Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 06, 2016, 01:54:51 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: IDEA: TrayDefaultBrowser - just double-click to switch to another one  (Read 3084 times)

brotherS

  • Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 2,136
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Hi,

I'd like to be able to use a tiny program where I could *once* set the path to the browsers I'd like to use and then just double-click its tray icon to change the default browser.

It could just display a tray message to show which browser had been selected or (would be extra cool, but more work) could display a new icon according on the browser that's being used.

So something like mouser's BrowserTraySwitch (which isn't working on my system), just with a little bit different approach.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: TrayDefaultBrowser - just double-click to switch to another one
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2006, 09:39:29 AM »
this really seems like a request suitable for browsertrayswitch to me.
don't know why bts wouldnt work for you..

ps.
anyone thinking of writing such a "snack" you might want to think twice - changing the default browser is not the funnest thing and requires some odd registry settings.  maybe you could use an existing commandline browser changer and just add a tray interface.  just giving you a heads up :)

brotherS

  • Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 2,136
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: TrayDefaultBrowser - just double-click to switch to another one
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2006, 09:50:50 AM »
this really seems like a request suitable for browsertrayswitch to me.
don't know why bts wouldnt work for you..
Ok! :) Since you are quite busy now I thought I'd just drop in this request here.

This is how BTS looks here (W2k):

http://img154.imageshack.us/img154/5497/dcpostbrowsertrayswitch2sc.png
IDEA: TrayDefaultBrowser - just double-click to switch to another one

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: TrayDefaultBrowser - just double-click to switch to another one
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2006, 10:14:47 AM »
that's normal - bts does not autoconfigure browsers, you have to edit the config file yourself to add yours (it's just a simple text file, see the help for instructions).

i really should add an autoconfig option to next version, i've just been busy.

but shame on you for not rtfm.

brotherS

  • Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 2,136
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: TrayDefaultBrowser - just double-click to switch to another one
« Reply #4 on: April 12, 2006, 11:17:40 AM »
that's normal - bts does not autoconfigure browsers, you have to edit the config file yourself to add yours (it's just a simple text file, see the help for instructions).

i really should add an autoconfig option to next version, i've just been busy.

but shame on you for not rtfm.
I'm just used to apps that are mostly self-explanatory :D

That menu just looked so... *wrong*! If you don't have the time to add autoconfige add a line "you need to config the BrowserTraySwitch.ini  with a text editor. Open the help and read Introduction/Configuring Browsers" when no browser is set already  8)


brotherS

  • Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 2,136
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: TrayDefaultBrowser - just double-click to switch to another one
« Reply #5 on: April 12, 2006, 11:26:13 AM »
Ok, got it running! :)

The icons being displayed in the tray are a little bit 'off', other than that it's working ok :) Looking forward to see the options mentioned in the first post being implemented at some point in the future.