Logitech Wireless Gaming Headset G930 - Mini-Review - DonationCoder.com
Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site July 28, 2015, 04:49:57 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2013! Download dozens of custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Logitech Wireless Gaming Headset G930 - Mini-Review  (Read 15986 times)
wraith808
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 7,176



"In my dreams, I always do it right."

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #25 on: May 23, 2015, 08:15:41 AM »

a small update: after further usage, i ditched the LGS driver-software totally and have gone with a custom AHK script to make use of the G1-G3 keys. the volume rocker and mute button worked out of the box so no problems there. the mic quality was quite pleasant, clear with no static, tried on both Mumble and Teamspeak 3.

Why did you ditch the software?  Just curious...
Logged

lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,196



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #26 on: May 23, 2015, 08:34:39 AM »

Why did you ditch the software?  Just curious...

there was nothing wrong with the software. I am just more comfortable with default features and the enhanceability that Autohotkey provides. I also have a Logitech K800 keyboard, whose Fn keys are configurable via AHK without the need for Setpoint software.
Logged

IainB
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 5,370


Slartibartfarst

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #27 on: May 23, 2015, 09:23:10 PM »

Why did you ditch the software?  Just curious...

there was nothing wrong with the software. I am just more comfortable with default features and the enhanceability that Autohotkey provides. I also have a Logitech K800 keyboard, whose Fn keys are configurable via AHK without the need for Setpoint software.
________________________________

That's really interesting. I presume you're quite satisfied with the result, so far? Any niggles?

Could we have a copy of the AHK code you used for that, please? I'd like to learn from it.
Not sure whether I'd use it though, unless it defeated the Logitech software for the same functionality.
As I said above, "One of the things I need is the control panel display for the headphones". Your approach presumably means you don't/can't use the control panel display (which includes mixer, testing, voice simulation control and battery meter). Do you use something else instead?
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,196



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #28 on: May 24, 2015, 09:33:44 AM »

That's really interesting. I presume you're quite satisfied with the result, so far? Any niggles?

Could we have a copy of the AHK code you used for that, please? I'd like to learn from it.
Not sure whether I'd use it though, unless it defeated the Logitech software for the same functionality.
As I said above, "One of the things I need is the control panel display for the headphones". Your approach presumably means you don't/can't use the control panel display (which includes mixer, testing, voice simulation control and battery meter). Do you use something else instead?

I didn't find myself using the control panel display that much to warrant the additional software even though they were nice to have.


the AHK code requires some testing on your side as explained here and you should get something like this:


that is for the keys G1-G3, so the code is as follows:


as I mentioned elsewhere, the mute button and volume rocker works out of the box. another thing to note is that on my PC, the AHK code doesn't work if Logitech's software is running.

Logged

wraith808
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 7,176



"In my dreams, I always do it right."

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #29 on: May 24, 2015, 12:18:36 PM »

another thing to note is that on my PC, the AHK code doesn't work if Logitech's software is running.

This is because it probably registers it's hook at a higher level than you are.
Logged

IainB
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 5,370


Slartibartfarst

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #30 on: May 24, 2015, 08:09:35 PM »

Ah, many thanks @lanux128. That's very helpful of you.
I shall see if I can get the AHK approach and the control panel display to work nicely together, but from what you say you have already established that they probably can't. Bother.
Time to experiment, methinks.
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,196



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #31 on: May 24, 2015, 09:02:33 PM »

This is because it probably registers it's hook at a higher level than you are.
yup, that's what i thought too. so in the end i had to pick one of the two.


Ah, many thanks @lanux128. That's very helpful of you.
I shall see if I can get the AHK approach and the control panel display to work nicely together, but from what you say you have already established that they probably can't. Bother.
Time to experiment, methinks.
Time to experiment, indeed. Wink
Logged

lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,196



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #32 on: May 29, 2015, 03:49:10 AM »

if you have an On the go (OTG) host cable, you can plug the receiver into your Android phone and listen to music and audio books. basic functions like play/pause and volume works.


Logged

lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,196



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #33 on: July 14, 2015, 05:49:48 AM »

a recent review on techspot.com gave Logitech G930 a score of 85.



http://www.techspot.com/r...2-best-wireless-headsets/
Logged

IainB
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 5,370


Slartibartfarst

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #34 on: July 14, 2015, 12:21:17 PM »

Ah, many thanks @lanux128. That's very helpful of you.
I shall see if I can get the AHK approach and the control panel display to work nicely together, but from what you say you have already established that they probably can't. Bother.
Time to experiment, methinks.
_________________________________

Bother, it seems that you can't have your cake and eat it.

Though I haven't tested all these points (below) under all conditions, it seems that the Logitech software controls all the headset functions/buttons. Thus, if you disable (bypass) the G930 headset's Logitech driver and software, then:
  • (a) The little switch on the side of the headset that switches between stereo and Dolby surround sound is effectively disabled and you get stereo only, in either position.
  • (b) The G930 control panel software showing levels, equalizer, mic and avatar voice controls, headset battery status display, and surround sound status/test is not invoked (does not run).
  • (c) The programmable buttons G1,G2 and G3 are disabled (though in my experience these may not always work properly with Winamp).
  • (d) The mic presumably works as an ordinary mic, but the headset mic mute button might not work, and the mic sensitivity to background noise and filtering of same, and the listen-to-mic may not work.
  • (e) The headset volume control wheel button might not work.

Thus, with software disabled, one's experience in use of the headset would seem to be a negating of most of the headset's extra functionality and superb listening experience, for which one has paid $$$. There would be at best only a pass-through listening experience with unmodulated stereo output.

So, I wouldn't recommend buying the G930 headset if you do not intend using the software/driver.
Logged
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.061s | Server load: 0.33 ]


Share on Facebook
submit to reddit