DEL key command behind the red x icon?

Another confusing one is that "arrange items in the window by" doesn't work.
The one in the view menu (sort by..) does.

BTW..
Yesterday I had my first scrolling capture image that didn't work in SC.
When I started using SC I noted that many scrolling captures didn't work in Faststone Capt. but did in SC, yesterday I had the inverse: it did work in Faststone Capt. but not in SC. I could not find the correct capture in SC. (it was a dos window: SC captured it 2 times and placed them (as looking in a vertical mirror) side by side)

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,780
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: My experiences with Screenshot Captor
« Reply #22 on: October 04, 2012, 01:44:59 AM »
(it was a dos window: SC captured it 2 times and placed them (as looking in a vertical mirror) side by side)
Was that a standard Command Prompt window or a different command processor, like 4Dos and it's cousins? And with or w/o Administrator privileges?

robbero

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: My experiences with Screenshot Captor
« Reply #23 on: October 04, 2012, 01:47:23 AM »
Was that a standard Command Prompt window or a different command processor, like 4Dos and it's cousins? And with or w/o Administrator privileges?

A command prompt window with Administrator privileges (start-->run-->cmd)

app103

  • That scary taskbar girl
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,666
    • View Profile
    • App's Apps
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: My experiences with Screenshot Captor
« Reply #24 on: October 04, 2012, 02:31:20 AM »
The poster's point about the red x does seem worth considering though -- I think it's at least confusing.  FWIW, verified that it happens here.

Yeah, I'll agree that it is a little confusing as to what the red X is meant to delete.

It doesn't delete things selected in the left panel...it's deletes the active image that is displayed in the main panel. While you can select more than one image in the left panel, only one of them will be the image displayed in the main one.

The toolbar on the far right is for working with the image displayed in the main panel, not for working with images in the left panel. Just as you would not expect it to apply a drop shadow or text object to multiple files if they were selected in the left panel, the delete button there won't delete them either.