Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site December 22, 2014, 06:51:00 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Check out and download the GOE 2007 Freeware Challenge productivity tools.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Windows 8 and FARR  (Read 5337 times)
justauser
Participant
*
Posts: 18

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: July 03, 2012, 06:48:38 AM »

I've been using FARR and found it a great and very useful tool for a while.  I am now running Windows 8 and FARR has gone from useful to ESSENTIAL/MANDATORY.  With the start menu gone and the search that was part of it gone and the mess of Metro, you can't use the desktop without FARR.

Thanks again for the great piece of software
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,795



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2012, 06:53:29 AM »

Great to hear  Thmbsup

I suppose I need to update the software pages saying the programs are compatible with windows 8.
Logged
Carol Haynes
Waffles for England (patent pending)
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 7,958



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2012, 11:45:00 AM »

Incidentally - not disagreeing but the Start Menu search functionality should still be there in metro - just start typing.
Logged

db90h
Coding Snacks Author
Charter Member
***
Posts: 455


Software Engineer

View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2012, 05:57:31 PM »

[redacted]
« Last Edit: August 30, 2012, 02:25:38 PM by db90h » Logged
db90h
Coding Snacks Author
Charter Member
***
Posts: 455


Software Engineer

View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: July 03, 2012, 08:30:27 PM »

And to clarify ... in METRO while you can 'just start typing', in the TRADITIONAL interface, I don't believe that is available [ update: Metro flips over when you hit the Start button, BUT it takes the whole screen ]
« Last Edit: July 10, 2012, 09:28:32 PM by db90h » Logged
anandcoral
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 245



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: July 04, 2012, 02:03:21 AM »

Well I am still using Xp as my main system. After I started using FARR, I forgot that the 'Start' button has other use than 'Shutdown/Control Panel'. Even I do not care how many level deep a program is installed in the start menu, sometimes 3 levels like 'Company > Brand > Program'.

Using FARR I do not need to worry all about it. Just type the few letters of the program name and it is there. I use FARR in my Win7 system too, when I need to check some compatibility issues of any app.

Now I am happy that FARR works in Win8 cheesy, and I will me at home when I use Win8.

Regards,

Anand
Logged
cyberdiva
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 911


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: July 04, 2012, 07:57:09 AM »

Just thought I'd mention that I've been using mouser's Launch Bar Commander as a Start button substitute, both on XP and on Windows 7.  I have no idea whether I'll ever move to Windows 8 (so far, I haven't heard of any good reason for me to do so), but I hope that LBC will also continue to be developed so that it works on new versions.  It's been a godsend for me.  Thmbsup
Logged
Carol Haynes
Waffles for England (patent pending)
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 7,958



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: July 04, 2012, 09:13:54 AM »

And to clarify ... in METRO while you can 'just start typing', in the TRADITIONAL interface, I don't believe that is available (correct me if I'm wrong).

That's because Metro is the start menu in 8 !
Logged

db90h
Coding Snacks Author
Charter Member
***
Posts: 455


Software Engineer

View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: July 07, 2012, 08:42:12 PM »

And to clarify ... in METRO while you can 'just start typing', in the TRADITIONAL interface, I don't believe that is available (correct me if I'm wrong).

That's because Metro is the start menu in 8 !

That's essentially true.

[rest redacted]
« Last Edit: August 30, 2012, 02:25:04 PM by db90h » Logged
db90h
Coding Snacks Author
Charter Member
***
Posts: 455


Software Engineer

View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: July 07, 2012, 09:38:27 PM »

redacted
« Last Edit: August 30, 2012, 02:24:13 PM by db90h » Logged
sytone
Participant
*
Posts: 6

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: August 29, 2012, 12:25:09 PM »

I typically use the Start button and just type and do not even think about the whole page changing, when you press enter on the app it loads anyway no big issues from my perspective. And im liking the live tiles smiley

As a note I am finding that on the hot key press find and run robot is coming up on the desktop behind the start page and not forcing a flip to desktop, also the help links and about links are not opening the browser up.
Logged
furashgf
Participant
*
Posts: 2

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: December 05, 2012, 03:45:09 PM »

Funny, that's exactly why, after a search of different tools, I ended up with FARR just in case I was forced by work to upgrade to windows 8. My Donation Coder investment seems great. I should probably read the manual, but it works great out of the box.
Logged
d4ni
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 128


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: January 25, 2013, 03:33:26 AM »

Don't forget it's pretty easy to just get the good old start menu back in Windows 8. Multiple 3rd party tools are available. I use Start8 myself which works wonders, it even enables you to boot directly to the desktop instead of to Metro when starting your PC. It's only $5 so I think that's worth it =) Of course I still use an application launcher for the majority of things I launch but the total lack of old Start Menu was just frustrating.



Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.034s | Server load: 0.09 ]