Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 07, 2016, 04:40:01 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Modify the windows registry  (Read 3782 times)

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Modify the windows registry
« on: August 31, 2012, 02:44:54 PM »
Modify the windows registry

I begin other post to know more about the possibility to enter in the windows registry from a parallel system in the same pc. Under windows xp pro.

is it possible to edit the windows registry of a system from a parallel one ?

Best Regards




Stoic Joker

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 6,296
    • View Profile
    • www.StoicJoker.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Modify the windows registry
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2012, 03:21:26 PM »
Not sure exactly what you mean by parallel, but basically yes.

Regedit's file menu contains several options for accessing another machines registry:
Import/Export is for any .reg files
Load/Unload Hive is for local access to another copy of Windows' registry files (or another user's NTUser.dat file).
Connect/Disconnect Network Registry is for connecting to another machine's registry across the network (remote registry service must be running on target machine)

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Modify the windows registry
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2012, 03:32:30 PM »
But I am talking about see and edit a windows registry in a system that I can't enter because the system don't go.
By parallel I mean :
I have several partitions in my hard disks and several windows xp installed.
From one system I can see the files of the other systems. But how exactly can I see the windows registry of the other systems ?

Best Regards

Stoic Joker

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 6,296
    • View Profile
    • www.StoicJoker.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Modify the windows registry
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2012, 03:42:21 PM »
Use Load Hive, browse to the other OS's registry files (X:\Windows\System32\config (IIRC)) and select the one you want. After it's mounted just browse it as normal.

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Modify the windows registry
« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2012, 08:17:52 PM »
Use Load Hive, browse to the other OS's registry files (X:\Windows\System32\config (IIRC)) and select the one you want. After it's mounted just browse it as normal.

Load Hive is a soft '

 :-[

barney

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,282
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Modify the windows registry
« Reply #5 on: August 31, 2012, 08:34:56 PM »
Load Hive is a soft '

Run RegEdit.  Select/click File.  Select/click Load Hive ....

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Modify the windows registry
« Reply #6 on: August 31, 2012, 08:49:39 PM »
 :-[

Load Hive must mean "cargar subárbol". I don't have that option eligible

http://img841.imageshack.us/img841/9766/mozart0109201224342.png
Modify the windows registry


May be "importar" ?

Now I have a light idea what to do. I will investigate what i am doing bad. I have to learn about registry files and IIRC (?)
 :-*


barney

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,282
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Modify the windows registry
« Reply #7 on: August 31, 2012, 09:17:08 PM »
Yes, the Load Hive and Unload Hive menu elements would be, for you, Cargar subarbol and Descargar subarbol (sorry, don't have the proper accents available on this machine) elements in your language version of Win.  Don't know why they are greyed out.  Are you running RegEdit from the primary/active OS?  That could be an issue, since you have multiple copies of the same OS.  I'd look at that, first.  Sorry that I'm unable to be of more help.

AbteriX

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,115
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Modify the windows registry
« Reply #8 on: September 01, 2012, 06:01:18 AM »
Yes, the Load Hive and Unload Hive menu elements would be,
...
 Don't know why they are greyed out.

You have to select the HKLM top/main key first.
Then this option is enabled.

BTW: If you are asked for an name just chose smtg random like 'XYZ'...
it's only for to add an temporary sub-key to view the loaded hive in
and have no other issue.

If you are finished with your modification use Unload Hive afterwards.


---
EDIT

found a few screen shots about this issue:

http://blogs.technet...gistry-settings.aspx



- - -


And from : http://technet.micro...ibrary/cc732157.aspx


Load or Unload Registry Hives



Loading a registry hive

To load or unload registry hives, use Registry Editor.
The Load Hive… and Unload Hive… commands affect only the HKEY_USERS and HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE keys
and are active only when these predefined keys are selected.

When you load a hive into the registry, the hive becomes a subkey of one of these keys.


To load a hive into the registry

   1.      Open Registry Editor.
   2.      Click either the HKEY_USERS key or HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE key.
   3.      On the File menu, click Load Hive….
   4.      Find the hive you want to load and click it.
   5.      Click Open.
   6.      In Key Name, type the name that you want to assign to the hive and then click OK.



Unloading a registry hive

To unload a registry hive

   1.      Open Registry Editor
   2.      Select a hive that you have previously loaded onto your system
   3.      On the File menu, click Unload Hive….


.
« Last Edit: September 17, 2012, 05:05:09 AM by AbteriX »

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Modify the windows registry
« Reply #9 on: September 01, 2012, 08:46:29 AM »
Yes, the Load Hive and Unload Hive menu elements would be,
...
 Don't know why they are greyed out.

You have to select the HKLM top/main key first.
Then this option is enabled.

BTW: If you are asked for an name just chose smtg random like 'XYZ'...
it's only for to add an temporary sub-key to view the loaded hive in
and have no other issue.

If you are finished with your modification use Unload Hive afterwards.

Clearly understood. Now going to the folder X:\Windows\System32\config (IIRC) and see.
If any doubt I will ask

Best Regards
 :-*

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Modify the windows registry
« Reply #10 on: September 01, 2012, 08:55:30 AM »
IIRC understood.
I am looking for the meaning of smtg ....
 ;D

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,325
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Modify the windows registry
« Reply #11 on: September 01, 2012, 01:16:07 PM »
^ something?
Tom

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Modify the windows registry
« Reply #12 on: September 06, 2012, 07:17:06 AM »
Be very careful WHERE you load the hive to - create a temporary subkey for it.
- carpe noctem

AbteriX

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,115
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Modify the windows registry
« Reply #13 on: September 06, 2012, 03:43:37 PM »
Be very careful WHERE you load the hive to - create a temporary subkey for it.
What?
The  temporary subkey is created automatically after you are prompted for an  temporary name.
Ok, i always click at the top HKLM key first. What do you do to make it unsafely?


.

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Modify the windows registry
« Reply #14 on: September 08, 2012, 07:39:13 AM »
Be very careful WHERE you load the hive to - create a temporary subkey for it.
What?
The  temporary subkey is created automatically after you are prompted for an  temporary name.
Ok, i always click at the top HKLM key first. What do you do to make it unsafely?
I probably got into trouble in a much older OS - been a while :)
- carpe noctem

barney

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,282
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Modify the windows registry
« Reply #15 on: September 08, 2012, 12:11:01 PM »
I'm with f0dder. 
Think it was Win2K, I imported a hive, but I was not at a top-level position.  The hive imported to my then-current location.  I went about what I was doing, but neglected to delete the import when finished - as I was reminded on the next reboot.  Poor Windows got very confused.  Took me forever to find that imported hive again and remove it - I just could not remember where I was when I imported it.  But, until it was removed, that particular machine had some very strange boots.  The wonder is that it booted at all.

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Modify the windows registry
« Reply #16 on: September 08, 2012, 09:02:50 PM »

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Modify the windows registry
« Reply #17 on: September 08, 2012, 09:06:07 PM »
I'm with f0dder.  
Think it was Win2K, I imported a hive, but I was not at a top-level position.  The hive imported to my then-current location.  I went about what I was doing, but neglected to delete the import when finished - as I was reminded on the next reboot.  Poor Windows got very confused.  Took me forever to find that imported hive again and remove it - I just could not remember where I was when I imported it.  But, until it was removed, that particular machine had some very strange boots.  The wonder is that it booted at all.

I have looked in my database. Some years ago from the hand of a MVP Daniel Martín I tried some times. Sometimes goes well, sometimes goes bad.
I used for repair the registry and enter in the damaged system. But sometimes I could't enter.
At the present time I have mirror copies and have plenty of solutions.
the last time I lose the boot.ini..... :-[ and make a recovery with bootcfg /rebuild

 :P