Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 09, 2016, 01:20:13 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Windows system "aliases"?  (Read 2706 times)

Josh

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Points: -5
  • Posts: 3,397
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Windows system "aliases"?
« on: September 10, 2012, 09:09:53 AM »
Here is something I have been wanting for a while. I know this can be done with batch files, but I wanted to see if there was another way to handle this.

What I want to do is generate a set of aliases that execute commands I use on a routine basis, for example launching certain pages in internet explorer. Is there a way to do this so I can execute these commands from the start menu or the run dialog?

For example, I type cpanel into the run dialog, hit enter and it opens my Google apps control panel.

Thoughts?

40hz

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 11,768
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Windows system "aliases"?
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2012, 09:19:16 AM »
^AHK? Or pretty much any systems scripting language? :)

Josh

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Points: -5
  • Posts: 3,397
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Windows system "aliases"?
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2012, 09:32:15 AM »
Will AHK allow you to execute commands via the run dialog?

cyberdiva

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 983
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Windows system "aliases"?
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2012, 09:53:24 AM »
I'm not sure whether you're interested only in free programs, but if not, you might take a look at Hot Keyboard.  It works via hot keys and text shortcuts (which I much prefer to hot keys).  I don't think it makes use of the start menu or the run dialog.  You just type whatever hot key or text shortcut you wish, and it will instantly open a file, navigate to a website, etc., using either your default program/browser or another that you specify.  For example, when I type /sv, my Sieve file instantly opens.  (I use the / to be sure I don't accidentally trigger the shortcut when I don't mean to.)

A similar program is ActiveWords2.  It's more expensive than Hot Keyboard, but it allows you to install it on multiple computers and has a mechanism for preventing accidental triggering.  I own both programs and recommend them both.

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Windows system "aliases"?
« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2012, 10:05:38 AM »
Will AHK allow you to execute commands via the run dialog?
I believe it does. You should only need to put the .exe in a folder that is in $PATH.

daddydave

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 822
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Windows system "aliases"?
« Reply #5 on: September 10, 2012, 10:29:04 AM »
What happens at Start > Run is somewhat governed by:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\App Paths

Look at the pbrush.exe key there in the registry. If you type Start > Run > pbrush, it will run %SystemRoot%\System32\mspaint.exe.

Mainly this is used for Windows to find paths of programs under Start > Run without them having to be in "the path", but I don't see a way to allow the command line arguments which would seem to be needed if you are trying to avoid batch or ahk files to open multiple web pages.

If bad things happen to other people, it's karma. If bad things happen to me, it's kismat!

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Windows system "aliases"?
« Reply #6 on: September 10, 2012, 10:39:54 AM »
FARR.
- carpe noctem

rjbull

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,927
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Windows system "aliases"?
« Reply #7 on: September 10, 2012, 03:55:46 PM »
Also not start menu or run dialog, but free: SlickRun?

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,290
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Windows system "aliases"?
« Reply #8 on: September 10, 2012, 05:01:21 PM »
Something similar with stuff already on your system. Not batck, but DosKey Aliases

rjbull

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,927
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Windows system "aliases"?
« Reply #9 on: September 11, 2012, 03:12:11 PM »
True Launch Bar?  (Don't know if mouser's LBC will launch multiple things at once)

Edvard

  • Coding Snacks Author
  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,888
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Windows system "aliases"?
« Reply #10 on: September 11, 2012, 04:04:09 PM »
Shortcuts... seriously.
Make shortcuts with the full command of what you're trying to do, and place them in a folder that you add to %PATH% (putting them in c:\windows\system32 was kinda rude, IMO, albeit effective...).
I did it all the time, worked well as long as the options were there.  Fer example, to open firefox and have it open to Donationcoder.com:
c:\path\to\firefox.exe "http://www.donationcoder.com"
http://kb.mozillazin...mmand_line_arguments

You'd have to look up how to do it on other browsers, and programs that don't accept parameters you want can be dealt with by using a script automation thing like AHK.

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,290
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Windows system "aliases"?
« Reply #11 on: September 11, 2012, 07:58:14 PM »
Shortcuts... seriously.
Make shortcuts with the full command of what you're trying to do, and place them in a folder that you add to %PATH% (putting them in c:\windows\system32 was kinda rude, IMO, albeit effective...).
I did it all the time, worked well as long as the options were there.  Fer example, to open firefox and have it open to Donationcoder.com:
c:\path\to\firefox.exe "http://www.donationcoder.com"
http://kb.mozillazin...mmand_line_arguments

You'd have to look up how to do it on other browsers, and programs that don't accept parameters you want can be dealt with by using a script automation thing like AHK.

A variation of this technique I've seen is put them in the Quick Launch folder. Especially if you have W7 and don't use quick launch bar, you can type the name of the shortcut in the Run or Search box and it will launch. I think I tried it in XP or Vista. Haven't tried it on W7 but I see no reason why it wouldn't work.

Or use an alternative shell with native alias functionality such as bash for win32. Just enter the aliases in bash start-up config script similar to DosKey alias=command.  Usually the ls command comes configured as an alias with a bunch of options so that the options are specified just by typing ls and the file pattern into the bash command shell.



mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,429
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Windows system "aliases"?
« Reply #12 on: September 11, 2012, 08:10:04 PM »
For gods sake, this is what FARR aliases were designed for.

Josh

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Points: -5
  • Posts: 3,397
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Windows system "aliases"?
« Reply #13 on: September 11, 2012, 08:14:17 PM »
For gods sake, this is what FARR aliases were designed for.

I have actually been doing some heavy toying with FARR as of the last 24 hours. Mouser already knows this, however, as I have been blasting his virtual ears on IRC. I think this will work out nicely!

If only it had indexing ;-)

And with that, 3000 posts!