Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 07, 2016, 02:39:45 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: good addition to find and run robot or not?  (Read 2507 times)

Saturday24

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
good addition to find and run robot or not?
« on: July 31, 2012, 02:45:06 AM »
I've worked up a screenshot of what I think would make find and run robot a bit more helpful to me..... does anyone else think it would save them time too? Thanks for your feedback.
temporary-robot.jpg

wjamoe

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: good addition to find and run robot or not?
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2012, 01:23:41 PM »
Hi, the functionality of the buttons is already present, you can right-click the filename, select
    Shell Context Menu .. to open it, delete it, "open with" dialog if you don't want to use the default program
or select
    Properties ..

if you want to select a program to open the file, you can also try portable extension warlock (PEW)
by hamradio Donationcoder NANY 2012 (it  requires .NET v4)
   http://www.donationc...ex.php?topic=27928.0
review at freewaregenius.com
   http://www.freewareg...e-extension-warlock/

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,285
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: good addition to find and run robot or not?
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2012, 01:38:58 PM »
Hmm, it's too bad Vista and W7 don't have the Edit and Open shell extension settings the way XP had. I could see the option to display the buttons being handy if the search list item was selected.  I think it would slow things down too much to fetch the associated apps of everything in the list.  But once you click one to select it, should just be a registry look-up. Or maybe gist for an independent 3rd party hotkey thing that could pop up a gui with buttons for each appropriate function. I don't know if registry is set up for that after XP though.

It might be worth a search on AHK forum or some of the freeware sites to see if a hotkey for that already exists. If the complete path can be determined from a clipboard copy out of FARR then it's a matter of how much hassle it is to determine "default program" functions vs XP Open/Edit associations. But there might be something out there that can do it already.

edit: this post shows a start of pulling it from Explorer and using "custom" file associations from an .ini file. Could probably do something copying to clipboard off of FARR. Trouble with these type of things is some APIs like FindExecutable() are pretty much broken. Looks like a lot of Registry sifting.

« Last Edit: July 31, 2012, 02:08:01 PM by MilesAhead »

daddydave

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 822
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: good addition to find and run robot or not?
« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2012, 05:15:39 PM »
You can also sort of override the default application using the "dosearch +alias" and a regex.

For example, if I want to launch a python file in Notepad2 instead of run it in Python,  I can just add 2 slashes to the end of it (aliases in FARR alias export format below):

Code: Text [Select]
  1. 1000>>>notepad2>->Notepad2 - $$1 | C:\Program Files\Notepad2\Notepad2.exe "$$1"
  2. 1000>>>notepad2_dosearch>->dosearch +notepad2 $$1>+>^(.*)//$

The problem is the display template part before the vertical bar "Notepad2 - $$1 " seems to be ignored, so I'm launching blindly. I'd like to see Notepad2 - filename.py in the results so I am 100% sure of what's going to happen.  (I've also tried putting "Notepad2 - $$1 |" in the notepad2_dosearch line.)

So I have a more modest (I think) request to make the display templates work even with dosearch. I'm sure it's more complicated than it sounds, but that would be handy.

(Note: I got the idea of this technique from the first part of this post )

EDIT: There may be a way to do the same using ++ in the alias action - haven't figured out how yet.

EDIT 2: I'm only getting started with the advanced stuff, but I wonder if there is a way to use restartsearch to make a menu prepending different appllications to the file in search results.
If bad things happen to other people, it's karma. If bad things happen to me, it's kismat!
« Last Edit: July 31, 2012, 08:58:38 PM by daddydave »

wjamoe

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: good addition to find and run robot or not?
« Reply #4 on: January 01, 2016, 01:54:19 PM »
The layout may be a little  different ;) , but I solved this problem in NANY 2016.

Please check here: http://www.donationc....msg394054#msg394054

You can open any file in different programs using one user defined alias.

It can show a list of multiple programs depending on the extension of any file.

The list of programs appears when you append <space><dot> to the file name in the search field.


you can also define a program like notepad to open any file.