Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 05, 2016, 12:44:47 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: IDEA: Window go out of my way!  (Read 7584 times)

midiworks

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
IDEA: Window go out of my way!
« on: April 13, 2006, 03:05:54 AM »
I am having a lot of desktop icons, many times a window is covering just the ones I need to access.
Sometimes, those are floating windows that use transparency, that are in my way.
Many times I wish, that when my mouse touches the border of those windows,
they would just move over to the opposite side.
I know it is quite tricky, to decide the when you want to use a window,
or when you want to move it away...

Maybe a right click option on the window, to tell it, to move on to stay,
could be some kind of solution.

Cheers and thanks
René
« Last Edit: April 13, 2006, 08:16:38 AM by brotherS »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Window go out of my way !
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2006, 03:07:58 AM »
this is a brilliant idea. selecting any window should move others off it.
look forward to seeing this solution :)

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Window go out of my way !
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2006, 03:39:51 AM »
Instant solution - just click on the programs taskbar icon and it will automatically minimize the window. Click again to restore it.

Another way is to ensure that "Desktop" is visible on the Quick Launch bar - this will minimize everything so you can see the desktop.

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Window go out of my way !
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2006, 03:50:35 AM »
midiworks:
maybe this would interest you...

midiworks

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Window go out of my way !
« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2006, 03:56:34 AM »
Instant solution - just click on the programs taskbar icon and it will automatically minimize the window. Click again to restore it.

Another way is to ensure that "Desktop" is visible on the Quick Launch bar - this will minimize everything so you can see the desktop.
The user could also drag the window out of the way manually than...
No, all this should function automatically without use interference. ;)

midiworks

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Window go out of my way !
« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2006, 04:13:29 AM »
midiworks:
maybe this would interest you...
nice find,  but it rather makes me feel drunk looking at this...  :-\, and it takes way too long.
But it goes into the right direction.

I think, if the windows would be moved to the opposite side,
without any graphical gimmicks and then,
when the mouse is leaving the previously occupied space again,
the window should be restored to its original position.

or something like this... 8)
« Last Edit: April 13, 2006, 04:17:56 AM by midiworks »

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Window go out of my way !
« Reply #6 on: April 13, 2006, 04:31:33 AM »
nice find,  but it rather makes me feel drunk looking at this...  :-\, and it takes way too long.
But it goes into the right direction.

a'ah, but that is the magic of AHK... you can modify it to suit your preferences. it would need some minor tinkering to get the windows moving the way you wanted but hang in there. :Thmbsup:

Hirudin

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 543
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Window go out of my way !
« Reply #7 on: April 13, 2006, 04:33:08 AM »
If anyone's looking, the magnifier window of Fatbits works the way midiworks wants.

Fatbits is also the best freeware screen-magnifier I could find.

midiworks

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Window go out of my way !
« Reply #8 on: April 13, 2006, 04:48:42 AM »
If anyone's looking, the magnifier window of Fatbits works the way midiworks wants.
Yes!  :D
Quote
Auto-relocate Fatbits
This option specifies how the Fatbits window will automatically move in response to mouse movement. The settings are:
No relocation - the window will not automatically move.
Avoid mouse, return when possible - the window will move from its home position to avoid the mouse pointer. It will move horizontally or vertically the minimum amount needed to allow inspection of the pixels under the Fatbits window. When the mouse is no longer over its home position, the window will return.
Avoid mouse, return when necessary - the window will move from its home position to avoid the mouse pointer. It will move horizontally or vertically the maximum amount possible while remaining on the same monitor. The window will stay there until it is forced to move back in order to avoid the mouse.
Attach Fatbits to mouse - the window will follow the mouse pointer around the screen.

just thinking about this,
maybe, when the mouse touch the upper part of a window that is in the way,
then the window should jump to the opposite side.
If it touches the lower part, then the window can be used as usually.

« Last Edit: April 13, 2006, 05:03:54 AM by midiworks »

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Window go out of my way !
« Reply #9 on: April 13, 2006, 08:01:39 AM »
Instant solution - just click on the programs taskbar icon and it will automatically minimize the window. Click again to restore it.

Another way is to ensure that "Desktop" is visible on the Quick Launch bar - this will minimize everything so you can see the desktop.
The user could also drag the window out of the way manually than...
No, all this should function automatically without use interference. ;)


How's that going to work ?? The computer reads your mind and decides when you are looking for an unrelated desktop item and then hides the appropriate windows just long enough for you to double click on it???

brotherS

  • Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 2,136
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Window go out of my way!
« Reply #10 on: April 13, 2006, 08:20:19 AM »
I am having a lot of desktop icons, many times a window is covering just the ones I need to access.
Why don't you just use "quick start" icons instead of desktop icons? Or something like DonationCoder's own FARR?

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 886
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Window go out of my way!
« Reply #11 on: April 13, 2006, 10:12:19 AM »
 :) I think Ghoster should do what you want by putting the active window always on top. All the other trimming can be removed.

You find it at 1 Hour Software by Skrommel.

Skrommel
Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2006, 10:17:45 AM by skrommel »

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 886
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Window go out of my way!
« Reply #12 on: April 13, 2006, 10:17:23 AM »
 :) Or WinWarden, using ghosting.

You find it at 1 Hour Software by Skrommel.

Skrommel

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Window go out of my way!
« Reply #13 on: April 13, 2006, 10:27:13 AM »
i think the idea here is for other windows to slide away so they do not overlap selected window.

there are other existing programs for trying to tile or arrange windows so they dont overlap - and interesting algorithms one might use..

midiworks

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Window go out of my way!
« Reply #14 on: April 13, 2006, 12:37:58 PM »
How's that going to work ??
If anyone's looking, the magnifier window of Fatbits works the way midiworks wants.
Yes!  :D
Quote
Auto-relocate Fatbits
This option specifies how the Fatbits window will automatically move in response to mouse movement.

Avoid mouse, return when necessary - the window will move from its home position to avoid the mouse pointer. It will move horizontally or vertically the maximum amount possible while remaining on the same monitor.

Try it !!!
http://www.digitalmantra.com/fatbits/
Thats exactliy the behavior I had in mind.
Only with windows.  8)

zridling

  • Friend of the Site
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 3,292
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Window go out of my way!
« Reply #15 on: April 13, 2006, 10:25:18 PM »
Silly question:
Except for examining pixels, what does one use a magnifier for? Curious because I can't think of a use.

nudone

  • Cody's Creator
  • Columnist
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 4,117
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Window go out of my way!
« Reply #16 on: April 14, 2006, 02:31:53 AM »
only time i've used magnifiers is when i'm working away from the computer but i wanted to see something like a small timer that was running onscreen. say, when encoding video and i wanted to see how long was left before it finished.

not the greatest reason for a magnifier.

other than that i once met someone with incredible bad eyesight (i think they were almost blind) and he used a specific type of program for magnifying the screen. it was a shame that the program was so expensive and didn't seem that advanced or user friendly.

midiworks

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Window go out of my way!
« Reply #17 on: April 14, 2006, 02:55:37 AM »
It is not about the magnifier !
But its moving behavior. :up:


we are very used to move a window by grabbing it on top
and access it, by clicking inside.
the tool could work like this:
if you touch the upper part of the window
it will jump over to the opposite side,
but if you touch it below then you can use the window as usually.
« Last Edit: April 14, 2006, 07:21:01 AM by midiworks »

Hirudin

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 543
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Window go out of my way!
« Reply #18 on: April 16, 2006, 07:33:35 AM »
I have the magnifier on my computer in the living room. Computers +non-HD TVs don't mix well. I have to have the font at 20+ for it to be readible.

One sollution to the icons on your desktop may actually be built into windows. You can create a "Desktop" toolbar, then attach it to the side (or top) of the screen, then make it auto-hide. To create the toolbar
right click the taskbar
choose Toolbars -> New Toolbar...
select the Desktop
and click OK

Once the toolbar is on the taskbar, drag it onto the desktop. Now drag it to the side of your screen. Right click it and mess wit' the properties until it's to your liking (might I suggest enabling "auto hide", "always on top", and disable "show text").